We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbiana Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbiana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbiana Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Columbiana Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
109 North Main Street, Columbiana, OH 44408   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbiana B&B and Inns
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“just visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had a chance to visit the inn during springtime in Columbiana over the weekend. It is so charming and beautiful. I would reccommend the inn to anyone wanting a weekend get away. the inn would be so relaxing and enjoyable. There is alot to do in the town of Columbiana and you can walk to so many things. There is a Tea Garden next door that has excellent snacks and tea and you can sit in the flower gardens and enjoy the day!

Room Tip: the room on the top floor is off on its on and very beautiful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Phila, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We decided on a spur-of-the-moment, 24 hour getaway for some much needed R&R, and were blessed enough to stumble onto The Columbiana Inn. What wonderful serendipity! The Inn is chock full of the most interesting items and decor, with each telling an intriguing story about the Inn and the Innkeepers' history and love of all things re-purposed. Every detail added the perfect touch to this exemplary B & B. The hosts, Susie and Paul, were very warm and welcoming, and made sure that every possible need was anticipated and provided for. The suites each have their own unique character, making it difficult to choose among them, but my husband fell in love with the third floor Loren Wilson Loft with its three dormer windows and quirky mini-bar. Enchanting "Susie Art" was everywhere, and added so much to the decor! We made a great choice, as this 'nest' became our haven. Our only regret is that we only had one night to spare! Breakfast was sumptuous, and everything was too delicious too resist. Quaint antique shops and great places to dine within walking distance added to the charm.
We WILL be back! Lovely, simply lovely...

Room Tip: All three suites are spectacular - we stayed in the Loren Wilson Loft on the third floor, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Township,OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We recently stayed with Susie and Paul to avoid the remodeling being done on our own home just 5 miles away. It was lovely. We stayed in the Loren Wilson loft, and it was truly our home away from home from Monday evening until Saturday morning. Several times I looked around the loft and wished that I had lived somewhere even half this convenient and attractive years ago when I lived in an apartment as a young, single schoolteacher. Each evening we talked about choices for breakfast the next day, and not one single item disappointed us. I particularly loved the baked oatmeal and the yogurt parfaits, while my husband raved over the hash brown casserole with sausage, and the pepperoni pie. The loft is perfect for a longer stay like we experienced, but would be equally great for a night or two. We chose it because it was truly an apartment, not just a room. But the other two suites also have lots of room, and are very attractive. Thanks so much Susie and Paul!

Room Tip: The loft is truly a complete apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The City of Columbiana, Ohio has one more landmark to make it noteworthy, the Columbiana Inn Bed & Breakfast. Paul and Susie Bissell have created a unique experience to those traveling in this Mid-East part of Ohio. The Inn has a very "homey" feel and the renovations done by Paul and Susie are spectacular. A large front porch that looks on to Main Street, reminds you of simpler times. It is a short walk to all the shops of downtown Columbiana, which is known for it's antiques and crafts. We were there right after Thanksgiving and the entire town was decorated for the Holidays. Breakfast was great around the dining room table, every thing was "homemade" down to the home fries that Paul is famous for. Our granddaughter, who is four, traveled with us and she loved the egg and bacon casserole. When she was finished eating, Susie Bissell took her into the living room and read books to her while we chatted with the other guests at the Inn. We look forward to returning and highly recommend the Inn to those traveling in the area!

Room Tip: Check out the website of the Inn for pictures of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rush, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Columbiana Inn blends graceful surroundings with top-notch care by Inn Keepers Susie and Paul Bissell. They cheerfully accommodated our request for coffee to go by 7AM and even packed us food. Their attention to detail is beyond description. From the individualized, handmade welcome card to the tray of snacks for late night munching—it was all thoughtful. The Inn sits on Main Street in a small town with moderate traffic. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the front porch while watching the passing cars—many of which were “classic”. Our suite was lovely and perfect for both sleeping and relaxing. Our only regret is that our schedule prevented us from enjoying a leisurely breakfast at the dining room table. If our breakfast picnic is any indication, we missed quite a treat.

Room Tip: If traffic keeps you up, ask for a suite in the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east northport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I can't come up with enough superlatives about this place and its hosts. Longfellow once wrote this about an inn: " The atmosphere breathes rest and comfort and the many chambers seem full of welcomes." Did he stay at the Columbiana Inn? This lovely restored turn of the century Victorian house with its roomy, tastefully furnished chambers and and its beautifully human hosts is the best place we've ever stayed at. The Columbiana is a testament to the hard work and dedication of its owners, Susie and Paul.. They pay attention to detail--the right details--and are full of heart and soul. And they also make a fine breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Whenever possible, we prefer to stay at a bed and breakfast over a hotel, because it gives us an opportunity to meet interesting people and learn about the area we're visiting. We were very lucky to discover the Columbiana Inn, set on Main Street in a friendly, walkable community with interesting shops and attractions nearby.

Traveling with our two sons to visit relatives, we were looking for accommodations suitable for the four of us, and the inn's Sylvia Stern Suite fit the bill nicely. It includes a lovely bedroom connected to a larger area with a unique Murphy bed (which Paul and Susie, the owners, designed and built by hand) and a kitchenette with sink, mini fridge, and microwave. The bath has a spacious shower.

We had a warm welcome from the minute we arrived. Having been delayed on the road, we got to the inn late in the evening -- much later than we had anticipated -- and Paul came out to the parking spot behind the inn to greet us and lead us in. Susie had prepared a wicker tray with assorted snacks, water and sodas, and everything we needed for coffee, tea, or hot chocolate. Tucked among the treats was a tiny, handwritten card welcoming us to the Columbiana Inn.

Paul and Susie have completely renovated the interior of the century-old home, and everything is exquisite, from the original leaded-glass windows to the cozy upstairs alcove for reading or relaxing. The décor blends both modern and period styles elegantly. There are touches of beauty everywhere: we found a small vase of fresh flowers in the bathroom.

Before we settled in, the couple took us up to the suite on the third floor to show us another suite, which has a king bed and two inviting window seats. I'd love to stay there when we're traveling without our kids.

After a great night's sleep, we headed down for breakfast to find at each place a yummy yogurt parfait garnished with fresh fruit and a fresh mint leaf. The coffee was excellent, and we had a choice of regular or flavored creams. The first morning's breakfast also included a choice of juice (orange or blueberry/pomegranate), smoked ham and bacon, fresh cantaloupe and watermelon, and french toast casserole. The second morning, we feasted on smoked ham and bacon, scrambled eggs, pineapple and strawberries, and mini muffins (strawberry with a filling of strawberry preserves and banana with cream cheese filling).

Everything was delicious, and it was literally local flavor. I learned from Susie and Paul that they buy local products whenever possible. The fresh eggs, ham and bacon, watermelon and cantaloupe all came from local farms, and they were delicious. Ordinarily we don't eat a lot of bacon or ham, but the smoked meats were so tasty that I asked for the name of the farm they came from, and we hope to stock up when we're in Columbiana on a future visit.

Paul and Susie are interesting people, so we had a great time chatting with them as they cooked -- and we ate! -- and even got to meet their next-door neighbor when he popped in for a visit. On the second morning, we had a pleasant chat with a couple from Pittsburgh who had come on the spur of the moment for a couple's getaway. And when my son and I sat on the front porch one morning, we were greeted cheerily by everyone who walked by.

The entire experience was a delight. My husband and I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts, but on the way home, we decided that the Columbiana Inn is one of our two favorites. We're looking forward to staying there again and to exploring more of Columbiana, Ohio.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbiana Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbiana Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 109 North Main Street, Columbiana, OH 44408
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbiana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbiana
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Columbiana Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbiana Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.