We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #12 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent five days here and found that it was one of the nicest, cleanest hotels we have stayed with in a very long time. The public bathrooms were always being scrubbed as were the common areas. The staff was always accomodating and friendly. All of them seemed to work very hard keeping the place top notch. Managers used brooms and mops, etc. Nice to see the combined effort from everyone. Great breakfast, with a newspaper. If you are staying in northwest Columbus, no need to look anywhere else. This place is the greatest and so close to everything. Closets were a little small for our 5 day stay but if you are here only 1-3, they are fine. (My wife brings way too many clothes, thus the problem)

Room Tip: All rooms are great but if you need more closet space, tell them and get the king rooms, they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. My entire hospitality family looks forward to seeing you on your next trip into town.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
21
4
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Terrific, awesome, amazing, and oh my goodness.You will love this Hotel its amazing and so so quite. And in a great area.Its perfect.This place is so amazing I had to book another evening this place is wonderful.Staff here are great.And u can take a nice walk around its perfect.U must go and stay at this Hotel.U will fall in love.Come on u can do it.Try it out

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the great review and I’m glad you loved the hotel and our service. I’ll be sure to share this with my staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We visit Columbus a few times a year to visit our daughter and the Hyatt is our favorite hotel so far! New, clean, modern, and friendly! The room was spacious and attractive. We loved the L shaped couch and huge tv! Very good mattress and bedding. Beautiful walk-in shower. Decent breakfast, nice location, easy parking. A great value for what you get. You feel like you are in a much more expensive hotel! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I’m glad you enjoyed the hotel on your recent stay. I also love the “cozy corner” couch that is in every room. It really makes it nice to watch the 42 inch HD TV. We are in the process of making some improvement to the Breakfast so be on the lookout during your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I rate this hotel four dots because of its excellent value proposition in its category rating. It's clean, new and modern. Plenty of COVERED FREE parking!. Decent bedding and ample room space (with a sit down desk) even for a large family of five. Nice flat screens TV with plenty of channels and HDMI input (pack your Roku and HDMI cable). Breakfast is complete although basic and it's included in the room rate.

There are just a few things that needs attention to make this hotel perfect for its class category (five dots out of five). The hotel needs to improve the room's shower water pressure which is lacking (we stayed in the top floor). Management may want to add one more piece of cardio of equipment in the gym (it was fine during our stay but it could be a problem during busy times). Finally a note to the folk at Hyatt corporate - please consider changing the liquid soap that you provide at Hyatt Place (the ones now don't smell very good). although thanks for the tube of Aquafresh toothpaste (very nice). All in all a very good stay at Hyatt Place OSU Columbus.

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Ohio State University, but you'll need to have your own transportation to move around and explore the town. There not much around so with out a car you will be stuck.

During our visit, we went to an OSU Basketball game; the opposing team stay at this hotel so looks like is popular with visiting team.

Room Tip: OSU fans will enjoy getting a bite to eat at the Buckeye theme restaurant (menu similar to Chili'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Columbus. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of changing out bathroom soap, shampoo, and conditioner to an updated product. This will be in the rooms starting in February 2013.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location and a Buckeye bar right next door. Clean and spacious rooms. Big screen television. Free parking. Great place to stay for Buckeye games or entertaining in the Arena district. Good quality breakfast. Highly recommend for Ohio State Football games.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip into Columbus. The Buckeye Grill is a favorite of many guests and really shows the OSU spirit that our area has to offer. Go Bucks!

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked my trip on Priceline, and read all the details provided to me. My wife was traveling with children and our 2 small dogs. When she arrived at the hotel after 8 hours of driving, she was told about the pet fee. $150 for the first dog and $50 per dog after that. We didn't know about the pet fee. The person at the counter presented a Priceline screen shot that had the pet fee. I contacted the front desk to discuss this issue. I walked the person through how to book a hotel on Priceline, and she verified that the fees are not on there.

I am in day 2 of discussions relating to this issue. The discussion with the supervisor today contiually led to a statement or,"The fees are on OUR website." I didn't book on the Hyatt webiste, the same as most of you who read this.

I have to wait until day 3 to discuss this with the hotel general manager. I am hopeful that my issue will be resolved, but with the customer service I have received so far, I doubt it. We will not stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I’m sorry that there was confusion about our pet policy. I have addressed this issue with Priceline on why they are not accurately explaining the hotel policy. The hotel does accept pets but there is a cleaning charged associated with this. Our pet policy can been seen on the hotel main website and is “Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU allows a maximum of 2 pets per room. Pets must not exceed 50 lbs and must be housebroken. Pets are designated as a dog. A non-refundable cleaning fee of $150 for the first pet, and if there is a second pet, then an additional $50 will be charged to the guest. The cleaning fee will be inclusive of taxes.”

I believe we have spoken about this issue and the issue has been resolved. If not feel free to contact me at 614-569-2910 or by email at mholtzleiter@columbushospitality.com to get this issue resolved.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great place to stay! Had family at the medical center at OSU for three days and stayed at this hotel each night. Very clean and comfortable. Especially liked the size of the room. Like a suite at other hotels, but for a standard fee. Great to have a couch to sit on for watching TV or reading.
The staff was very attentive and eager to please. Will be staying here again when we return to OSU medical center for a 30 day stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Address: 795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Columbus
#11 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.