We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could have described it as "very good"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
920 Wilson Rd at I-70, Columbus, OH 43204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We could have described it as "very good"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed three nights in September 2012; the room was clean and we had no major problem: pretty much what we would expect in this price range. We would go as far as saying that we could have described it as "very good" if it hadn't been for the WIFI not working and the receptionist giving us lame excuses for three days: they would restart the router; a technician would come and fix it; the provider was looking into it, etc. We had to take the laptop to the reception whenever we needed to send an e-mail. If we didn't need internet access would have no problem in returning.

Room Tip: If you don't need internet access, it's not a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    7
    4
    15
See reviews for
5
6
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was in a wedding the weekend I stayed. Once we arrived are room was not ready. They gave us another room that was being used.When we opend the door we almost got our heads shot off.We had to take another room. In that room there was no toilet paper. Not tissues. No hairdryer. The room was dirty with webs in the corners and holes in the walls. The bedding had been used and the bed not made.We tried to use the phone and it was not working. We tried to talk to the desk and they did not speak english. There was mulitple families living in the rooms so they sat outside all night drinking and fighting. At 3 Am someone tried to open our door and was yelling we where in there room. At that point we contacted the main office and left. WOULD NEVER TELL SOMEONE TO STAY THERE! NOT EVEN AS A USE FOR A KENNEL!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I booked this hotel on the rewards program ascociated with the hotel. When I booked the room I was told that I needed to present a credit card and ID as proof of identity when I arrived at the hotel but that nothing would be charged to my card. When I arrived at the hotel however, The clerk told me that he would need to place a $250 charge on my card which he would refund in the morning. I know for a fact it takes 3 business days for holds to fall off from a credit card account so that was also a little but questionable. Having less than $250 in available credit on my card I was turned away for my free rewards night room. They also refuse to return my reward points for the room I never used.

What a scam! Isn't it illegal to charge a guest until checkout?

Any way I had to drive back to my home in Youngstown about 3 hours away. I reccomend that people stay away from this hotel unless you want to risk fouling up your credit card accounts.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Going here I knew I wasn't getting the best hotel based upon previous reviews. Anyway, the room was beat up a bit and could have used some fixing up. However, the room was clean which is extremely important to me. To me this is not a place for a family or an extended stay. There are lots a of places to eat around the hotel, again a plus. It's right off the highway which was good for me too. A decent place to stay overall but don't expect a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had reservations at the Econo Lodge in Worthington OH (the motel from hell) so switched to this place. Compared to the first place, it was much better. Very, very basic. I've about decided to avoid all Econo Lodges in future, but this was OK considering where we were originally booked.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The worst hotel I've ever seen. We came into the room A/C was broken. The owner made a big deal because of us relocating us to a better room. The ice machine was broken and as well as the vending machine. Just for your advice NEVER GO HERE. BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

we stayed over the weekend. it was annoying trying to find the road just to get to the hotel, behind waffle house, it was sketchy but we did stay anyway. the other guests did give us the creeps! but the room was clean, i am employed at a hotel so i know how to check for a clean room. we didnt have a bad experience here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 920 Wilson Rd at I-70, Columbus, OH 43204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.