We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #19 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The man at the check in was very nice, and got us to our room and answered our questions with no problems. Our room,overall, was very clean! The only problem is that it was small. There were four girls In the room so it was pretty crowded. The shuttle is great to have! The man who took us was funny. We live in the country so when my mom asked how he hadn't gone crazy yet driving these roads, he responded, "Thats why I'm medicated." Haha! The breakfast is great. They cook it to order. And they have donuts. I like donuts. Haha! The location is phenomenal. The mall is only 10 miles away, and you're pretty much on osu campus. It was great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
70
22
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a great location and situation if you're heading to town for a game (or anything else on campus). The rooms were comfortable, clean and everything seemed new. Downstairs there is a great spot for breakfast, and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Rates were moderate. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was there on business and I was charged for a night I didn't stay there after the front desk representative told me I would not be charged. No one ever called me to fix the problem... I had to call them repeatedly to remind them of the issue. Finally they settled on saying they would send me a check in the mail and that would take up to a month. It's 2012 and I still have to get a check in the mail? We will see if I ever get that check.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indus511, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We would like to apologize if there was a misunderstanding concerning the refund for the early departure. Your reservation was booked on line through a Hilton Advance Purchase which is a non-refundable rate with a 30-45% discount. To confirm this rate you were notified of the terms and conditions of the non-cancellable nature of the reservation. As a courtesy after receiving your call we agreed to refund you one night room and tax in the form of a check as the hotel did not charge your credit card directly and that information is not available to the hotel. The hotel must issue a refund check, which we agreed to do as a courtesy also noting that this process takes 3-4 weeks for processing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great hotel in a good area. I have business at Ohio State University Medical Center and it is very convenient. The room was very clean, room service was good. Great cookies at the front desk when you check in:) Staff was very helpful. Will continue to stay here when I travel to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Last hotel stay on a long trip, so wanted peace, quiet, and Sunday Night Football. Got all at this HGI property in Columbus. It's right down the road from Ohio State, but a bit more uptown, so it's not rundown by years of parental visits, parties, football home games, etc. Clean, comfortable, convenient to all. Plenty of parking, nice bar.

Room Tip: Be a AAA member. HiltonHHonors, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I always look for a Hilton Garden Inn when I travel but have stayed mostly at the Columbus-University location for business trips or personal family visits in the past. The staff is professional and friendly and always willing to help you. Housekeeping does a great job to insure that we always have a clean and neat room when we visit the area. Management is on top of this hotel and makes absolutely sure your needs are always met. I also like very much the breakfast area and excellent selection of food to start my day off on the right foot.

Room Tip: Central location makes it easy to navigate the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I paid 180$ to stay here after a co very and was very disappointed. There was a nasty white spot on the be skirt (picture will be loaded) that I didn't find until the next morning. I brought it to the attention of the day shift desk manager who checked it out. She then came down and apologized and promise to notify corporate (since I'm not a local) so they can send me a free night at a Hilton nationwide. This was 2 months ago and I still haven't relieved the voucher. Overall, this hotel is NOT worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Columbus
#13 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#22 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.