We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshness. Taste is very good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tensuke Market Sushi

Tensuke Market Sushi
1167 Old Henderson Rd, Columbus, OH 43220
614-326-2485
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,987 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $10 - $150
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Description: Tensuke sushi is located inside of Tensuke Market pick up only! Carry out, special orders, large group meeting's, groups of 10 to 1,000. Family Gathering orders. Made daily fresh on premises. Daily fresh fish, yellowtail, salmon, tuna, eel, shrimp, sushi trays, sushi bento, party tray, sushi roll, california rolls.
Powell, Ohio
2 reviews
“Freshness. Taste is very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Every sushi is excellent except ingredients was mixed with mayonnaise. I really liked the best Nigiri Sushi. It costs Just about
$20 per pkg if you buy already made one. I never had fresh one
at the counter.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“OMG, I love this place... and LOVE their carry-out sushi !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

First, I'm not Japanese. But my father lived in Tokyo for a year, and I truly love sushi.

I LOVE TENSUKE MARKET. Their carry-out sushi bar is really, really good, and it's inexpensive for the quantity and quality you get. Sometimes it's fun to take sushi home, or to the park, or the office.

You can get it made to order (takes 10-12 minutes, depending on how busy they are), or they have large refrigerated cases of common sushi selections that were made same-day (and usually sell out fast).

Tensuke Market is a nice Japanese grocery store. They have everything you might want to buy.

But go there for the sushi.

And we like their Express Market restaurant (attached) very much. Small, crowded, and like being back in Tokyo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great little Japanses market. They will make whatever kind of sushi or sashimi while you wait. The cafe is clean and generally very busy for lunch. You'll find fresh, sushi grade tuna in the grocery as well as a solid assortment of fresh vegetables. The eggs they carry are fresh and cheap as is the ginger. My step- mom is Japanese and found ingredients she wasn't able to find at the Japanese markets in Clevleand. This place is gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the local Japanese noodle shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you are looking for affordable casual Japanese check out this cafe in the back of the Japanese market a nice combo of udon noodle soup and Katsu or eel on rice. for under $10

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disapointed by the sushis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I went there because I read all the reviews about how you can find cheap and very good sushis at this place...

This market has a grocery section where you can also buy ready-made plates of meat (like chicken teriaky) and sushis, a counter where you can order sushis made fresh for you, and a restaurant section with tables and seats where you can order other plates of meats and soups (udon soups, dumplings and whatnot).

I went for the ready-made sushis in the fridge. The prices were not exceptionnaly low : 7,95$ for 4 eel sushis, 8,95$ for 8 makis with tuna, 4,95$ for a cream cheese-salmon-avocado small rolls.... And the quality is good but not more than average (i somehow didn't like the rice in the sushi, found it too hard).

Plus, when I paid, I asked for soya sauce and the cashier told me I could buy some for 0,10cents a small ketchup-packet-size a piece. I mean, COME ON... i just paid 30$ of sushis and you can't give me a soya sauce (generally free at any sushi place)? now that is pure greed.

On the other hand, everything seemed fresh, I think I would go back but this time to try the freshly made for you section. There are a lot of japanese customers, which must be a sign its good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tensuke Market Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Tensuke Market Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tensuke Market Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.