We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found this motel to be clean, pleasant and comfortable. The location was perfect for me - close to OSU and to Clintonville (where I grew up). It is extremely easy to get from here to freeways going in any direction. There were two different groups of people staying there when we were there, and there was a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Staff was helpful, polite and friendly. Breakfast was available and it was good, but if you want something different, there is a Bob Evans right next door. Lots of parking available. The only thing that might be a downside is the fact that it's not in a beautiful place, but I'd take it over driving an extra 20-30 minutes to some newer, more trendy area. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
79
26
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel was fine. The staff was nice and it was nice and clean. That's about it. The room is just a room, which is ok, but the bathroom leaves no room to get ready. The vanity is small. The blow dryer was the size of my hand.
The lobby is small and we were there on a busy day. It was always loud and crowded and no other place to hang out other than the room or the tiny overcrowded pool.
The bar is just four stools against a tiny counter. The restaurant pretty much is just part of the lobby.
I am a light sleeper so being able to hear the conversations in the hall and the neighbors TV until 2 am was annoying.
Again, the hotel was fine. But for the money I spent I would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Columbus on business and personal trips at least 15 times over the past 4 years. At least 50% ofte time I have stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn. Yes, I keep going back.
This week I had opportunity to take my wife and young son with me as I combined a little bit of business with some R & R. We spent two nights at this HGI. There are so many things about this property at make it a great place to stay.
Location is convenient to so much in the way of eating, shopping and entertainment (family type).
This property is very comfortable, modern and well maintained.
The real gem here is the hotel staff. Every member of the staff that we encountered was extremely pleasant and friendly. If you've read any of my other hotel reviews you'll know I like to feel like a welcome guest not a customer. The folks here get that.
I recommend this property whether you are in Columbus for business or personal reasons and I will be back. Maybe I'll see you there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here overnight for a concert at the Schott. Location was excellent, quiet, room was clean and no problems experienced. This is the second HGI in the Columbus are that I've stayed in and both were very good. Breakfast was average, a little overpriced for what you get in my opinon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found this hotel to be very clean and moderately priced. The bed had an adjustment on it to moderate it between hard and soft- I only knew this because I strip a bed down to inspect it. It was not stated anywhere that I saw. I adjusted to soft. I don't know if actually changed anything, but it was one of the more comfortable beds I've had in a hotel. I didn't spend the entire night flipping.

Staff overall was very friendly. The associate the checked us in gave only the basics, I had to ask a few questions and received minimal responses.

You can purchase a stay that includes your breakfast. Or purchase individually. It is $9.95 for cooked to order and buffet, or $6.95 for just the standard "cold" buffet. Food was very good and hot. Omelet, french toast. Waffles and Pancakes were also available to order. Mix and match as you desire.

My only critiques are: Toilets are a power type flush- which comes in kind of loud from the room above. Doors are designed to slam if you don't hold them. Bathroom door swings toward the room door, which could be an issue in an emergency. Housekeeping was knocking on our door at 9:30- that's way too early to me- checkout is noon.

Very close to OSU

We would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overnighted here while working at OSU hospital.
This is your standard HGI and that is a good thing!
Clean rooms, nice exercise and business facilities, and friendly staff.
They also have an excellent complimentary shuttle service and there are several dining facilities within easy waking distance of the property.
As has been mentioned in other reviews though, the property is not really located within walking distance of the University itself but it is an easy 5-10 minute drive.
I will not hesitate to stay here again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a top rate hotel with great facilities and close to good restaurants, OSU and other attractions. The staff is friendly and the entry area is warm and welcoming.

They made this business trip comfortable and relaxing!! Thank you Hilton Garden Inn!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#18 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#26 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.