We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location, classy decor. Close to Lifestyle Pavillion & Riverwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 North Third Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover COSI
Ranked #40 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great downtown location, classy decor. Close to Lifestyle Pavillion & Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. They met all of our expectations and it is very clean. We were in town for a concert at Lifestyle Community Pavilion. We were able to walk to Riverwalk, get a nice dinner and walk to the concert, too. The next day, we got a nice breakfast sandwich at a deli outside the hotel. We brought the sandwiches to the lovely roof deck and enjoyed our coffee. Very relaxing. Also, the bar in the lobby has an awesome Chihuly glass chandelier. AWESOME touch.There was a gorgeous art and folk music festival on the streets outside all weekend. What a great city. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    165
    69
    33
    20
See reviews for
55
81
28
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Not a great experience. We are Marriott Rewards members and booked a King bed for a relative's wedding. We were given 2 queens...no big deal. Except it turns out the room was adjacent to the elevator shaft, or machinery, & every time someone used the elevator, it sounded like a semi truck was driving through the room.They moved us the next night in to a different room. In this room we could hear every word the people next door were saying. The coffee maker inlcudes only 1 cup of Regular and 1 cup of Decaf. Yes we could call down & wait for another packet to be delivered...kind of ruins the concept of a quick cup of coffee before heading out! This seems like an old hotel that has done extensive renovation, except it is still an old hotel. Not sure they did soundproofing. No microwave...the bathroom has been been nicely remodeled, but is still "very" small. We got a discounted rate because we came for the wedding but it still is very expensive for what you get. The all night ruckus our relatives suffered through is another story! The hotel did seem very clean, though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed here for a boy's weekend, to see the Blue Jackets and the Buckeyes. The hotel was fantastic. Close to everything we wanted to do. The Nationwide Arena was a few blocks away (10 min walk), and the Shoo was a 15 min drive. Hotel was beautiful, the rooms were excellent. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The valets were lightening fast. The beds were the best part of the stay. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, bar none. The only downside was that Columbus seems to be a financial town, so they seem to roll up the sidewalks at 5pm, and being there on a weekend, there was very little open right around the hotel. If you have a car though, there is a lot around within a very short drive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed for a Thursday and a Friday, we were so exhausted when we left, could not stay awake on Saturday! Several conventions, shouting in the hallways, smoking in the hallways, shouting at the pool. On the way in, the girl at the front desk messed up my bill so bad, I almost lost $100 in pre-paid Marriott Visa cards. Smallish bar in the lobby, poor quality food. OK room and fitness center. We have stayed there several times and never got near the rood top pool due the the convention trade. OK if you're a conventioneer, leisure traveler, forget it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed for Columbus GLBT Pride 2010. It was within walking distance of Short North and High Street (which I knew upon booking). We were upgraded to a suite on the 17th floor, which was great. Our friends rented one of the Terrace Suites by the rooftop pool (4th floor) which was the perfect spot. This hotel is very nice and comfortable with upscale furnishings in downtown Columbus. There may be other hotels in competition with this in downtown Columbus, but when it comes to wanting an outdoor pool in the summer (with great rates), this one will win nearly every time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I found that we couldn't send emails through the daily paid internet service. receiving emails from comcast server works but comcast won't authoriize the hotel's service provider. Calling Mertolt (or baxel technologies) make not attempt to correct this or even research it. They basically say, "use our email server". For business or government travelers requiring vpn -- your out of luck.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDocsGirl
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here for the weekend on a shopping trip to Easton which is about 15 minutes away.

Valet very friendly and helpful with directions. Check in was smooth, front desk polite as well as accommodating to our every need. Front desk did have a small line up at check out, only one poor guy there, but we have waited longer at other hotels. Room was basic, on the smaller side since it is a "downtown" hotel. Had small living area with desk and two tvs...both small and older. Room was perfectly clean. Furniture was comfy, bed very plush.

They have a great outdoor rooftop pool which looks very cool, but it was too cold out for us to use. Also have a fitness center with all new equipment. Lobby is all brand new, we did check out the menu at the restaurant, but didn't find it to be our "style". Ordered room service for breakfast and it was prompt, fresh and very good.

We love Marriott, so we'll be back for sure. High quality service at well located downtown Columbus hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Address: 50 North Third Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in over 400 luxurious Columbus hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling while enjoying stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from this hotel in Columbus, OH near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. Tantalize your palate at Latitude 41, a Dean James Max destination restaurant using local products and naturally-raised meats to create uniquely-simple dishes, or wind down with bar selections at the chic and vibrant Bar 41. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy a Columbus, OH hotel with tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.