We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohio Theater

Ohio Theater
39 East State Street, Columbus, OH 43215
614-469-1045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 216 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Broadway shows are performed in this historic theater.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A very nice theater. Have been many times. Have attended since the 1960s. Always had an entertaining time. Mainly went for play productions

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    40
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Andrew Bird!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I saw Andrew Bird (http://www.andrewbird.net/home/) here in the spring of 2013. The surrounding area was beautiful for a pre-show walk and once you enter the theatre you feel as if you are taken back to before the multiplex era. The juxtaposition of classic theatre style with the modern concert was perfect, especially for a musician like Andrew Bird.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The theater was nice. It had a good choice of movies.It was not too crowded. Therefore, I was able to enjoy my evening watching the movie with my my family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a magnificent example of a historical theatre with all of the original decor. This is a must see if in Columbus, OH.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Summer movie series is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful 100+ year old theatre, a guy playing an organ that sinks into the floor when the movie starts, fantastic staff, nice selection of classic films, a crowd that appreciates the venue and respects those around them and $4 tickets? What more could you ask for? The only way it could be better would be if it were in Cincinnati and I didn't have to drive so far. THANK YOU to the corporate sponsors for making the summer movie series possible.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohio Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohio Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.