We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Get Away September 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center to your Saves list
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5201 Lodge Road, College Corner, OH 45003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crown Point
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Labor Day Get Away September 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Last year we visited Hueston Woods Lodge and had such a wonderful time we decided to go back there this year.
We went for Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. It was just the same. Old and rustic but clean and very hospitable.
Dinner and breakfast in the dining room was very good. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and it was delicious. The gal making and serving the pancakes was a sweetie.
They experienced a drought in Southern Indiana this Summer but it was cloudy and rained some during our visit. But the weather was perfect for us. We are from the Northern part of the state and it has been so very hot we loved the cool 78 degree temps and the rain was lovely and only on and off.
I would have given my review five stars but unfortunately we requested a handicapped room and not on the first floor...basement. So they gave us one on the third floor far away from the elevator and quite a trudge for my husband to make.
Also they had no signs pointing the way to the elevator when we entered the second floor so we had to try this way and that until we found an elevator.
Sorry to complain because we did have a great time and will surely go again!

Room Tip: If you are handicapped make sure your room is accessible! Please put up some elevator this way sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
71
49
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Miami of Ohio parents know that it can be practically impossible to get a hotel room in Oxford, as there often are just not enough hotels to match demand. But Hueston Woods does NOT keep a waiting list like the other hotels, and so if you keep checking a couple of times a day, you very likely will catch an open room, just about 8 minutes from all the action on campus. That is amazing news, trust me.
The hotel is in the middle of a state park and is operated by the parks department. Starbucks is in the lobby, overlooking the pool and beautiful lake. The bartender does an excellent job on cocktails, and the dining room is charming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is important to understand that this place was built in 1967, and while there have been some updates since, it is for the most part, a time capsule. If you prefer the cookie cutter, shiny new hotels (built to be demolished in 15 years when they start to fall apart), then this is not the place for you. We, however, loved our stay and appreciate how rare a place like this is now-a-days. In the '50s & '60s, things were built with character and vibe and this place still has it. There definitely could be some paint touch-ups, new carpet and restoration here & there, but OUR ROOM WAS CLEAN. It would be a shame if this place were remodeled or "updated" with the same crappy designs (from the big box stores) that you see everywhere; not to mention, these "new" designs too would just be outdated in 7 years. I would hope any fix-ups they do remain true to the aesthetic of its original design. Our stay was very relaxing, our room was clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. A must visit for all Ohioans who like places off the beaten path.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Went to the hotel as a lunch destination after hiking and horseback riding. I was impressed by the all wooden structure and the lofty ceilings of the lobby. The turkey club sandwich I ate for lunch was well portioned and inexpensive. Very friendly and speedy service was given by the helpful staff. The hotel was very quiet for being a Saturday afternoon on a bright sunny day. The lodge also had an abundance of conference rooms ranging in various sizes. Overall was peacefull and is a great stay for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August of this year, in fact we are there right now. It appears that some of the complaints about this place come from people with very high expectations. Come on people, it's a lodge with some age to it.
I love this place. It is rustic and beautiful. We have been all over checking it out and there is little for us to complain about.
Pools (there are two, one in, one out plus a huge beach area). Lots of picnicking sites, horse back riding, biking, hiking, outdoor game areas, fire pits and much more.
We were checked in in under two minutes and in our room in five. The staff were all great that we encountered. Breakfast was okay, dinner was better. Room was standard double with everything but a microwave. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and the only thing that they could improve on is the internet speed. It says the speed is 11 megabytes per second but it took 3 minutes to download a 1.4 Mb file.
The vultures are here everyday but they stay away from people and areas where people are. I found them interesting. I have seen two racoons and they were far from the lodge. Lots of deer also away from the lodge.
The lodge is wood timber construction with large fireplaces and plenty of seating. Even rocking chairs.
If you aren't looking for the Ritz I think you will like this place and if you are over 65 and can book from Sunday to Thurs they have some great deals for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is probably a great place for the locals to get away for a long weekend. It is children-oriented with a pool, arcade room, and many kids events. But we were in town for an college interview and Hueston Woods did not meet our expectation.

We should have heeded the omen we saw upon our arrival and there everyday- large turkey vultures like to rest atop the main buildings vaulted roof. There were at least twenty one morning!

Simply put, the property is tired. It's reasonably clean, has the basic immenities, decent restaurant but it failed to meet my usual hotel standards. My litmus test: it must be safe, must be clean, have a good warm shower, and a comfortable bed.

The property is in the middle of a state park- remote and open to anyone. And while you must swipe your room key to access the hotel buildings directly, you can walk righ into the main one. For there anyone can walk through to the adjacent hotel buildings. And our room lacked a secondary door lock or door jam.

The bed in our room was impossibly uncomfortable and years past its replacement time.
The shower, while warm enough, provided low water pressure.
Carpeting in our room was also way past its replacement time.

Starbucks coffee advertised as you walk in, yet the kiosk was never open and althoujgh sa counter sign indicated availability of coffee on the gift shop there was none.

Housekeeping staff is also unfocussed. In-room coffee pot was not rinsed for the entire stay, and the coffee pack not replaced until the last day.

The bathroom towels reeked of an old gas dryer- not what I want to smell when I start my day with a shower.

Fitness center? Three aerobic machines placed near the indoor pool are not a fitness center.

All told, years ago this was probably a good family destination vacation spot. Today, not so much. And for a business traveler probably not the best choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were in a group and all members of our group were assigned rooms in the lodge basement on the lake side. One member of our group discovered mousetraps set under the bed in her room; another family requested another room because of the bugs in their room. Our room was clean, but dark and damp. The air conditioner on full only made it damp and cold, but failed to dry things out. Some rooms had extra overhead lighting installed: not ours. Some rooms had flat-screen TV's: not ours. The resort claims all rooms have wifi. Not ours (we were way down near the far-end). I called the front desk and they said they would have technical support call us for wifi. Technical support never called us back. We attempted to leave the slider open to our room to dry it out but the wild racoons running rampant throughout the grounds entered anytime our slider was left unguarded.
The entryway smelled of animal pee and kitty-litter, and in fact kitty litter, droppings, and bird feathers from the turkey-vultures lurking at the entrance were never cleaned up during our five day stay.
The hotel claims to have a fitness facility, but has only four machines right in the steamy pool area, three of which are broken and completely unusable. The fourth lists to the left and bangs against the wall whenever you step on the left foot-pedal. We were visiting at an event at Miami of Ohio and one member of our group came back to their room after a long day away only to find mens large black flip-flops in their room. When they contacted the front desk they said they had no explanation but offered the condolence that they would be really frightened too if that had happened to them! That family barricaded their doors with chairs and the ironing board during the night in case somebody else wandered in.
We should have known when we first arrived at 1am and the police were in the parking lot because a raccoon had climbed in through the skylight of somebody's van and was tearing the inside of the van to pieces. Make sure you roll up your windows!
We tried to go on a Nature walk listed as 2pm on Sunday and waited for 15 to 20 minutes with more than 20 other people but the Naturalist never showed up at the nature center. We saw many sailboats on the lake but sailboats were not for rent. We then decided to take a walk of our own from the lodge and what started out as a wide well-maintained trail quickly dwindled into a thorny briar patch in less than a mile. We ended up in a cleared patch under high-voltage lines until we came across a horse trail and ended up at the stable.
On the plus side, the staff were all really nice, the pools were beautiful, the s'mores and setup at the firepits were great (except for the racoons charging us to get to the nearby trashcans). The staff all means well, although somebody needs to provide some vision.

Room Tip: Lakeside, not first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 5201 Lodge Road, College Corner, OH 45003
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > College Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, located in the state park and just five miles from the Miami University of Ohio, is a spacious and comfortable retreat offering modern amenities. The park offers 3,600 acres of family fun! Activities include golf, boating, swimming, fishing, horseback riding, mountain biking, paintball, geocaching and much more. The lodge has 90 guestrooms and two luxury suites. We also offer 25 two-bedroom cottages, 10 couples cottages in the woods and two premier cottages on the lake. Our full-service Trailblazer Dining Room is open seven days a week, 365 days a year. The lodge is a great place for your next business meeting, family reunion or religious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hueston Woods Hotel College Corner
Hueston Woods Resort Conference Center
Hueston Woods Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/College Corner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.