We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Old Clintonville and OSU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visit to Old Clintonville and OSU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I spent six nights at this location of Hilton Garden Inn and enjoyed my stay except for the sleep number beds! I had a sciatica back flare up as the beds were old and too soft. The front desk did whatever they could to help. The first three nights I was in a King room and the side nearest the telephone was a giant divot. The side near the wall was a little firmer. An engineer came to adjust but after three nights I moved across the hall to a double bedded room which was much better.
The staff was friendly and accommodating -- Dan was very helpful -- printed out driving directions for me to attend reunion activities.. keeping me off the freeways..as I was familiar with Columbus streets before 1970.
The breakfast was the best value ever - for only $10.00 my one egg over easy was done to perfection.
Used the fridge and microwave - Kroger grocery store nearby. Kohls was next door - needed a scarf as weather was chilly and rainy. Used the jacuzzi to help with back issue and the workout room - they have a bike with back support.
I highly recommend this property but look forward to the opening of the Hilton Hampton Inn next door. It's currently under construction and is my favorite hotel everywhere I travel... The beds will be new and the sheets very crisp.
Remember that weekends are heavily booked for OSU activities and graduation weekend has to be booked months in advance...

Room Tip: Book the rooms on front side of hotel looking over the parking lot. Last three nights were facing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
79
26
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I arrived at 11:00 pm to check in to a nicely appointed room, but it was on the smoking floor, I think. I gave a tax-exempt form at check in and received a bill under my door with hotel tax still on the bill. I was on a tight schedule for check out by 7:00 am and the clerk at the desk took what I thought was a long time, when I politely called to ask the tax be removed. Not too polite at check out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel was perfect for the purpose of my trip....to watch my daughter play golf for Purdue at the Lady Buckeye Invitational. The location is ideal for OSU activities, very clean, safe and pleasant. Dan, the front desk attendant, could easily qualify as Hilton Employee of the Year! He was very helpful with the many questions I had that night and extremely polite.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our family stayed at the Hilton Garden during the Columbus Equine Affaire 2014. I was impressed with the décor and high quality furnishings. But more importantly, I was impressed with the QUIETNESS of the hotel. Very little noise. I really appreciated that! The rooms/bathroom are a little on the small side for the price you pay, but they are in tip-top shape in cleanliness. The beds are very comfortable! Nice big TV! Our room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker that makes Great coffee! I had an enjoyable stay for one night. I would have stayed another night or more! The location is great, too. Bob Evans is just next door--perfect for a family!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel staff, restaurant food, service, room, cleanliness were WONDERFUL. The mattress was hard as a rock so I felt like a 90 year old woman. I was stiff and my back and shoulders hurt. The pillows weren't fluffy. The pool is a lot smaller than it appears in the photo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Clean, comfortable hotel. Perfect location. Helpful, very friendly, inviting staff. The beds were not very comfortable. They had some sort of ability to adjust the firmness of the mattress, but it didn't seem to work. Otherwise, we had and excellent stay and would stay here again if we have the chance

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Check the mattress before you lay down or else you may be sleeping in a hole. Just terribly uncomfortable. Good luck! Restaurant staff for breakfast were very nice but could not make up for the terrible lack of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#26 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.