We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go to the Renaissance again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 North Third Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover COSI
Ranked #40 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Wisconsin
1 review
“Would go to the Renaissance again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

I went here to go to the Origins convention. The vast majority of the staff were competent and friendly. The people at the check-in desk were polite and helpful, the maintenance people for the rooftop pool and hot tub made sure the hot tub was pleasantly hot, and even the security staff were kind.

However, the only exception was the cleaning staff. They knocked on the door early in the morning to clean the room. Frankly, I don't think I should have to put a do not disturb sign on the door to get a full night's sleep, but it's necessary at this hotel. Also, if they "skipped" over a room, they didn't clean it promptly (despite being given many hours during which to do so).

In general, though, I loved the hotel. The room was attractive and clean on arrival, and they gave away more free things than I ever saw a hotel give away before. There were free apples in the bowls next to the check-in desk each morning, oranges in a bowl in the fitness room, and free spring water (individual bottles and cooler) in the fitness room too.

Be sure to visit the roof hot tub. The pool tends to be more than a little chilly, but the hot tub's just right. Overall, this hotel's nice for anyone looking for a quiet, friendly place to get some rest - so long as you use the "do not disturb" sign.

  • Liked — The rooftop hot tub
  • Disliked — The cleaning staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    165
    69
    33
    20
See reviews for
55
81
28
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

When you are bopping across the country on a roadtrip with the family and you have been on the road for many days, weeks even, and each day is a significant run, and the car seems to be getting smaller and smaller with each run, well, if you are like me, you want to collapse in a nice caravansery at the end of the day's run and relax. Cannot always do that but when you can, it sure makes a difference.

All I can say, The Columbus is one heck of a caravan stop.

I have no complaints at all (ok, just one teeny one: wifi or broadband should by now be free in the room and elsewhere, but this is a trifle). We checked in around 5PM on a Friday in July when it seemed like half the nation of India were checking in for a weekend celebration, not to mention the 4 weddings that were going down that wkd. The parking attendant must have previously been a sailor on an aircraft carrier, so adept he was at 'spotting' the cars into the garage. Kind, intelligent, efficient, no worries. Check in went easily, despite numerous people all with different issues at the front desk. The room was spacious, two queen beds. The bathroom was just fine: many complain about this aspect of this hotel, to which I say, nuts. It was clean, neat, and just how many square feet do you really need to carry out one's ablutions and other needs? Lush towels, good water flow, absolutely no complaints. Had a couple of drinks in the lobby bar: the bar tender could well have been in the Navy as well, given the strength of his gin and tonics! And in the lobby, wifi is free. Just the thing this driver could appreciate after battling semis and nutcups on the interstate. The pool was divine, a bit shallow but the water was almost like a lake, very little tang of the usual pool chemicals, and large, perfect for doing laps or just fooling about and getting cooled off. The hotel is central to many restaurants and wonderful architecture and things to do; for example, it is barely a mile away from the Thurber House (James Thurber? remember your lit classes? The Night The Bed Fell In and other delights?). As I said, we were among a lot of folks with parents from the old country, their kids, and 4 different wedding parties, everyone pretty much excited and on edge in a good way: but no problem for this first class property. This is a hotel that can handle that sort of crush and do just fine. I don't see myself back in Columbus any time soon but if and when I am, I will definitely book here without a second thought.

  • Liked — Excellent example of this hotel chain, comfort and service are great
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislke
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Booked a room at The Columbus for 2 nights while at a wedding downtown. We were upgraded upon arrival to a jr. suite which was excellent (2 queen beds, sofa, club chair, lots of windows). It was a great guest room, modern accommodations. Very small bathroom (european like....bummer).

Parking is $25 per night. We parked across the street in a lot which was safe and well-lite. Still about $8-10 per night.

We did not visit the food and beverage outlets. Cheerleaders at a conference were staying at the hotel which was rather annoying (supposedly, this is the nicest hotel downtown other than the Hyatt Cap Square). The lobby bar was attractive, but the clientele was rather sketchy. The fitness center had water bottles which was a nice touch but the equipment was old. Very weird pool on the deck outside----no lounge chairs, etc.

Good hotel for restaurants in Short North district.

  • Liked — New guest rooms
  • Disliked — Clientele, groups
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

This property was the perfect location for a weekend of work and play in Columbus. It's close to Arena district and Short North for many dining and shopping options. Plus, there are a lot of bars around if you like to go out.

The rooms are very nice, updated but the bathroom is the strangest I've ever seen. Almost triangular in shape with a folding door that gets in the way of everythng. The shower has a glass wall that goes about 3/4 of the way across the length of the shower, so the floor gets wet. There's a mini fridge that was a nice amenity.

The place was swarming with teens from a volleyball ? tournament so it was very loud, even late at night. The noise from the hallway was so loud I was grateful when the people ended up leaving the next day.

Breakfast buffet was very good as was the service.

Don't pay $23 bucks to park. We parked about a block away on the weekend for $5 per day and had easy access to the car.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy hallways
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

I just stayed at The Columbus this past weekend.

The staff was very nice and attentive, from the front desk to the housekeepers to the valet.
I booked a junior suite, which was clean and although not the biggest junior suite, very comfortable.

The food in the bar and restaurant are worth the trip!
($8. for the best turkey club I've ever had! Great Value! I would have paid $8. for 1/2 of it, that's how good the food is, not "snotty" as a pervious reviewer stated)
I wish I could order room service everyday from this hotel, yum!

The bathroom is THE smallest bathroom I have ever seen or used in my life.
No counterspace, no floor space, very very cramped, AND they do not have any rooms with a bathtub, not even the largest suite!

I would stay here again, next time I'm in Columbus.
Not for the bathroom, but for the food and service!

  • Liked — Staff and Food
  • Disliked — Smallest bathrooms ever
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Wow- I wasn't expecting much when we pulled in but when I stepped inside my jaw dropped. A gorgeous lobby that has been designed with dark wood and contemporary furniture and carpet. Room was beautiful - big, comfortable bed with fluffy duvet. Awesome bathroom with modern stand-up shower and sink. Room included a nice refrigerator and was so clean. This is everything the Chicago Downtown Marriott should've been.
My only complaints are that we were really looking forward to hitting the pool and hot tub after a long, cold drive from Chicago and their pool and hot tub are OUTSIDE on the roof and only available in summer! That was a huge disappointment. The other one was the lack of any standard pub-type food in-house. The weather was awful so we stayed in for dinner. We thought the bar would offer more laid-back options but the menu was just as snotty as the snotty restaurant. The food was nice but hardly comforting or filling. I went upstairs to check out the in-room dining menu for a late snack and it was more of the same.

  • Liked — The interior decor
  • Disliked — OUTSIDE pool and hot tub were inaccessible for winter :(
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Review for the weekend of Feb 29- March 2. We were in town for the Arnold Classic Weekend and UFC events.

Hotel is nice in terms of looks, however the service in the bar/lounge area where a lot of people hung out to meet the fighters staying there, and body builders, ect was terrible on Friday and Saturday.

We ordered food off the casual menu and it took well over an hour to get. It was not very hot when it did finally come but it tasted fine. Whenever we ordered drinks that took forever as well, so many times we had to just go to the bar to order.

Then when it was time to cash out, our bills were wrong. We had a party of 8 at one point, they rang some stuff up at the bar, then gave some of us individual bills for drinks ect. It was a mess trying to figure out what was what, so we just paid it, but at the end of the day when we had time to look at everything it was wrong, and we were over charged.

The bartender on Friday made a comment that there was only one server and him. This is a pretty big lounge area, so it made sense why the service was terrible, but on a super busy weekend, why no staffing. This was the same on Saturday as well. As a business owner who does have to schedule my staff in accordance with busy and slow times, holiday times, ect, I couldn't believe there was no staff.

On Saturday I ordered a burger and fries. My friend and I split it and neither of us could eat our half a burger because it was soooo burnt tasting. It tasted like they scraped the burnt off the charcoal grill and put it on the burger. It was beyond awful and no amount of ketchup was going to fix it!!

So I went up to talk to the bartender where I had ordered it, (since I couldn't find a server) and he said he'd get me another one ....Not burnt!!!

So in a fast 5 minutes here comes a new burger- I open it up, and MORE BURNT then the first. So back up I go. I tell the bartender "I'm not trying to be a pain , but his is worse" He tells me "Well your gonna have to wait a minute." So over 5 minutes later, and him still ignoring me, while I'm standing there with my burnt burger watching him wait on people that just walk up, a manager comes over to do something behind the bar. He then asks, "is there something I can help you with?" At that point I tell him just to bring me a turkey club.

By that point I had really lost my appetite, and was not happy after the second day of terrible service. The turkey club was ok, and the fries were cold. It is amazing they wouldn't get the 2nd order right, and then the 3 order cold fries- Come on- how hard is it!!!

Our friends stayed at the newly opened Residence Inn by Marriott, right around the corner on Gay St. We met them over there for breakfast, and the people there, who were making no tips to help you, were great. Very accommodating and fast and friendly. Their room was great, with a full kitchen, new everything, and much cheaper then this hotel. I will book there next time. A nice room only goes so far, when the rest of the experience is so negative!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Address: 50 North Third Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in over 400 luxurious Columbus hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling while enjoying stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from this hotel in Columbus, OH near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. Tantalize your palate at Latitude 41, a Dean James Max destination restaurant using local products and naturally-raised meats to create uniquely-simple dishes, or wind down with bar selections at the chic and vibrant Bar 41. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy a Columbus, OH hotel with tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.