We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

JJ was a great help when we checked in. Location was excellent. Attended a conference within walking distance and this hotel was very close. Continental breakfast was just ok. They weren't prepared for all the people and most items were gone. Breakfast area seemed chaotic and they need a new plan. Hopefully this will be changed next time we visit. Beds were very comfortable, and I haven't stayed in a hotel this clean in a long, long time. Excellent friendly service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are glad you found our team to be friendly and that you received excellent service. J.J. in particular will be pleased to know that you appreciated him at check-in. J.J. has been here for many years. Our housekeeping team will enjoy seeing your comments about the cleanliness of our hotel. We will keep working on improvements to our free continental breakfast. Thanks for your observations and encouragement. We hope you will be returning to visit with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    111
    31
    11
    16
See reviews for
34
49
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here for a convention in Columbus and was not disappointed. The location vis-a-vis the convention center cannot be beaten; it would be nice if the parking lot had not been squirreled away, but that was a fairly minor annoyance. The breakfast was also lacking somewhat, but for a Red Roof Inn I expected nothing, so coffee and a toasted bagel were just fine. The service, however, was outstanding. Very helpful and extraordinarily friendly, they recommended several nice carry-out and delivery restaurants for us, gave us some tips and coupons, and even opened up one of their conference rooms for us so we could order in some pizza and play a couple hands of cards before bed both nights. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a corner facing Nationwide Street as well as the Third Street viaduct, and had no noise whats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Your comments about your recent stay with us are greatly appreciated. Guests often mention how conveniently located we are to the Greater Columbus Convention Center and many other downtown restaurants, Nationwide Arena, Huntington Ball Park and Lifestyle Community Center. Our team thanks you for your compliments about their friendly customer service and extra attention. We are glad you are definitely going to return and stay with us again. Hope to see you back here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This Hotel was very good. The room was big and clean, and it had a very nice bathroom. The only reason I didn't give it the top rating was because the breakfast kind of sucked. It was just some stale muffins, juice and coffee. Also a minor annoyance is that the parking lot was a little hard to get to, and the key card they gave us to get out of the gate didn't work. Don't let that stop you from staying here though. That was probably just some minor glitch that just happened to us. Very impressed with the room at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for telling us how much you liked our large and clean rooms. All of our rooms come with a micro-fridge, flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi and many more amenities. My apologies for the malfunctioning parking lot pass and for the limited selections available on our continental breakfast. Please come back for another visit when you are returning to Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out, they care about you, Erica is very helpful and pleasant to be around along with the others, we will be goin back, we stay there 3 to 4 nights a week, I would recommend to anyone..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We are very happy to be your "home away from home" each week. Erica thanks you for noticing and appreciating her guest service. Yes, we are just across the street from the Greater Columbus Convention Center and within easy walking distance of almost thirty excellent restaurants. Hopefully, if you are here each week you can sample all of them! Check out one of our new Premium Rooms with food snack box, extra pillows and even larger flat screen TV. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Second year running I've stayed here for the Origins Game Fair. It's a 2 minute walk to the convention centre, free continental breakfast, free wifi (when it works - the 2nd floor isn't good in the rooms), and an airport shuttle most of the time.
All the staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. Special shout outs to Erica, Melinda, and Hayley for their attitude and helpfulness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room anywhere but the second floor if you want internet in the room. Otherwise, be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Your comments about your stay with us are very, very much appreciated. We are making some improvements to our Wi-Fi service that will increase both speed and reliability. Melinda, Erica and Haley are very happy to see you singled them out for their attention to customer service. Hope you enjoyed your room with hardwood flooring, flat panel TV, micro-fridge and coffee maker. Please come back for another visit ASAP, or at least for Origins next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel since 1999 for leisure and/or business. The updates that have been completed are great. They take pride in their establishment by maintaining the exterior , hallways, lobby and rooms. I will say that the best feature of this hotel is the staff! I visited Saturday June 14, 2014, Erica and Melinda made my check in very smooth. They were also very polite to my dogs who I always bring with me. I checked out Sunday, June 15, 2014 and Haley made the checkout very smooth. I will say that over the years, Haley has always been polite and has always provide great customer service. It is appreciated!

Room Tip: Be prepared to park across the street in a parking lot. It is very easier to access. There are res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and how much you appreciated the service given by Erica, Melinda and Haley. Hope you had a chance to use our free Wi-Fi and maybe try one of our new Premium Rooms. Please visit us again when you are returning to Columbus, OH. We love to see repeat guests. Especially ones like you who have been with us since the hotel opened in 1999. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This Red Roof Inn is a wonderful place to stay for vacation or business. Everytime I am here the overall stay is very satisfactory. The staff, from the housekeeping to the management, is so friendly and helpful. If you are internet savvy you can always get a good deal, too! This time around I wanna thank, Erica and Melinda for making my stay a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for being a repeat guest in our Red Roof PLUS+ hotel and for telling us how much you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to have you staying with us whenever you are traveling to Columbus. I hope you enjoyed your room with our hardwood/laminate flooring, flat screen TV and micro-fridge. Erica and Melinda will be especially happy to know you mentioned them for their excellent service. Please visit us again and try one of our Premium King or Premium Double-Double rooms with an even larger TV and snack box.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Columbus
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.