We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in years - good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Greek

The Mad Greek
2466 Fairmount Blvd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106-3131
216-421-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Greek is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Cleveland Landmark Restaurant Established in 1977 at Coventry Village. Experience The Finest in Greek & Indian Cuisine in a classic casual setting. Menu Highlights include Braised Lamb Shank, Kasseri Roasted Chicken, Grilled Flat Iron Steak, Aegean Pasta, Pan Seared Atlantic Cod, Chicken Tikka Masala, Kerala Fish Curry, and many other great dishes. Large & spacious dining room, outdoor patio with waterfall, street side dining, full bar, happy hour daily, catering, carryout & delivery. 5 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, University Hospitals, CWRU & University Circle.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First time in years - good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hadn't been to Mad Greek in many years. While the menu has good Indian and Greek choices, I found the food to be good, but not great. Had wanted medium spicy entree - was mild, at best. Others in our party thought the same - Definitely better choices for Indian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    9
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment from an old favorite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Mad Greek has been a long-time favorite, I was excited to be back in town and go to the restaurant with a date - what a disappointment! The menu hasn't changed which is a good thing - because the food can be awesome, but the overall experience was lame. Despite having early Saturday night reservations - we had to wait to be seated in an almost empty restaurant - then got a small table in direct line with the cold air coming thru the front entrance.

I ordered all my favorites and they were cooked to perfection - too bad none of them made it to the table warm! Except the Saganaki - flaming cheese - which was hot when it got to the table - but lost its appeal when the flame didn't go out with the lemon juice and the server blew the flame out! Our server should have called in sick - because it was obvious that she didn't want to be there. She also did a good job "forgetting" about us as we watched her serve 4 other tables who were all seated well after us. Forgetting us might explain why our food was cold. By the time we got served - we didn't dare send it back to be reheated as we had tickets to a show at 8pm. Its too bad the service doesn't match the potential great meal we should have had. It will be a long time to forget the memory and want to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First time and I am never coming back...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had such a bad experience on my 1st wedding anniversary. Everything was so poor, starting from lousy attitude of server, long waiting for next thing to come on the plate to inappropriate preparation and serving of food.

I can't believe that this place is supposed to be so expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing but compliments for the Mad Greek Get the seafood stew!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a Living Social coupon (as others near us also did - nearing the expiration date!) and that set us up on a prix-fixe adventure. From the appertizer to the salad to the entree and to desert the food was very tasty and the service was, well, relaxed. It did take us 1:45 to get throught the dinner but with a bottle of wine available, we never felt ignored, just had a leisurely pace. We'd go back and work our way around the large menu. You owe it to yourself to try this restsaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Give the chef a raise.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Give the chef a raise and fire everyone else. Outstanding Greek food when it finally arrived.
5 minute wait to be seated with many empty tables. 55 minutes for salad to arrive. Waitress described by other patrons as "surly". Entrees outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Greek also viewed

Cleveland Heights, OH
Cleveland Heights, OH
 

Been to The Mad Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Greek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.