We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Suites to your Saves list
Cambria Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a new hotel. The room was clean. The queen beds were comfortable.
Those are two good things I can say. It is located in a very busy area with a mall and shopping centers so there are lots of places to eat. I guess that's a good thing too.

Now on to the NOT SO GOOD.....

THE ROOM IS VERY POORLY DESIGNED! Take a look at the photo I posted. See the huge vent right next to the bed? Who wants to sleep next to that noisy thing all night? VERY UNPLEASANT! God bless my husband for sleeping with that thing right next to his head all night.

We've stayed many times at hotels in the "Choice Hotels" chain. Almost all of them offer free breakfast. NO FREE BREAKFAST HERE! You could buy breakfast for $10 per person. No thanks.

The heating/cooling system does not let you choose "heat" or "cool" like most other hotels do. This had a thermostat like you would have at home. Only that didn't work so well in a hotel room setting. When the a/c would click off, it got very muggy in the room.

We stayed in a suite with two queens and a sofa sleeper. There were two TVs in the room: one in the main area with the two queen beds. The other was with the sofa in the sitting area. Just make sure if you have them both on, both are on the same channel. Otherwise you hear them both.

We are a family of five and so we often have two beds and a sofa sleeper. This was by far the most uncomfortable sofa sleeper ever. My daughter woke up extremely sore from sleeping in it.

As I said, we stay at Choice hotels quite often. We've earned enough points for a free night, and used it at this hotel. Apparently they "reward" their Choice Privileges members with lousy rooms. Please see the lovely view from our window in the photo I've included.

The lobby is swanky/upscale. It includes a bar and a Starbucks. So if that's your thing, this is a good place for you. Just request a room where the vent isn't right next to your pillow!!!

Room Tip: If you'd like a good night's sleep, ask to make sure that your room is one that does NOT hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    63
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
64
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Checked into "The Suites" and was greeted with a smile by the check-in person. I noticed right away the clean and modern furniture. Once in the room, I noticed the little things that will make me choose this hotel over the others: Wolfgang Puck Coffee and herbal teas, mini refrigerator that is not packed with booze and pops that they want you to purchase. You actually have a clean empty refrigerator to put your own items in! When I walked in the bathroom I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a bathtub, but quickly got over it and noticed that the housekeeping staff had made a beautiful flower out of the tissues!! C'mon that's GREAT, even though most men won't care,...I did. Then I opened up the sample hand cream and it was so refreshing. Loved the 2 flat screen tv's although I think a nice touch would be a laminated channels guide. Did not realize they had free HBO until the last day. I also appreciate the free newspaper offered at the front desk. Nice touch.

The hotel is a stone's throw away from the expressway, Polaris Shopping Center and many many great restaurants. Stay here!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the "ding" of the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

There was three in our party,my lil girl love the pool area couldn't get her out of it.room vary clean and cool,front desk staff vary nice,housekeeping are doing great on cleaning our room,we stay two days wish we could stay longer but I know we will be back,we like to saty to get away to chili out and this is the place to do just that.It is worth every last penny to saty here.Lots to do tones of store and nice place to eat.To any one looking for a Great place to stay these is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

When my husband and I were among the million people in Ohio without power in100F weather, we booked on line, but found out when we arrived that CambriaSuites lost power, too.Folks were on cellphones in the lobby, calling around to find a hotel in Columbus with electricity. It was pleasantly cool in the lobby, near the door so with some light. So I asked if there are rooms on the ground floor and we were taken to see one. The hallways were pitch dark but with a lantern we were fine. The suite was cool and faced the outdoor pool, shaded by trees so very private, with a window wall so there would be lots of light. We checked in although there would be no food or use of the pool because of the situation, and bought flashlights at the mall because the lantern was needed at the check in desk. Happy ending: about an hour after we returned from dinner I heard a slight sound. It had been completely quiet until then and I recognized the sound of electrical appliances, etc. The power had come back on. And in the morning the staff did all they could to have a varitety of hot and cold foods ready at breakfast time, the pool was ready and by the end of the day all was back to normal. Congratulations to the entire staff for doing the very best possible in an impossible situation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel was nice, rooms were nice and clean, lobby very modern, bar and bartender nice and attentive, great shower head in shower, clean bathroom with plenty of towels. Room was divided nicely with the beds ( we stayed in a 2 queen room) and 1 tv in a separate area from an area that was partitioned off with a nice lounge chair and sofa with another flat screen on the wall. The reception with some of the channels weren't real good in the bedroom area but we didn't really watch those channels, the other tv was fine. The walls were a little thin, heard the next rooms full conversation one night while in bed so had to turn up the tv louder. Staff was very nice and professional. Did not use the pool, but it looked nice along with the outdoor area. I have read some other reviews that stated that the entrance to the pool area was malfunctioning and has been for several months, that is a little disappointing to hear, I would think that Cambria Suites would want that fixed considering their "great reviews" on Trip Advisor, also what is the deal with the pool towels not being cleaned up for days, that is also disappointing!! Anyway, yes I would stay here again, another thing is there is alot of construction going on across from the hotel which takes away from the outdoor appearance of the hotel hopefully that will be finished when we visit again in August-Sept. My daughter will be attending Ohio Wesleyan so the visits may be frequent to the Polaris area.

Room Tip: I would suggest a higher floor, we stayed on the 4th floor. There are only 4 floors to this hotel, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our third time staying at this hotel since November of 2011. The hotel is in a fantastic location and it is very clean. A few things we noticed during this trip - some of the quality of the breakfast items (which you will pay for - $9.99 per person) has gone down. Used to be thick cut bacon and chicken and apple sausage, now it looks like the same greasy bacon and sausage patties you get for free at a Hampton or Holiday Inn. They have added an omelet station, and will make one for you on request. Also, the keycard swipe for the pool entry has been malfunctioning since our stay in November - it doesn't work, you have to call the front desk and wait for someone to come let you in (or bang on the door and hope someone gets out of the pool to let you in). This has been out of order since our stay in November - 7 months ago - and who knows how long before then. They really need to get this repaired or replaced.

One thing that has not changed is the service - front desk associates are always friendly, breakfast employees are courteous and helpful.

All things considered, we like the Cambria, and we will return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are NOT NOISY at all, unlike most hotels. We were a little hesitant when they gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Pros: great location
we had a king suite
room was clean
shower was really pretty neat
no charge for parking
lots of places to eat
a lot of things to do in the area
room rate was very good at aaa rate of$107
great exercise equipment
mattress was great
Cons: there were 5 flower pots by the pool no flowers just weeds
the access to the pool area was broken and you had to dial the front desk
used towels all over the outside patio from the day before
new construction going on next door
breakfast was $9.95/person

we would stay here again........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Suites

Address: 9100 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Columbus
#18 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cambria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Hotel Columbus
Cambria Suites Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.