We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
“Comfortable & great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I came to Columbus for a few nights for work and was very pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel's location is great and is easily accesible from all parts of town. The staff is very friendly and rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Holmanhk,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to hosting you again when you are back in Columbus for business.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    45
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
60
17
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here before going to Ohio State for a tour. The property seemed relatively new and it was relatively easy to find coming in from the highway, although I am not always happy with how well my Garmin GPS provides directions.

The suite was nice and it had a microwave so we had some popcorn while watching TV. It probably had a small refrigerator as well but we didn't use it, so I can't remember for sure. The complimentary hot breakfast was also very nice in the morning. They have some really good Cinnabon type breakfast muffins, and scrambled eggs (good but not great) sausage, and fruit and yogurt.

We paid $ 120 for the room but WOW Columbus tacks on an additional $ 20 in taxes. So when I come back to the area, I will probably try a less expensive property. There were several others in the same area that were less expensive and looked nice enough.

It was a short and easy drive (5 to10 minutes) to OSU to get to the "Ohio Union" parking garage on High Street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Johnny-Q2,

Thank you for your nice comments about our property. We are a newer location, only 4 years old!! It is nice that we are close enough to the highway, but far enough it cannot be heard, glad your GPS was able to get you to us! For furture stays, all the rooms do have a fridge as well as the microwave you did you. Unfortunately Columbus does have a pretty high hotel tax rate, but it is the same rate for all hotels in the central Ohio area. If your daughter decides to go to Ohio State, we hope you will come back to stay with us.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, oh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed March 21st and 22nd for The YMCA Great Lakes Zones Swim Championship.
Very clean hotel and room and very friendly staff day or evening. Had several request which were met immediately. The only drawback would be lack of parking which did not effect us personally. The hotel next to us seemed to have the same issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
BuckeyeBill160011,

Thank you so much for your kind words! Glad we could get your requests taken care of while you were here with us. Hopefully your kids swam well and had a good time as well. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, PR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I came to Columbus for work for 3 nights and my wife tagged along, we got to the and the lobby is beautiful!!! The evening staff is top notch!! The manager even moved her car for me so I could have a close parking spot after dinner. They were so suggestive for food places and told my wife about the malls. Will definitely be back again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
joe_buckeye83,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled we exceeded your expectations. Glad we could help you and your wife with food choices and the malls, we have a great town for both!

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very nice Hotel. Staff was very professional and dressed the part. My room was in very nice shape the room was quiet all night long. Breakfast was ready before the scheduled start time and the dining area was clean and well kept. If I am ever in the Columbus area again this hotel wil be on the top of my list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side away form the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
H20joe,

Thank yo so much for your kind words! We are glad the hotel met your expectations. We hope you do travel to Columbus again, and we would be more than happy to host you!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My son was at Riverside for six days so we had no choice but to stay at a hotel. The staff was super friendly! Being we were on didn't know day by day if we needed lodging we ended up in different rooms each night. Every night each room was super clean and never had any issues with noise. The breakfast bar had a variety of freshly prepared food. Every morning there was something different to try. I never used the pool but I did look at what was there and it was spacious and clean. The staff spoiled my family and set the bar high for other hotels. I am planning to go back soon with my family just to relax. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Disappointed1974,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and hotel. We are so happy you could enjoy yourself at the hotel while you were in town to be with your son. We look forward to your next visit with us to relax and hopefully enjoy the pool this time!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Needed a hotel near Riverside Hospital. Great service, nice rooms, clean hotel. All around very nice and highly recommend for your stay. Had a "hospital" rate as well.

Only had pop machines on every other floor. Would have liked a vending machine.

Great stay.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Buckeyweiss

Thank you for your kind words! It is always unfortunate when family members are admitted to a hospital, but we are so glad we could make your time in Columbus a little more enjoyable. Next time you are in Columbus we look forward being your choice in hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Columbus
#29 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.