We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Grecia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Good location. Many nice restaurants in walking distance. Fresh coffee was always available. Wifi signal was weak. Shuttle service was limited. There were plenty of towels, soap and shampoo. I will use this hotel again and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about how much you enjoyed your stay. I am very pleased to tell you that our Wi-Fi equipment was upgraded during the first week of April. It is now very reliable and much quicker. Thanks also for commenting about our convenient location and the easy walk to many area restaurants, as well as the Greater Columbus Convention Center and Nationwide Arena. Our team looks forward to your return visit. You know you are always welcome, under our roof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    100
    28
    10
    16
See reviews for
29
42
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Red Roof Inn Downtown Columbus has very friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. We were greeted by wonderful frontdesk staff, especially Haley. She was efficient and knowledgeable. Our friend Tom, maintenance supervisor, checked on us and made sure we were comfortable.
Thanks to the great staff at the Red Roof, our trip to downtown Columbus was a nice one.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Happy St. Patty's Day! We are very glad you decided to to stay with us and visit our downtown area for St. Patrick's Day. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our hotel and our staff service. Both Haley & Tom are going to be pleased that you singled them out for their exceptional customer service. Please return to us whenever you need a hotel in Columbus. Thanks again, for your comments and for staying with us at the Red Roof Inn Columbus-Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this Red Roof Inn during the summer heat wave of 2012. We checked in when it was 106 outside and found the AC broken in our room; we informed the front desk who told us to let it run for two hours, and if it still wasn't working, she'd switch our room for us. We went to dinner, and two hours later, it was a super toasty 104 degrees in our room, but when we asked to be switched she told us that oops, they were out of rooms to switch us to. Instead, they offered us a box fan, which was beyond useless because the windows in the hotel room didn't even open, we'd have been better off sleeping outside in a tent. We asked to speak to a manager and was told none were available until the next day, where finally she was able to send maintenance up to fix the AC and told us it was something the front desk girls could have asked them to do all along, to compensate she gave us a coupon for free parking- a coupon that was expired.

Finally, on the day we were set to leave, we walked out to the parking lot to find the city of Columbus police department in the Red Roof Inn's parking lot, because overnight someone had smashed the windshields and side mirrors of ELEVEN cars in their parking lots, something their security "somehow missed" and their staff failed to inform any of their guests. We later complained to corporate and got our money back, but even free this was a pretty pathetic excuse for a hotel. I'd rather have paid full price for functioning AC, a hotel that provides shampoo and conditioner, oh, and not having to call AAA four hours from home and a $400 bill to replace my front passenger window and my stolen GPS.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience at our hotel last summer. Good or bad, we still like to hear from our guests about how we performed. In your case, not well at all. Please accept our apologies and know that our air-conditioning problems were all taken care of. Also, several security improvements were made in our parking lot. More lighting was added, new security cameras were installed and the patrol hours were extended by our security company. I am pleased to say that we have not had any vehicle break-ins in our parking lot since the unfortunate incident you experienced last year. Thank you for your comments. Again, I do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Typically we don't stay in Red Roofs however being a last minute trip only overnight we figured what the heck. For sure the nicest Red Roof I've ever been in. Newly renovated. Clean and very comfortable. Spacious rooms. The one thing that it lacked were the small touches. Very basic. A shampoo, kleenex was one of those small travel packs that you'd carry in your purse. Internet was free if you could log on at all or stay logged on without dropping out. Iron was intermittent. Very noisy shower that made noise the entire time I was in. Pretty sure it drove the sleeping neighbors crazy. Whatever...the shower worked and was clean. Good price. Breakfast was more a grab and go. Fruit and assorted wrapped muffins. Great location for us. Parking across the street is cheaper than using their valet. Lots of restaurants, walking distance from the convention center and Arena.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your comments about your recent stay with us are greatly appreciated. Nice to know you found everything clean & comfortable. We appreciate you noticing and mentioning our larger size rooms. My apologies for the internet service challenges that you experienced. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi package to address the issues that you mentioned. Our Wi-Fi improvements should be completed withing the next few weeks. Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again when you are returning to Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is in the new format of Red Roof Inn's with the Hardwood Floors, Upgraded Bedding and the Flat Screen TV. This is an interior room hotel in downtown next to some great places to eat and very close to the convention center. In the morning you have a continental breakfast that will most likely expose you to Ruby. Ruby has a great smile, very friendly and sincerely wants your experience to be the best possible.

This facility does not have onsite parking but is conveniently available across the street for a daily charge. Make sure to unload and get your key card to access the parking lot before going over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your good stay in our hotel. Nice to know you like the new room designs with flat panel TVs, hardwood floors, and micro-fridges in all of our rooms. Ruby will certainly appreciate your comments about her friendly continental breakfast services. Most of our guests do find us to be very conveniently located to the downtown scene. Stay here and walk to almost anything you need. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

There was a mix up with our booking. We had someone book it for us and they booked us for the wrong night. When we checked in, Jesse took great care of us! We would def recommend this hotel! Clean and great staff! Thanks for the pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. Glad that Jesse was able to make any necessary corrections to your resrevation to make sure everything was to your liking. When you are happy, we are happy! Please come back when you are visiting Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Jesse, in particular, was very helpful with getting us settled in, and making us feel welcomed. He was also very helpful regarding information and directions for some of the local attractions. I would stay here again. Conveniently located to the Convention Center also. Would have loved a pool, but I was there for business and not pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for telling us about your stay during the recent Arnold Sports Festival. Many of our guests do find us to be very conveniently located across from the Greater Columbus Convention Center. Just a short walk to the south entrance, where their Food Court is located. Jesse is going to be very appreciative of your comments about his excellent customer service. We hope you will be back to stay with us many times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Columbus
#22 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.