We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, clean and in good repair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcazar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Alcazar to your Saves list
The Alcazar
2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old, clean and in good repair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The room I had was old, clean and in good repair with partially style/period appropriate furnishings. The room was on the north side of the building facing the residential street so I could leave the windows open all night and enjoy the cool evening breeze. The hotel is one block away from the comercial Cedar-Fairmount Tudor style shopping district with a grocery store, restauants and a Jazz club. The Moorish style foyer and central courtyard are architectually interesting and attractive. The grounds are well kept. The guests are an ecclectic mix of semi-permenent retired residents, hotel guest and international adult students taking advanced courses at one of the local hospitals. Don't miss the included continental breakfast so that you can meet some of these educated, intelligent and well traveled people who seem to enjoy the social interactions. The front desk crew is a little amaturish but that is part of the charm of the place.

If you have any element of adventure in your spirit the Alcazar is a great place to stay without really having to compromise on anything. If you are more of a Hilton Garden Inn type of person this is not your Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the North side in the summer, and on the south side in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tedolph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room I had was old, not very clean and in need of repairs. The tile in the bathroom was dirty and cracked, the paint was peeling off the walls, the air conditioner made horrible noises but did not cool the room. The parking garage was awful, you are given an assigned space but good luck trying to squeeze into it. Overall, the only positive was that the desk clerk was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JBBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleveland Heights hotels

Tulsa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We liked walking to the nearby restaurants, the Coventry and little Italy. Our room was clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable. Loved drinking coffee in the peaceful lush garden. This is a historic hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCBFU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lots of interesting features to the hotel and basic but comfortable. Perhaps a bit overpriced for the room one gets. The parking garage was tight and haphazard, of course accompanied with disclaimers denying liability for damages. The front desk person was aggitated with guests, which was out of place by today's customer service standards. Not a bad place for a night, but a mixed experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanford97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have to agree with tsar811's review. Our room was on the 4th floor, which the desk attendant informed us there was no internet access to yet. The rooms are bare, nothing on the walls, no decorations. There is no air conditioning and had trouble sleeping because of the warmth in the room. While it is listed as a bed and breakfast, there is no hot breakfast. You can make instant oatmeal or try some suspect pastries.

There definitely is a nostalgic charm in this place, the courtyard, the lobby, etc., you can see how it was a fairly popular hotel 50+ years ago. We chose it because of the area we were visiting. However, would not recommend over a normal hotel's amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fun, historic hotel. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The staff and residents are very friendly and accommodating. An easy walk to great restaurants, a grocery store, coffee shops, and the beautiful neighborhoods of Cleveland Heights and Shaker Heights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Time has passed this property by, but it was quiet, convenient and friendly. The king-size bed was a pleasant surprise, while a tad too firm for our taste, but an extra pillow helped ease the situation. The guests we met at breakfast were friendly and welcoming. This certainly added to the warmth we encountered in Cleveland itself. We enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk around the scenic historic neighborhood, with shops just a block away. We will probably stay there again for our next visit to Cleveland!

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms available for B & B so call well in advance of visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland Heights
1.0 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#7 of 37 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.9 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 37 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcazar

Address: 2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleveland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcazar is a landmark, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, close to Cleveland's world-class cultural, educational, and medical facilities. . Rental Apartments for Independent Adults 55+. Extended Stay Furnished Housing with kitchens. Bed and Breakfast. Event Venue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alcazar Cleveland Heights, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing