We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Atlanta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from a "Holiday Inn" but this one excelled on many levels. First, the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Secondly, the hotel is in a very convenient location to the university and Ohio State Medical Center which is why we were there, and several close by restaurants including Bob Evans and some others. Also, it has a shuttle which take you for free within a two mile radius to other locations. The hotel was clean, had nice design features and felt like a "Hampton Inn" in some ways, others not. They are definitely on the right track but need some improvement, particularly breakfast. Also, we reserved a "one bedroom suite" which turned out to be a long room which included a sitting area with pull out sofa, table and two chairs, fridge, microwave... a bit misleading since no separate room or divider from the bed area. However, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was subpar. No waffle maker like Hampton and eggs were awful. Not many choices other than cereal and breads, poor selection of muffins, some yogurt. Other than the breakfast, can't go wrong with this property. The staff were particularly well trained and friendly. Thumbs up to Holiday Inn. Now, work on that breakfast!

Room Tip: Be aware that one bedroom suite is one long room. That being said, it has both a pull out sofa and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Travelforless,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites-OSU and for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. We strive to exceed the customary; We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, hotel, amenities and location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    44
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
60
16
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our stay was for a reunion with old college buddies. The location was great for our visiting the campus. Also, close to several campus restaurants. The breakfast was very good.
I was a little surprised that the sheets did not get changed everyday (I always mark them in the corner when I check in to see if they are changed)
The pool looked nice as well as the exercise room - neither of which did we use however.
We happened to pick the weekend of the girls softball world series - they got a little noisy, but not too bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay here when the girls softball world series is happening - a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear MilesL44,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites- OSU your comments are appreciated. I want to take the opportunity to apologize that we did not meet all your expectations and to thank you again for sharing your concerns and these will be discussed with our team for improvement.
We hope to see you again when your in the Columbus- OSu area again.

Best Regards,
Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West River, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My son and I recently stayed three nights during a visit to OSU. The hotel lobby and rooms were nice. Beds were fine. Not the worst I have had and not the best. Staff was very friendly. We only had the breakfast once. It was OK, but not good enough for us to utilize on the other days. The issue we had which prevented the visit from being a full five rating is the fact that there were youth sports teams at the hotel at the same time. Kids were running up and down the halls I know at least through midnight. Not sure where their parents/chaparones were at this time. Told front staff after the first night, but once again, the kids were running up and down the halls. I called and they said a bunch of parents are in the lobby and we will address it.

Then after a second night of being kept awake by running children, we were woken up at 4am by people in the room next to us that were so loud it was like they were having a party. They were laughing, talking loud, blared the television and were banging things. I figured they were checking out, but after 45 mintues, I had to call the front desk. I had to blast the AC fan in order to try to drown out the sound. They finally either settled down or left and I was able to fall back to sleep. This is where I beleive improvement is needed. If the hotel is aware of youth groups, they should be periodically checking halls, etc. for extra noice and disturbances. Or, make sure you only put the youth on the same floors, lower floors, and keep other guests away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites-OSU and for taking the time to share your concerns and comments. We apologize for not exceeding all your expectations and your concerns have been discussed with our management team for improvement; we have looked into many options and feel we have come to solution during game seasons. We would love to have you visit with us again when you’re in the Columbus, Ohio- OSU area.

Sincerely,
Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were just looking for a day trip to visit the campus and some surrounding attractions. This hotel was relatively new, and had rooms available at discounted rates, providing reservations were made online at least nine days in advance and provided for no refund if the reservation was canceled. Since it was close to campus and offered a full breakfast which received good reviews, we decided to give it a try. As soon as we approached the front desk, we were greeted by two friendly staff members. They found our reservation and checked us in, complete with information regarding amenities and breakfast, in less than two minutes. After unpacking, we spent an hour or so in the pool area. The temperature of the pool and hot tub were perfect. Also, the hot tub was clean and did not have the chlorine overdose you get at some hotels. After relaxing, we made a trip to nearby Worthington for dinner at the Winking Lizard and stopped for Graeter's ice cream on the way back. The next day involved sightseeing on campus and stopping for souvenirs. The proximity of this hotel to campus allowed us to make two or three short trips rather than having to plan for one long excursion that day. We found everything about this hotel was to our liking and will definitely plan to stay there the next time we're in Buckeye territory.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A family of 4, we booked one night through a 3rd party travel website; the site confirmed 2 beds, but when we arrived, we were told that the site didn't properly book a 2-bed room, and therefore, only a queen bed was available. I asked the manager "Nathan" if, considering our plight, would the hotel give us a rollaway bed at no charge. Nathan the manager not only refused to accommodate us, he was rude, condescending, patronizing, and wholly unhelpful. It was THE worst customer service I've EVER experienced. When expressing my frustration, I told him that we'd never stay at this hotel again, and his reply was, "Good. I'm happy to hear that." Abysmal experience. This guy should be fired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear TimLohmar,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Family of 4 booked a 2 bed room to attend a family wedding. The location was perfect; 1-1/2 mi from Church, 2 mi from The Ohio State University Union where the reception was held. The room was equiped with a wet bar, mini fridge (which we love having children), and a nice sized bathroom. The complimentary breakfast was, in my opinion, very tasty. Eggs, bagels, cereals, juices, coffee, etc....very good. I would definately stay at this location again, especially if attending a game @ OSU as it's very close to campus.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if you can check-in early; we could but others that attended the weeding could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you Mr. P.T.,
We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, hotel, amenities and location. We strive very hard to provide memorable service to each and every guest; again we appreciate the recognition of a job well done. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I travel alot, not sure what else you would possible want or need. HOWEVER...upon my arrival on a THURSDAY mid afternoon, I was told there was no standard rooms. There was hardly anyone around and the parking lot was 1/4 full! I was beat and didn't feel like packing it in and going anywhere else. So I succumbed to a an expensive and the only thing allegedly available, a large unneeded suite. I liked it although something smaller and cheaper would have suited me just fine. Don't know how to prove they didn't have regular rooms and were running a scham, but it sure seemed suspicous to me. Anyway, nice place, hope it was just my mind playing tricks on me. Makes me apprehensive about returning though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Columbus
#29 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.