We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for OSU Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
cold in ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for OSU Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here one night with son for OSU orientation. Perfect stay. Easy free parking. Easy to find. Very close to OSU. The hotel seems brand new. We had 2 queens, flat screen TV. Free breakfast. If there was any minor complaint it was I didn't care for the pillows. The hotel was next door to a fun restaurant - the Buckeye Grill. Got this hotel on Priceline for $59 which was a real steal - even at $107, the listed rate, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    45
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
23
4
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We booked this hotel based on positive TA reviews, and were not disappointed with our three-night stay. The staff is friendly and professional, the rooms clean, spacious & quiet, and the location convenient. We liked the layout of the room, with a divider separating the bed area from a sitting area that had a large sofa and ottoman, as well as a desk & bar. There was unusually ample counter space for computers & toiletries. Bonus points for amenities including free, convenient parking, free WiFi, continental breakfast, and in-room fridge. The fitness center was modest but clean and tidy, containing two treadmills, one elliptical trainer and a recumbent bike, as well as a set of weights. One minor oddity in our room was the closet, which was a decent size (maybe three feet wide), but had only a tiny door opening (maybe one foot?), making it difficult to access items inside. Used water glasses and coffee cups from day 1 were left in the room, uncollected, throughout our stay. With a Priceline cost of $90/night, we were pleased with the great value of this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is a seemingly brand new property located just minutes away from downtown Columbus, OSU, and the Arena District. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spacious.

The rooms were generally clean, however one pillow had a few small hairs on it. However, after tossing this pillow aside, there was nothing else wrong with the beds. The air conditioner was rather noisy, and took some getting used to when it came time to sleep.

All things considered - a good stay. Nothing too special about this property, however there wasn't much to complain about either.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel was very nice and convienently located. We were in town for an event at the Convention Center and this hotel's location was an easy drive to the venue. The hotel was very clean and we were pleasantly surprised by the large size of the room. The hotel offers free wi-fi throughout the building and the room features a nice large lcd flat screen tv with HD channels. The Buckeye Grill located next to the hotel was a nice place to have dinner. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010 via mobile

We needed to be near tbe convention center and this is a 2 minute straight drive. Great service, and very nice new hotel. We had a room with 2 queens + pull-out. Lots of room (I have 3 pre teens). Nice big, thick towels too. You can even order your favorite Starbucks drink (or even a glass of wine) in the lobby!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This place is brand new and about 90 seconds away from the OSU Medical Center which is why we were staying there. We had a room with 2 queens which was very spacious. There is a wall between the beds and the L-shaped couch which another adult could sleep on. Lots fo room to set up our pack & play for the baby. Very clean, very new, very nice staff upon arrival. Heated pool. Parking is in a covered garage out the front door! This was great because we were there during a snow storm and didn't have to clean off the car. Only problem was the noise from the snow plow at 3 a.m. working on the parking lot next door. You can get food in the hotel 24 hrs a day and the Buckeye Hall of Fame Grill just opened next door - you walk to it! Great!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Had to stay here about a month for testing at OSU Hospital they have a shuttle that was more then accomodating to my many medical testing. They were so nice everyone at the hotel was anxious to please and even over thanksgiving they went out of their way to make us feel like we were part of th hotel family the manager is fantastic as is all the staff. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I wish every hotel was run like this one. Even thougfh I had to stay here during tying times trying to find out medically what was wrong, the staff was the best encouraging me and making me feel like it was my home away from home. They have a nice breakfast and a good workout room and even a pool that is heated. again I would stay here again just hope the next time it would be for pleasure. THanks again HYATT PLACE

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Address: 795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;