We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4270 Sawyer Road, Columbus, OH 43219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs renovating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is mos def outdated.this is not like any of the comfort suites i have stayed in.the room smelled like mildew really bad.they switched me into another room.just needs a lot of major upgrades.i wont be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
11
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

You get what you expect at a place like this. To begin with, there's no elevator. Given that my room was on the second floor and I had several bags, this is just an annoyance. The room was small, but comfortable, and the bed was very comfortable. There was a light on a tall pole just outside my window. Because the opaque drapes don't close, I couldn't block it out. It was bearable, but not great.

Along with no elevator, there's no restaurant. So other than the complementary breakfast, you need to find your own food. As a business traveler, I frequently just want a quiet dinner by myself without having to go anywhere. I managed with delivered Chinese food.

Finally, although I was there for two nights, I had no maid service. I expect this was an oversight, but it speaks to the quality of the service, overall.

Overall, if you're heading to Columbus for a quick visit, and willing to stay near the airport (the noise wasn't at all bad), this is decent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is super close to the airport with a free 24 hour shuttle. Rooms are nice and comfortable but a tad overpriced in my opinion. I guess I paid for the convenient location. Would stay again if I could get lower room rate but this was all very last minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here one night after flying into the Columbus airport. It is really close to the airport and I could occasionally here planes land and take off, but it was surprisingly quiet. The rooms were very clean and new, but my room showed quite a bit of wear and tear. There were a couple tiles in the bathroom that were completely loose.

The breakfast was fully stocked but the food was very average and everything appear to be made in a factory, like the eggs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Needed to come up from Columbus to catch a 6:00 am flight. The hotel is right by the airport, has an efficient shuttle (was there in five minutes). The room was basic but clean.

Breakfast was served too late, and the promised "take away" bag did not materialize, but I was happy with the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had a meeting at this hotel so it was the one that was arranged for me. My flight arrived at 11:30am and I noticed by checking the website the hotel doesn't have check-in until 4pm. I ate lunch at the airport and then called to see about an early check-in. Jake answered the phone and looked up my reservation and saw that I could check-in when I arrived so he sent the shuttle over. After taking a few minutes to locate the shuttle parking, the shuttle was there and waiting. The hotel is walking distance from the terminal but it was raining so I took the shuttle anyway. Jake checked me in and I was all set and it was not even 1pm yet.

The property isn't brand new. My room showed signs of wear and tear. The was a large crack in the window along with some spots on the carpet and some caulking coming undone on the walls. I also believe there was an ant trap underneath the bathroom sink. I did not investigate. Another reviewer said the rooms were dark. They are. There are plenty of lamps but most are far from the entry light that is pretty dim itself. The bed creaked when I was unpacking but over night it didn't seem to bother me. The shower wouldn't stay hot. I had to constantly continue turning the dial but at the same time hoping the heater wouldn't kick in and scald me. It didn't, but the water, unfortunately, continued to cool.

The rooms aren't very soundproof but because the planes don't usually depart or arrive overnight, there was no problem being at an airport hotel. You could hear people walking down the halls and children. I was so tired that night so I slept too well to notice any problems.

Breakfast was not as good as some of the Choice Hotels I've been to. It was not replenished so there were some items missing. For a quick bite, it was great. The hotel did boast two different kinds of waffle mixes, original and spiced. Because I was flying after one night, I decided not to be adventurous, but I thought it was a good innovation above the usual waffle mix that frequents the Choice Hotel brands.

Service was great. I felt cared for by the staff. When I came down to the lobby to print my boarding passes, Jake asked me if everything was okay in my suite and if I needed anything. The folks behind the desk were always willing to help, especially recommending a restaurant close by other than McDonalds. They recommend the restaurant in the Hilton right across the street. A great recommendation too.

Overall, it was good for a night. For a vacation, I would pick somewhere a bit better and perhaps off airport property. The property needs a little touch up, but the staff are great.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the parking lot. Even numbered rooms face the north runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Bragg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

- unkept entry/lobby; dimly lit, dirty hallways.
- dirty carpet in room (pic attached).
- mildew smell from A/C.
- old scratched/nicked furniture (pic attached).
- dusty/dirty surfaces in room.
- dimly lit bathroom (had to move a lamp into bath to get adequate light).
- broken toilet seat cover.
- stained upholstery and bed cover.
- found a spider running up the wall in the room at the desk work area.
- room key card did not open the doors at the end of the hotel or at the back (only access is thru the front door; each staff member had a different story as to why the key card didn't work).
- no elevator in the building; stay away from the second floor if you can't carry luggage up the stairs.
-pile of wires/cords shoved under work desk (pic attached).
- very limited breakfast items.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport

Address: 4270 Sawyer Road, Columbus, OH 43219
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport Hotel Columbus
Comfort Suites Columbus
Columbus Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Airport Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.