We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good but needs spring cleaning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Red's Lodges

Big Red's Lodges
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Red's Lodges
Save
You added Big Red's Lodges to your Saves list
3773 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43214-3425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Columbus B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still good but needs spring cleaning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is about our fifth stay here. We are here almost twice a year. Location and amenities are still excellent, but the windows need washing, the wooden blinds are very dusty and the carpet, particularly under the bed, needs a shampoo. I hope the cabins will get the attention they need soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 10 days at Big Red's Lodge this month, visiting family and friends. The location is perfect, the bungalows are wonderful, nicely furnished and the wooded setting is inspiring. We go to Columbus every summer and while this was our first time at Big Red's, we're already planning to stay there same time, next year!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend on business. Wow. What an excellent option near the medical centers and Ohio State! On check in, they provided access to the heart center gym and coupons for snacks in the cafe. The rooms are actually 1/2 of new, adorable bungalows in a private wooded area. It was very quiet, serene and lovely. The interior is fabulous. There is a living room and wet bar area with mini-fridge, dishes, etc. The gas fireplace is a wonderful touch. The bedroom can be closed off. The bathroom was huge and new. The only negative was no tub, but that is a minor issue. We were near to everything we wanted to do, but had ample time to ourselves in a great little secluded area. Prices are comparable to any local hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice cottages, but there is only a microwave and coffee pot in the kitchen area. Two burners or a small oven would be wonderful. Very comfortable sitting area with gas fireplace, but in the colder months, cottage never got toasty warm. Great access to walking paths and to the fantastic McConnell Center with its outstanding fitness facilities. For the price, the lodges are one of the best deals in town, especially if you use the fitness center. Close to Route 315, which gets you to Ohio State in minutes and sends you n your way to other important sites in Columbus.

Room Tip: Ask for the red cottage. Pool is in the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Big Red's Lodges offered more than we could have imagined. In our suite there was a mini fridge, sink, coffeepot, and microwave in the large foyer/living room. This area also contained a gas operated fireplace and couch. Large, spacious bathrooms made for a lavish experience and the bedroom was large and bed comfy. ONLY complaint is that the pillows are huge (which makes it hard not to crane your neck a little).

The cherry on the top was the front porch with adirondack chairs looking into a wooded preserve. So quiet for being near Olentangy River Road. We did not walk on the paths, but it seems like they are paved and easily accessible from the lodges. A top notch experience and the prices are better than many nearby hotels! Nice job McConnell Center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

it was a very good size one bedroom cottage. They were successful to give some cozy invitational feeling from the form of cottage to fireplace and big bedrooms, I liked this cabin.
The bed by itself was good , but the pillows were not comfortable at all. somekind of synthetic material that I could not find comfort.
They gave me a welcome voucher which can be used at closeby gym. The location is not ideal for toursits but if you want to have a big space and drive to downtown, then that maybe your choice, definitely pleasant and convenient if you come to be around the hospitals in that part of town. There was a fitness center which I didnt use.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.4 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Varsity Inn OSU North
Varsity Inn OSU North
#92 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
4.8 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Red's Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Red's Lodges

Address: 3773 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43214-3425
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revitalizing retreat with a focus on all aspects that impact your health. Big Red's Lodges are well-appointed guest lodges nestled in a serene wooded location near the world-class health and wellness facilities on OhioHealth's McConnell Heart and Health Campus. Complete with walking paths and wetlands, this retreat offers a secluded refuge from the hectic world. Settle in and relax, surrounded by comfort. Each of our eight lodges includes a cozy living room with a fireplace and a spacious bedroom and bathroom. In addition, each guest lodge features a microwave, refrigerator / freezer,coffee maker,flat screen televisions and complimentary high-speed internet connection. Each guest will have full access to the McConnell Heart Health Center Health Club along with receiving a continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Red's Lodges Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Red's Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.