We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lousy crowd control” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus/Polaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Columbus/Polaris to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8700 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, lousy crowd control”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here on a random Saturday night in February. The hotel is great - nice location and great amenities. However; when you're kept awake until 2:00 AM because of what sounded like wind sprints or bowling upstairs, that's not good. If I ended up in the same area on a weekend I'd likely stay at the Courtyard instead to avoid the conference/reception type crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel. There's not a view from front or back and back gets you a little parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy H, Director of Sales at Hilton Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear RFZMANN,
I am truly sorry that your stay with us was disappointing due to the noise outside your room. We do take your comments seriously and make every effort to control any activities in our hotel that might impact another guest's stay. I do hope you give us another opportunity should you return to the Columbus area.

Sincerely,
Nancy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    93
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
88
89
24
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My fiancee and I just stayed here yet again for our anniversary this year, and we keep coming back. It was actually last year that I proposed to her in the same hotel, so now there's a sentimental attachment to boot!

But for the actual property, the staff has always been absolutely wonderful from the front desk to housekeeping, to the restaurant crew, etc. What we love about it though, is while yes, it is across the way from the busy shopping center of Polaris, it still gives us a chance to feel like we can get out of the craziness of Columbus (we live on far East Side), without necessarily having to leave entirely.

The Gemini Grill is amazing. As a Gold Member you get a free breakfast at the Grill, which is lots to choose from beyond usual fare. Then if you happen to stay on a Sunday, the normal $21.95 Sunday Brunch gets marked down to $8 a person, but it's definitely worth it. Includes amazing waffles and omelettes made to order on the spot.

On our most recent stay, even though had prepurchased an executive level room in advance, they actually upgraded us to a parlor suite for free, which was a nice surprise. Not sure if this was due to Gold status or not, but wasn't complaining!

The rooms are quite quiet for the most part, and kept very clean.

Overall, would definitely recommend this property, and while I've never been, would certainly pick this over the Easton Hilton any day!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, definitely grab an exec level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I love THIS HILTON,, Well as you all may know..... I parked my car out front it was QUIET..
Its not a real busy place and that is fine with me cause I'm not into Noise..
I walked to the front desk I introduce my self and it was really quiet in this place..
Very clean and PRIVATE ...The Rooms are Huge the staff is Professional & IT'S QUIET..
They have a spa to die for I mean real HOLLYWOOD Style.... They have A very nice RESTAURANT(Gemini) AND EVERYTHING was PEACEFUL...oh and Quiet....when I visit Ohio I must stay here for sure defiantly for the PEACE & QUIET.....

Room Tip: King room is the way to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy H, Director of Sales at Hilton Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Pierre A,
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a great review on the Hilton Columbus/Polaris! I'm thrilled we were able to provide you with the peace & quite you were looking for during your stay. I will be happy to share your comments with the staff so that they know they are making a difference in our guest's experience. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Nancy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,Ohio
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed at this property before and find that they keep the property clean and comfortable. I checked in quickly as an Honors guest and was able to rest quietly without issue. I also like the property because there are things to do around the property (mall,fuel, food etc.). The other added benefit is that when I am ready to leave Columbus in the morning I am already outside the 270 belt and not fighting traffic. The property also has a nice restaurant, Bar and room service if needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel on business. The hotel is very welcoming. The beds are very comfortable with duvets. The rooms are modern. The heat/cooling system works well in the rooms. The shower has good water pressure and lots of hot water. There is a gym, pool and spa on site. The staff are excellent - efficient and friendly. The location couldn't be better - near a lot of great restaurants and shopping. They also offer a free shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at this property. The first two times, we stayed in a standard room. While the room was nice, there was not anything overly special about it. This time, we decided to splurge and reserve a King Executive Suite. We were very pleased with this room:

Pros:
~Large Suite with 1 full bath (with large soaking tub and secernate shower) and 1 half bath
~Wet bar with small fridge
~Large Shower with 'rainfall' showerhead
~Comfortable sofa and chair in living room area
~Comfortable bed, chaise lounge, and chair in bedroom
~Outstanding room service (we ordered room service three times during our stay....each one was excellent. The price were extremely reasonable
~Quiet
~Plenty of parking
~Lots of pillows and fluffy towels, plus a robe
~Very clean (no bed bugs)

Cons:
~The lampshades on some of the lamps were very worn (a couple with holes)
~We have noticed on some of our more recent stays that when we check out, we are not asked how are stay was. I find this peculiar, especially considering that we stayed two nights in one of the more expensive rooms, and we are HiltonHHonor members. Again, this is not the only hotel that failed to ask us how are stay was, but I find it disappointing when they fail to ask.

This is a very nice hotel, with lots of restaurants and shopping near by. Overall, we were extremely pleased with our stay in this room, and we will plan to be back!

Room Tip: Splurge for a King Exec. Suite. You will be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy H, Director of Sales at Hilton Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Chops1971,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the Hilton Columbus/Polaris! I personally want to thank you for your loyalty by choosing to stay with us versus other hotels in the area. I'm glad you enjoyed our Two Bay King Suite on our Executive level. I have shared your comments with all departments involved so that they can correct the two issues listed in your review. We do take your comments seriously and I hope you give us another opportunity should you return to the Columbus area. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Nancy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very Clean If in Ohio this is the place to stay........We have seen some of the other Hotels in the Area. This was the best !! Great location Plenty of places to shop and eat. Easy access to the Highway

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy H, Director of Sales at Hilton Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear MikeA,
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a great review of the Hilton Columbus/Polaris! We really appreciate your input and hope you choose us next time you visit Columbus, OH.

Sincerely,
Nancy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Columbus/Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus/Polaris

Address: 8700 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbus/Polaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the thriving Polaris Centers of Commerce, the AAA Four Diamond Hilton Columbus/Polaris hotel offers an elegant stay in an excellent location. Just off Interstate 71 and featuring a complimentary shuttle to and from Port Columbus International Airport (CMH), this Columbus, OH hotel is ideally located near transportation links. The shuttle is available 6:00am to 10:30pm Monday through Friday and 7:00am to 10:00pm on weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Columbus/Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus/Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus/Polaris Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus/Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.