We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
920 Wilson Rd at I-70, Columbus, OH 43204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
Edmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean room but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The location is convenient, the room was clean, the front desk was friendly. This property was probably very nice a couple of decades ago. It is run down and needs a major overhaul. The continental breakfast is coffee/tea, orange juice, choice of 2 cereals, milk, a jar of peanut butter and a loaf of white bread.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    5
    4
    14
See reviews for
4
6
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Booked a "non-refundable guaranteed rate" 2 months in advance. We arrived at 10:30 p.m. following "Rock on the Range 2013", to find our room had been given away at a higher rate. We were told there were no rooms for 50 miles due to demand. After 45 minutes they gave us a 1 bed room (for 4people) that stank far worse than anything you can imagine from a national commercial enterprise. Stay away from this property, sleep in your car for free as a better option!

Room Tip: Sleeping in your car for free is the better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a late night stop. It didn't look very appealling as we arrived but we were exhausted. The man at the desk didn't speak good English so there was no getting reimbursed. Let me say I ended up sleeping sitting up in a wooden chair with the lights on. The beds were not made and still had hair in them from the previous nights events which wouldnt have been so bad if the pillow didn't have a blood stain on it and the bed didn't have fleas jumping about. The smell of urine was overpowering and my door looked like it had been kicked in a time or two. I do not recommend this under any circumstances. Save your 67 dollars

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENWOOD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a strange place as wilson rd is one way and then changes to one way the other way so it is difficult to figure out how to get there. The room was never vaccumed and only one bed of two was made up. Breakfast was stale buns and stale instant? weak coffee. Much activity in the building people in and out all night long. Too bad their system for early morning calls didn't work but the gal at the desk was very nice and sympathetic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The couch was not only badly stained it was soiled. Looked to be soiled more than once. There was grafity on the walls. Staines on the bathroom cieling. Horrible horrible facility. I stripped the sheets off the bed one at a time to insure they were at least clean down to the mattress. Thank god the mattress wasn't stained. I did go ahead and stay the 1 night because of how late it was. Believe me I'll never stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had asked for a non-smoking room. They assigned me a smoking room, then refused to change it. They said they had no rooms left, but there were barely 20 cars in the parking lot. The room smell was terrible. The door deadbolt was broken. The bathroom light went on and off by itself. The sink had no stopper (very bad to clean your contacts over an open drain). The bathroom fan did not work. The TV was sitting on a piece of old 2x4 - raw lumber. The wi-fi was v-e-r-y slow. The "free breakfast" was old stale cereal in a tiny room with only 4 chairs. I had to leave and buy a restaurant breakfast. The heater was very noisy. The furniture was chipped, cracked, dinged and beat-up. There was no place to put the suitcase - only one chair and a small desk with a lap on it. I had to leave my suitcase on the floor. The sheets and blanket were thin. The mattress was lumpy. The pillows were flat. Worst of all, when I arrived home everything in my luggage smelled of foul smoke and had to be double-washed and air-dried outside. My winter coat had to be dry-cleaned to get the smell out. Honestly, it would have cost me less money if I had paid for this room, NOT stayed there, left, and paid to stay in a different motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed three nights in September 2012; the room was clean and we had no major problem: pretty much what we would expect in this price range. We would go as far as saying that we could have described it as "very good" if it hadn't been for the WIFI not working and the receptionist giving us lame excuses for three days: they would restart the router; a technician would come and fix it; the provider was looking into it, etc. We had to take the laptop to the reception whenever we needed to send an e-mail. If we didn't need internet access would have no problem in returning.

Room Tip: If you don't need internet access, it's not a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
Best Value, Fre...
Show More
10.9 mi away
Worthington Red Roof Inn
Worthington Red Roof Inn
#71 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#58 of 141 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
4.9 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#52 of 141 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
14.4 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus
Motel 6 Columbus
#75 of 141 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
14.3 mi away
Comfort Suites East Broad at 270
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 920 Wilson Rd at I-70, Columbus, OH 43204
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.