We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My son was doing a summer internship in Columbus and we went to visit him for the weekend of 8/4/2012. His apartment was too small and he had roommates so we stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. The location of this hotel is great for doing anything related to the university. It's very close and easily accessible. It is also reasonably close tho the downtown and Short North area which has lots of shops and restaurants. Great place to walk around, buy something unusual and people watch.
The immediate area is not so aesthetically pleasing but the hotel is attractive, very clean, the rooms really spacious and the free breakfast was great and restocked often. The staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly. If there was one improvement that could be made it would be mattress quality. It wasn't bad at all, just not as nice as some chains are using now.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the main street. This put the roof for the entry right in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    46
    14
    7
    12
See reviews for
60
17
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stay here frequently, since I work for OSU but I live in Cleveland. The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere, even the elevators and it is very quiet. The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff at the desk is efficient and polite, they will take care of everything. The breakfast is always good. When I travel other places, I always miss this hotel, because they are never as good, not even the big Hiltons. No joke, when I walk into my room I literally say "Ahhhhh...."

Room Tip: Room on the end of the hallways by the windo seem bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Went up for the fair. Was very near OSU and close to fairgrounds. Excellent from the time we walked in. Friendly staff, very clean room and hotel. Nice hot breakfast. Pool and hot tub well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Ohio State University. The hotel is just a short drive (<10 min.) from the University. I was told by the staff that it is only two years old. It felt new. We were on the 7th floor, waiting for elevators was never an issue. The room was very clean. The room had two beds and a pull-out sofabed. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. We used the fitness room, which was clean, and had the standard cardio and weight machines. The pool was clean, but small, and the water was comfortably warm. The staff was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Service was excellent. Staff very friendly. My biggest complaint is no fresh air comes into upper levels. Elevators and hallways stuffy and strong chemical smell. Beds are clean and comfortable. I think floors need to be better vacuumed. The housekeeping staff was very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were in town to attend the OSU football camp. Hotel was perfect for our needs. Hotel provided a complimentary breakfast, it was close to the athletic facilitates, and clean. We appreciated having the free upgrade since we are reward members.

We also enjoyed having the sports bar across the street for a late night snacks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My daughter and I just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, while we were in town for my daughter's oreintation at Ohio State University. I chose NOT to rent a car ( we flew in from NY) and take taxis. The hotel offers a wonderful shuttleservice, to and from the university, wherever we needed to go or get picked up from, and even to the movie theatre one night. The breakfast was clean, well stocked and had a large selection. Every individual we dealt with was friendly, informative and welcoming. We would DEFINITELY stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Columbus
#29 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.