We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Columbus, OH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2886 Airport Drive, Columbus, OH 43219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fletcher, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great stay in Columbus, OH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were going to Columbus to visit Ohio State with our son. We usually prefer Homewood Suites but have had some disappointing experiences in the last year. After checking reviews here on Trip Advisor I decided to book the Embassy Suites at the airport. I usually am very wary of any airport locations because of the noise factor, but we never were bothered by noise in the 3 days we were here. Our check-in was very smooth and handled very professionally by the young lady (sorry I forgot to make a note of her name) who checked us in. We asked for some advice on the area regarding driving time to the campus and eateries and she was very helpful all around. Our usual request of a "high floor in quiet part of hotel" put us in room 601. Although this was next to the stairs, we didn't have any problem getting a good night's sleep every night. Breakfast was very good, with either cooked to order omelettes, hot buffet of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes and waffles, or cold items like cereal and fruit bar. I sampled all the areas on our stay, and for a consistent experience I would recommend either the cooked to order or cold items. The hot buffet items could be dry and cool if you get there long after they've been set out, and the waffles just weren't very good (it would be great if they just supplied a waffle iron and mix to make your own fresh). The chef in the cooked to order section always made a great tasty omelette, and the fruit bar was always well tended to and tasted fresh. The overall appearance of this hotel is excellent starting from the lobby and throughout the halls into the rooms. Ours was very clean and comfortable. The whirlpool in the pool area was great, although I would prefer it hotter. This area was also well kept and inviting. The only small complaint I have would be with room service: We like to have our cup of tea in the evenings so we bring our own tea bags and honey, using only the cups and stirring sticks supplied in the room. When we used all the stirring sticks and left that holder out on the counter (before we left for the day) to show it needed more, housekeeping did not replenish it. We called after getting back and seeing this and they were sent up quickly, so I see no need to ding them for this. I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Any rooms that are on the same side as 601 should be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    116
    25
    5
    8
See reviews for
146
76
26
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, N.M.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is an excellent property, with very good service and all-around great quality. It does not have any feeling of being an airport hotel, so don't be turned off by its proximity to the Columbus airport (five minutes away). The hotel's shuttle service to and from the airport is outstanding: the driver was friendly and pleasant (even at 6:00 a.m.) and prompt. I learned (too late) that the shuttle would have driven me to near-by restaurants. Will do so next time. The room itself was great: I had a large, two-room suite with two large, high-def t.v's. The bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was huge and had a walk-in shower. There was a good working desk, and good access to electrical outlets for the computer, Ipad, etc. The exercise facilty was quite good (four ellipiticals, four treadmills, only one stationary bike, precor weight machines) and the pool was great. Finally, the made-to-order omlette was very good and the coffee was strong, so what else can one ask for in the morning? I would highly recommend this property and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night when we had a local power outage. Surprised at how clean the rooms were -some of the cleanest we've seen. Large rooms with nice furnishings. The breakfast included was great-lots of options. Really nice and helpful staff. Only downside was no outdoor pool (but they do have an indoor one).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great location for those wanting to be near the airport, and not too far from the city. The entire staff was friendly and welcoming. Sophie Jones at the check in counter was super sweet, handling the throngs of athletes checking in during a heat wave & power outage. Mgr Michael Cooney was fantastic, doing his best to manage a stressful situation. I wonder why the front desk staff has to stand all the time. There's nothing wrong with providing them a high stool.

This hotel is super clean, has a nice gym & pool, laundry facility, free parking, and great staff, but it gets 1 star when it comes to room noise. I wouldn't recommend this place to noise sensitive sleepers that use heat/AC. It's The wall unit is VERY LOUD when it's running. It's sounds like you're in an industrial strength wind tunnel.

The free breakfast is great, but if you go for it in the last 15 minutes, you may not have much of a selection if the hotel is full. Happy hour in the comfy lobby is very nice, with a generous offering of snacks.

Room Tip: Nicest rooms are on upper level, facing the back of the hotel overlooking miles of beautiful forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Separate lounge rooms two TVs, good size bathroom, free parking, nightly manager’s reception drinks and very convenient to the airport (shuttle). What's not to love?
This property is reasonably new and everything is in great condition. The manager’s nightly reception is one of the more sociable bars around.

Only things to watch for or to note.
The A/C units are noisy when running. I could hear my neighbours unit humming and buzzing – got kind annoying when it was switching on & off.
The rooms near the elevators can also be noisy. The elevator beeps at every floor and bongs when the doors open. If you had to listen to that all the time when people were coming & going that would drive you crazy.

Oh and the breakfast area can get crowded and there's not much space between tables.
Grab your breakfast and sit out near the lobby area - much better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised how nice my stay was at this hotel. Passing through on business, I stopped here for one night. The veggie burger I ordered in the bar was excellent and hit the spot after traveling all day. The room was a great size with two flat screen TV's and cold bottled water in the fridge. It was VERY CLEAN which makes me think it must be fairly new. There is free parking, wifi, and a hot breakfast that is more than satisfying. I had egg whites made-to-order with fresh fruit, and I took coffee & a yogurt for the road. I will definitely stay here again if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbustraveler2, General Manager at Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Raganreview:

Thak you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip through Columbus. We appreciate the positive review, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area. Thanks again for staying with us and for your kind comments.

Sincerely,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was my first stay at an Embassy Suites. I am glad that I listened to the Tripadvisor reviews! It is very close to the airport as it took us less than five minutes to get there. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the complimentary cocktail hour. They offered cheese, crackers, fruit, chips & salsa/guacamole and something else although I don't recall. Soda and beer were complimentary but I'm not sure about other drinks. The complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning was good as far as hotel breakfast goes and the staff was very pleasant. There were a lot of kids/teens and it was very noisy in the lobby, but we didn't hear a thing from our room on the top floor. The suite was very clean and comfortable which provided a good night's rest. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbustraveler2, General Manager at Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear DasKins:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Embassy Suites Columbus-Airport. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and the positive comments that you shared. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in Columbus. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport

Address: 2886 Airport Drive, Columbus, OH 43219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#6 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Columbus Airport in Columbus, Ohio is the premier full service hotel near Port Columbus International Airport and a preferred choice for business travel, Columbus vacations, and convention guests. The hotel is conveniently located 4 miles from Easton Town Center, 5 miles from downtown Columbus and the Greater Columbus Convention Center, and 10 miles from The Ohio State University.All registered guests receive accommodations in a 2-room suite, access to our evening Manager's reception featuring complimentary snacks and beverages, cooked-to-order breakfast each morning, and airport transportation.Whether visiting Columbus for business, leisure, sports or a convention, the new Embassy Suites Columbus Airport hotel is a central location to all Columbus has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, EasyToBook, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport Hotel Columbus
Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.