We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice business hotel in Columbus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus/Polaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbus/Polaris to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8700 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice business hotel in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I had a king room on the 6th floor for 5 nights and was quite happy with it. The rooms size was just fine for me.
I like the exercise room and the hot tub. The exercise room had ellipticals and treadmills with TVs. There was a multigym and dumbbells. Everything was neat and clean.
I asked for firmer pillows my second night and they were delivered within 10 minutes. Breakfast does not start until 6:30 AM, but I had to leave by then each day, so I never ate breakfast there. I ate at the bar one night and the margarita, salad and shrimp and pasta were just fine. The location is great as there is a mall across the street, other restaurants are on the same street and it is close to the I-71.
My two places for improvement, a better shower head and a lap try for my laptop when I am sitting on the bed.
I am supposed to be back here and will stay at the Hilton again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    107
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
95
98
24
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've stayed here on a few occasions for business meetings, and every visit is just as great as the last. On my first say, there was a huge group of us spending several nights and we arrived pretty late on a Sunday evening. My one co-worker was booked at a different Hilton (the Garden Inn) by mistake, but the Garden Inn staff were great about it and canceled her reservation, despite the very late notice.

We went to the lounge something to eat and grab a drink or two. The bartender was excellent, and the truffle fries are a-mazing. Order them. Trust me.

Rooms are spacious, beds are really comfortable and the staff are top-notch. There's a safe in the room, a decent wifi connection and a nice desk/table setup if you need to get some work done in the room. Room service is also excellent!

On my second visit, I took advantage of the free executive breakfast and it was well-worth waking up for. The gym is also very new, clean and there's a water cooler there to help you stay hydrated.

Lastly, I must comment on their shuttle service. Fantastic. You can arrange a shuttle to the nearby Chase corporate offices (to-and-from) so there's really no need to rent a car. I also learned that they will pick you up from the airport. Tip them well, these drivers are great!

Only one small nit. I waited 20 minutes for a receipt from the using the printer in the office lounge, and left empty handed.

Good hotel and great service!

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here for two nights due to business meetings being held onsite at this hotel. Everything was perfect and I mean everything. The hotel catered our entire event, breakfast, and lunch two days and a formal dinner. The food was outstanding. Not your normal bland tasteless buffet set up, the food was really good. The dinner was amazing with top notch service.
My room (#405) was spotless and extremely comfortable. The wifi worked flawlessly and was included. I have stayed in many hotels for business and pleasure and for the overall experience this was the best.
The management of this hotel really should be proud of their entire staff, every little detail was taken care of from the room service, to the catering staff and even the shuttle ride back to the airport (also included), AWESOME JOB. I would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I was on fourth floor, elevators are isolated, so really no issues of choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhoward, Director of Sales at Hilton Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review on our hotel. We truly appreciate feedback from our hotel guests. We do take pride in the customer service we provide at our AAA Four Diamond Hotel. I will definitely share your comments with the entire hotel staff. They really enjoy hearing about what a great job they are doing and it is especially nice to hear this from a happy guests. We hope to see you again in your future travels back to Columbus, OH.

Sincerely,
Nancy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms are not spacious but they are fine. The staff was nice but there is no one helping with bags when you check in. There is lots of staff at registration but no where else. The concierge lounge is closed on the weekend. We were told we were getting a free breakfast but the lounge was closed and nothing was provided.
The restaurant is not worth the time. The food was spoiled and the staff was rude. I asked for a paper napkin and I was told to get it myself at the coffee bar. The next day, the grapefruit juice was spoiled and there were no muffins or bagels. We had to ask for one from the waiter who then didn't refill anything. A child we knew but not sitting with us dropped a plate. THREE of the wait staff stood by and watched his mother pick it up. They never offered to help. When I complained to the manager, he never said anything to the family. Terrible food and terrible service.
We were travling in a group with 25 kids plus family memebers. The staff wouldn't do anything special for us. Nice hotel but not worth the extra money for a special function.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhoward, Director of Sales at Hilton Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
First I would like to apologize for the miscommunication about Executive Lounge and complimentary breakfast. Our lounge is always closed on the weekend and we try to communicate this in several places on our website and our reservation call center. So I do apologize if you did not find this information prior to staying with us. Customer Service is a top priority with us and we are currently looking into the situations you have mentioned in this review. We will review this with our staff and provide additional training, if necessary, to ensure none of these issues occur in the future. We do value our weekend travelers and we continue to be a top choice hotel for many groups and families that come to Columbus, OH for the weekend. I do hope you give us another opportunity to provide accommodations and excellent customer service to you and your family in the future.

Sincerely,
Nancy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Polaris for 2 nights for a conference this weekend. The rooms and conference areas were great and had no complaints on the look of the exterior or interior (maybe it's newer?). There were a lot of kids using the pool area and I think this would be a great stop for any family traveling on I71. There is plenty to do around the hotel with numerous restaurants and stores. When we checked out and returned home we discovered we left clothes hanging in the closet. When we called the hotel they transfered us to Housekeeping where we got their voicemail. We called back again and they told us they would transfer us again. After some prying, the hotel took our name (customer service was lacking here), but the next day we called back and housekeeping had our items. Would we stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: If you're a Gold HH Member make sure you receive your complimentary breakfast vouchers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is what I would consider a benchmark for all hotels to try to mimic. The lobby has a beautiful fire feature and the staff was welcoming and efficient!

The room itself was spacious and had a functional layout and included interesting art.

The bathroom was amazing. The granite counter tops and tiled shower made me feel as though I was visiting a millionaire friend for the evening. The water pressure was almost too high, but after a long day of working in the military, it helped me relax.

There isn't much nearby in the way of breakfast, so enjoy what the hotel has to offer.

Top notch!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor on the back side of the building has a nice view of the fire features at the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for one quick night. Free hotel shuttle from the airport. Suburban hotel. That's shorthand for the rooms are huge, as are lobby and restaurant areas. Staff helpful and friendly. In short walking distance to a big mall. The hotel seemed fairly new. Great glass shower. Super clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Columbus/Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus/Polaris

Address: 8700 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Business Hotel in Columbus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbus/Polaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the thriving Polaris Centers of Commerce, the AAA Four Diamond Hilton Columbus/Polaris hotel offers an elegant stay in an excellent location. Just off Interstate 71 and featuring a complimentary shuttle to and from Port Columbus International Airport (CMH), this Columbus, OH hotel is ideally located near transportation links. The shuttle is available 6:00am to 10:30pm Monday through Friday and 7:00am to 10:00pm on weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Columbus/Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus/Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus/Polaris Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus/Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.