We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points Package
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice staff and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good value for this Hilton Garden Inn. The staff were great to change the room when we realized a ball team was on our floor and might be noisy later. We like having a real coffee pot and mugs. Lots of parking.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    86
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
99
29
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was wonderful! It had a small swimming pool but it was always empty and a workout room. The service was very nice (saying "Have a nice day" or "hope you enjoy your stay" every time you pass the front desk). The hotel room is clean and nice although it seemed a little small for four. The location was nice too. Right next to the university and a few restaurants. Before you go, you should make sure that you get the bed and breakfast deal or else you'll be paying $30-40 for breakfast which we did (the university booked the hotel for us and didn't get us the bed and breakfast deal).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

What can I say we had a 24 visit to OSU for a lacrosse game ants this hotel is perfect. Warm fire in lobby & welcoming wine tasting. Great front desk staff, beautiful clean large rooms with microwave & refrig , And free local transportation. Only problem I won't be back for while! Met the owners daughter a true gem & perfect hotellier! Thank you for taking care of my parents group and letting us crash in your lobby!

Room Tip: Be sure to use the free local hotel shuttle & let them take you to OSU or local restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found this motel to be clean, pleasant and comfortable. The location was perfect for me - close to OSU and to Clintonville (where I grew up). It is extremely easy to get from here to freeways going in any direction. There were two different groups of people staying there when we were there, and there was a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Staff was helpful, polite and friendly. Breakfast was available and it was good, but if you want something different, there is a Bob Evans right next door. Lots of parking available. The only thing that might be a downside is the fact that it's not in a beautiful place, but I'd take it over driving an extra 20-30 minutes to some newer, more trendy area. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fine. The staff was nice and it was nice and clean. That's about it. The room is just a room, which is ok, but the bathroom leaves no room to get ready. The vanity is small. The blow dryer was the size of my hand.
The lobby is small and we were there on a busy day. It was always loud and crowded and no other place to hang out other than the room or the tiny overcrowded pool.
The bar is just four stools against a tiny counter. The restaurant pretty much is just part of the lobby.
I am a light sleeper so being able to hear the conversations in the hall and the neighbors TV until 2 am was annoying.
Again, the hotel was fine. But for the money I spent I would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Columbus on business and personal trips at least 15 times over the past 4 years. At least 50% ofte time I have stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn. Yes, I keep going back.
This week I had opportunity to take my wife and young son with me as I combined a little bit of business with some R & R. We spent two nights at this HGI. There are so many things about this property at make it a great place to stay.
Location is convenient to so much in the way of eating, shopping and entertainment (family type).
This property is very comfortable, modern and well maintained.
The real gem here is the hotel staff. Every member of the staff that we encountered was extremely pleasant and friendly. If you've read any of my other hotel reviews you'll know I like to feel like a welcome guest not a customer. The folks here get that.
I recommend this property whether you are in Columbus for business or personal reasons and I will be back. Maybe I'll see you there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found this hotel to be very clean and moderately priced. The bed had an adjustment on it to moderate it between hard and soft- I only knew this because I strip a bed down to inspect it. It was not stated anywhere that I saw. I adjusted to soft. I don't know if actually changed anything, but it was one of the more comfortable beds I've had in a hotel. I didn't spend the entire night flipping.

Staff overall was very friendly. The associate the checked us in gave only the basics, I had to ask a few questions and received minimal responses.

You can purchase a stay that includes your breakfast. Or purchase individually. It is $9.95 for cooked to order and buffet, or $6.95 for just the standard "cold" buffet. Food was very good and hot. Omelet, french toast. Waffles and Pancakes were also available to order. Mix and match as you desire.

My only critiques are: Toilets are a power type flush- which comes in kind of loud from the room above. Doors are designed to slam if you don't hold them. Bathroom door swings toward the room door, which could be an issue in an emergency. Housekeeping was knocking on our door at 9:30- that's way too early to me- checkout is noon.

Very close to OSU

We would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#18 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.