We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Maxwell Place, Columbus, OH 43228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #67 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice hotel. Great location. Friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable, up to date with todays style, and very clean. Beds were comfortable. Work out room includes weights, treadmill, and ellipticals, which are all of good gym quality. Pool is smaller, but it is a hotel, not the olympics. There's complimentary computers with printers, homepage is set up so you can print your airplane boarding pass. I found the breakfast of good quality, it was your typical cereal, yogurt, fruits, and they had microwavable jimmy dean bacon egg buscuit sandwhiches. I personally tried these and they were pretty good. One reviewer complained the furniture was cheap, I did not feel this way and have stayed at my fair share of hotels.
Downside of this hotel: thin walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
15
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Upon checking in, we were asked for.a credit card.for incidentals. Okay, I have them our credit card which they said was.declined. Hmmm, we'd just used it for gas and have a large credit limit. I provided another card and we called the first card company who said that they had not declined the card, but had charged it. So now we had incidental charges on 2 cards and she had.NO idea how to remove them but said they would "fall off" automatically. Great. The next morning, $4.50 had again been charged bit she couldn't say why except it would fall off in 10 days, with the other charges. Poor policy. Inept staff
Also. no hot water in shower -- it had been fixed to provide barely lukewarm. Please!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wow! With all the amenities that Marriott touts for its Fairfields you'd think this place would have been a great deal at the $109 I paid.

It wasn't.

The rooms are large but the furnishings are cheap. Sure there's a pool - but a stroke and a half and you're at the far end. Hot breakfast - mushy microwave sandwiches. Overall, kind of underwhelming.

To be fair, the bed was fine and I did enjoy that the TV had a number of channels and was actually in HD.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Small rooms and old towels. Not to par with other Fairfields. Same good Marriott service and beds, but not much to say after that. It's a good location and clean. I'd stay again but wouldn't pay more than $150.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at the new Fairfield Inn & Suites in West Columbus. Of course being new, it was very nice. The beds are very comfortable. The only thing we missed was the option of running the fan during the night for white noise, it had a wall thermostat and the waffle maker.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stryker, OH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel is a MUST if you are going to Columbus. Absolutely everything was perfect from the lobby all the way up to our room. The rooms were spacious, modern, and clean. WiFi worked well . The staff was helpful and courteous. And, I really liked their breakfast. There was no reason to go elsewhere to eat unless you are just a picky eater. Eggs, waffles, yogurts, frozen breakfast sandwiches, fruit, cereal, and a whole lot more were available. The ONLY negative is the location. If you are looking for things to do within walking distance, you're out of luck. But, this negative is so minimal that it doesn't affect my overall opinion. Thanks to the chain for having a great hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor is always best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels over the years, but this is, by far, the best value for the money. Everyone (everyone!) was coureteous, friendly, and professional. The room was neat, very clean, everything worked as expected, with no surprises of any kind. Geraldine served a very nice breakfast that was fresh and good. Everything you needed for a good breakfast was available, and was very clean and orderly. They opened just over a year ago, but it seemed like they opened the day before our arrival............clean, fresh, and looked like new!

van, from Memphis, TN

Room Tip: The entire hotel is just off a busy highway, but we couldn't near it at all, and we were located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard

Address: 5520 Maxwell Place, Columbus, OH 43228
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.