We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool - bad food - order pizza to be delivered” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4560 Hilton Corporate Drive, I-70 at Hamilton Road exit 107, Columbus, OH 43232-4180 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Great Pool - bad food - order pizza to be delivered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I brought the grandkids ages 10, 7 and 2 to the pool over the weekend. Had a great time at the pool. I saw several comments about the water temperature being too cold, but thought it was fine. The restaurant at the pool was horrible. Had to wait in line 45 minutes. There were only a few people working at the restaurant and couldn't possibly take care of the volume of people that the pool attracts. They ran out of footlongs at 1:00 and at 4:00 ran out of pizza. Ended up ordering pizza from Pizza Hut.
Also, the front desk couldn't check anyone in before 4:00 so we had to wait in line for 45 minutes. Horrible managed front desk, they could have checked in people early.

Room Tip: great pool - order pizza to be delivered
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    16
    20
    41
See reviews for
69
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Sooo....I purchased the Groupon before checking TripAdvisor. I will NEVER do that again!! Unlike most we did not have a problem checking in and yes there is a ridiculous resort fee which I was told covered the cleaning of the room!! Other than that we got right into our room and promptly hit the water park. Once in the park you can barely walk anywhere let along find a table for your stuff. 8 of us shared 1 chair for towels, bags, drinks etc. Then if you are lucky you might get to ride 1 slide that is if you are able to find a tube! The room was OK but the toilet became clogged and we called at 9:00 pm to get it taken care of. After repeated phone calls I gave up at 2am and went to bed. The food at the breakfast buffet was HORRIBLE!!! Not 1 healthy option and it was all dried out and gross. Definitely not worth the price. The service was OK but there were only 3 ladies taking care of the entire restaurant. I assume to save on labor costs so they were literally running to handle everything. Save yourself money and sanity and go somewhere else!!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Center, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

For the price I expected more. Not to mention the additional 40$ charge when you check in? While the room we stayed in was decent, there were some things we had to call the front desk about. The light above our table was burnt out, the remote for the TV was missing, the lack of towels and bedding for the pull out bed. The long cold walk to the waterpark itself was less than thrilling. The floors felt like you were walking on ice. The lockerrooms were freezing. The water on the lazy river and slides side were acceptable but the kids pool and play area was very very cold. Our kids along with others walked around with purple mouths, teeth chattering. I didnt find the cholrine smell to be bothersome though as others had mentioned. The lifeguards always looked like they were on point, very observant. The arcade was ok, seem to be more casino type games instead of actual arcade games. We ordered a pizza from the bar, was told it would be about 30 minutes and it ended up being 1 1/2 hour. The bartender was friendly and he was helpful, but definately needed help. One person was standing there on her phone and the other was doing dishes, while people were waiting. The buffett was great lots and lots to choose from. While the concept of the resort is good and has potential, customer service and organization needs a make over.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortRapids, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We do our best to ensure that every guest room is adequately stocked and functioning, however occasionally things may be askew. We apologize that this caused any inconvenience for your family. Our Waterpark is only approximately 100 feet from the time you step off the elevators. We do appreciate your candor regarding the arcade, and we do our best to feature styles of games that appeal to everyone. We have ticket & entertainment based games throughout our 5,000 sq ft arcade. We are always looking for ways to improve our structure and service, and truly thank you for your feedback as it allows us to continue to thrive!

Warm Regards,

Skyler Young
Guest Relations Manager
614-868-1380 Ext. 6013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good but could be better Watch out for new "resort fees" charged when you arrive! $30 minimum per day! If you bought a groupon last year, it should only be $7.50 a day. Check your bill! Not the friendliest staff. The lifeguards were good but Definitely need more up with the slides. One person yelling for all the slides. Need red & green lights at slide and more lifeguards for safety to actually have contact with the guests. They need more towels & tubes. You have to search for one when it is busy and some are very deflated. The hotel could use some upgrades. The rooms do not have a thermostat so the heater runs and shuts off a lot. Being there the coldest weekend, it seemed chilly and you could feel the cold on the floor & wall. We did not eat there because the prices seemed high. The water park was good and the chlorine was not overwhelming. Hope they improve the quality overall.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortRapids, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. You are correct, there is a minimum $30 resort fee applied to all reservations, and that is higher than last year's resort fee of $7.50. With rising costs, this increase is necessary. Our Lifeguards function only for safety in the Waterpark, not guest interaction. We do have numerous Front Desk associates who are always readily available to assist in any way possible and with all questions. During our busy times, there may be a slight wait for tubes and towels, just like you may wait in line for a roller coaster at a theme park. We do our best to keep the wait times to a minimum, and we ask that you be understanding while we strive to meet and exceed the needs of all of our guests. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope to hear from you soon!

Warm Regards,

Skyler Young
Guest Relations Manager
614-868-1380 Ext. 6013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The waterpark was freezing !! My kids where blue ,half of the stuff was shut down , there were no towels available, it was dirty, The staff was rude it was a waste of money and time when asked to talk to the manager they blow you off. Don't go there

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortRapids, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do apologize if you felt that the Water temperature was not to your satisfaction. It always stays between 80 and 84 degrees. Occasionally, sections of the Waterpark may be closed temporarily due to safety concerns involving other patrons of the Waterpark. We apologize if this caused any inconvenience for you, however it is required to keep all of our patrons and staff safe. Again, we truly appreciate your review and thank you for your business.

Warm Regards,

Skyler Young
Guest Relations Manager
614-868-1380 Ext. 6013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot in good conscience recommend anyone stay here. Maybe if you were just doing a day pass for the waterpark it would be OK, but otherwise, steer clear.
The incompetence demonstrated by Fort Rapids began when we first tried to reserve rooms there and continued unabated right up through checkout. Calling the desk to book, they could not describe the rooms or understand what we were talking about when referencing the names on the website. They also could not give pricing for anything without going through the entire registration process and giving the full price, then canceling the reservation and starting over to compare. It was tedious and bewildering in a way that no modern hotel or resort booking should be. They could not book our party two adjoining rooms, even months in advance. Upon arrival we faced long lines and similarly clueless staff. They could not seem to handle the fact that the two rooms were booked by one person and yet we were checking in as two parties on two different credit cards. Again, this seems like common practice in the industry today.
The rooms themselves are a bit tired, but serviceable. The towel bar was broken, the shower wouldn’t drain right, the faucets leak, and the heater (which sounded like a small jet plane) cycled on and off for 30 seconds at a time. Other things just seem silly, like there is only one tiny trash can in the whole room (in the bathroom) which we filled up pretty quickly as a family of four with one child in diapers. You only get 3 small, rough towels and cheap paper products. There is no alarm clock in the room, and an old fashioned tube television with a basic allotment of channels. Wifi didn’t work properly for anyone in my party either, so we surfed the internet on our cell phones.
My biggest issue though has to be on the service side. In my opinion, the place appears grossly understaffed. There is a crust of older, grouchy staff who seem to have given up caring, surrounded by a larger force of friendlier, but overwhelmed high-school and college aged workers. They seem to try to keep the place running as best they can, but are set up for failure. The cleaning crew is so Spartan that they did not make it to the 11th floor until 7 PM our first day and not at all on the second day. So no towels and no trash removal, meaning it was piling up in the hallways. The bar / restaurant usually had only one server in it, and two were the most I ever saw. Several times over our 3 day stay we waited 20-40 minutes just trying to get service before either giving up or rudely pouncing the one poor server so our children wouldn’t starve. The gift shop has a very basic stock of snacks and drinks, which we were forced to resort to since we could not get served in the bar and grill. But the shop was also usually only staffed by one or two people, split between specific cash or credit registers. It seemed like many items had no prices listed and certain staff could only do credit or cash but not both. All of it simply led to vexingly slow service at every turn. It doesn’t help that there is no escape, as the compound is located in an industrial park with no other attractions or restaurants to be found for miles.
The arcade is decent, and the waterpark itself is actually pretty exciting, when its open. There are many activities and different areas of the waterpark for kids and adults of all ages. Its fairly warm in the park, though the water was a bit chillier than I expected. Unfortunately you have to walk a half mile through a freezing cold hallway with a stone floor to get from the main hotel to the park (or worse, to get _back_ to your room soaking wet!) They supposedly have some complimentary towels there, but I never saw any in stock. So bring your own or suffer the consequences. The first day we were there they had to shut down half the waterpark because someone gashed their leg open and contaminated that whole area. Good on them for closing it down and making it safe, though. On the last day however, they closed the waterpark early for a private event. I could probably deal with that if they had bothered to tell anyone about it in advance. Instead they offered discounted deals to everyone in the place to stay an extra night (Sunday) into Monday, and then closed down the waterpark at 6 PM instead of 10. We got our kids (6 and 2) all geared up and made the frigid trek to the park for their last night of fun, only to be turned away at the door by an 18 year old who had no information or answers for the small mob of angry guests.
For added fun they periodically invalidated our room keys. So we’d tromp back up to the room soaking wet and risking hypothermia only to find the room was barred to us. Then back down to the lobby to stand in a huge line only to have some staffer snort at me and say “it does that every day” like it was my fault. Between our room and my brother’s room we had to venture down 3 times due to key lockouts.
To top it off, their computer system was down at checkout time, creating a backlog of guests who could not check in or get their invalidated keys refreshed. Then they couldn’t charge my credit card or properly check me out. Instead they charged the whole package to the original card used to hold the rooms, rather than the one we provided at check-in.
Overall it was an expensive and decidedly lackluster experience. The kids will remember the fun waterpark, but all my wife and I will remember is the endless hassles.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortRapids, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We do apologize for the slow service regarding your room reservations. There may, at times, be some associates that are in training, and we make every effort to ensure that they have all proper knowledge. If at any point you feel as if you need to speak with a Supervisor or Manager, please ask to do so and we would be happy to put a specialist on the line. During the busy Winter months, the service may be slightly longer than expected. We apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your stay. We have both seasoned veterans and newer staff that make up our workforce, and we appreciate you taking note of this fact. Our room keys are magnetic, so any invalidation results from the keys being placed close to other electronic objects, or credit cards with a magnetic strip. If you wish to discuss the details of your stay more in depth, please feel free to contact myself, or any member of management.

Warm Regards,

Skyler Young
Guest Relations Manager
614-868-1380 Ext. 6013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't believe all the bad press! I had read all of the TripAdvisor reviews and was prepared for the worst when we were heading to Fort Rapids on 1/31. We had the suite with the loft bedroom, purchased on Groupon, so the value was right, even if the hotel was not stellar....but I was BLOWN AWAY by how great it was!
We arrived right at 10:00 and were actually able to check in early. We ate lunch in our nicely equipped room with microwave and headed to the waterpark. It was perfect for kids ages 2 and 5. They were more than happy with the lazy river and kid pools. If kids are teenagers, maybe they would get bored, but any kid under 12 would be happy with it. There was no issue with "chlorine gas" as others have stated. There were so many lifeguards, and they were really paying attention! They slide guards and even the kiddie pool guards were on top of everyone in their area. I was very impressed.
We ate dinner off of the hotel property since the buffet was pricey and we wouldn't eat that much. We returned in the evening for more play and were happy to see there were games and activities for older kids. Our dryer did work, so our suits were ready to go. It also was not too loud at night, no kids running in the hallways, no rowdy parents. The breakfast buffet was modest, but cheap, so can't complain. The whole stay was just perfect. I would definitely come here again while my kids are young.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortRapids, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback! It is great to hear that you had the opportunity to obtain such a great deal on groupon for one of our luxurious Bryce Canyon Villa Suites. While you didn't try our Buffet, I encourage you to give it a try the next time you stay with us! We sure hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Skyler Young
Guest Relations Manager
614-868-1380 Ext. 6013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 4560 Hilton Corporate Drive, I-70 at Hamilton Road exit 107, Columbus, OH 43232-4180 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Hotel Columbus
Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Rapids Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.