We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great employees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 140 hotels in Columbus
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Great employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel at an annual convention I attend for the 4th time. So happy to see Ruby still very hard at work maintaining the breakfast area. She keeps things completely stocked, clean, never even a spill to be found while smiling and wishing everyone good morning. The only thing to change about her over the years is her hairdo! Also JJ at the front desk is hard working and very pleasant. This is the perfect place to stay in downtown Columbus.

Room Tip: choose the super king
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your 4th annual stay with us for your conference. It is great that you recognize Ruby, taking such good care of our guests at our free continental breakfast. J.J. will also greatly appreciate you mentioning his customer service skills. All of us look forward to seeing you here for your next conference in Columbus. Happy Holidays to You & Yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    94
    26
    10
    14
See reviews for
26
36
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is average. The remodeled rooms make decor very nice but the bathtubs, upholstery and tile work are dingy. Amenities like toiletries are limited - remember to bring everything you need you will not find it here. Breakfast consists of packaged muffins and danish that are so so, plain bagels, some bananas/apples and coffee and orange juice. It's enough to get you on the road. However, Ruby takes great care of you at breakfast! The eating area is very well tended, she stocks depleting piles quickly, she clears tables and counters efficiently and she has a warm and welcoming smile and good morning for everyone who walks in! Great way to start the morning! thanks, Ruby! Keep smiling........................

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for giving us your comments about your recent stay. Ruby will be very happy to hear you enjoyed her services keeping our free continental breakfast stocked and supplied. Please come back and visit us again whenever you are staying in Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was in Columbus for business and spent two nights at the Red Roof Inn by the convention center. The hotel is very nice and clean with free WIFI and free continental breakfast in the morning. The breakfast consists of muffins, bagels, coffee and juice, simple but good. The rooms are big, clean and have new LCD TV’s. For the value, the Red Roof is a winner. The hotel also has a free airport shuttle, a taxi is $20.00+

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Your comments about our large rooms with flat panel TV's, continental breakfast and free airport shuttle are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for taking time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to come back for another visit as often as you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a red-roof that has been updated. Although the building is older, they have made some updates and it is a comfortable stay. For the money, this hotel has a great location and nice suite accommodations. We messed up our reservations that we placed on line. James was more than accommodating to us and fixed the problem right away.

Room Tip: The suite was nice for a family. We were able to shut the doors and let our loud snoring child slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It sounds like you found our suites to be very comfortable. James really appreciates your comments about his excellent service. We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for an OSU football weekend and was pleasantly surprised. They have a free airport shuttle which was great. (I understand they charge for parking.) The location in arena district was perfect for us. Close enough to the action, yet far enough away that it was quiet. Easy bus ride to OSU campus. Minimal breakfast but adequate-oatmeal, danish, bagels, coffee, juice. Stored our luggage for our early arrival and late leave. Very nice staff. Clean room. Really just right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Your comments about your recent football weekend stay with us are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our service and hotel. Glad you had a good time here in downtown Columbus. Please come back and stay as often as you like! We love having repeat guests. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked a superior king room through Expedia this past spring for the Columbus Marathon (as I was running the half). It was important to me to be able to walk to the start and the finish and the location and the price made the Red Roof Inn ideal. I was a bit nervous about staying at a Red Roof Inn since I joke to friends that a Red Roof Inn is as close to camping as I'll get, but I did my homework here on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try.

When I checked in, I was greeted by friendly faces who informed that breakfast would start early and checkout would be late because of the marathon. (Conversely, I have stayed in other cities at 4 star hotels and never been treated this well as a visiting runner. The desk attendants instead ask why there are all these people with sneakers in their lobby and categorically decline requests for even a slightly later checkout.)

The room was okay. The hardwood floor and modern furniture created a nice atmosphere. There was a slight moldy smell in the bathroom which didn't seem to be related to poor cleaning but instead the need for sealant/caulk to be applied around the tub. The wood veneer furniture was also showing some wear (water marks, rings, separation). The microwave and fridge were excellent to have on this trip and were very clean. The coffee tasted yucky, though.

Parking was a bit of a problem. Although the website says it is $10 because it's at a premium, it was sold out when I arrived and the parking fee was waived. I was instead advised to park in the convention center lot. This ended up being a lot more because of the special event rate for the race expo ($7) and then the hourly/daily rate started after it ended. It might be worthwhile for Red Roof Inn to negotiate with the parking lot operators for these type of situations.

I definitely would stay here again for the marathon and recommend it to others who are looking for convenience, friendliness and value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We certainly appreciate your very detailed review. Thank you very much for describing your visit with us for the Columbus Marathon. I hope you ran well and maybe even attained a new PB for your run. Let's do it again next year, if not before. We will be here and hope to see you back again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were partially hardwood flooring and were very clean. The hotel provided a free shuttle to and from the airport. James working at the desk was always helpful and in a good mood. He provided some excellent recommendations for restaurants withing walking distance. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay and how much you liked our hardwood floors. Good to know you took advantage of our free airport shuttle services between 8 AM & 6 PM daily. James is going to appreciate your compliments on his service and knowledge of the area restaurants. We hope you will return soon and often. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#31 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.