We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda fun place, but not a great experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcazar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleveland Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alcazar
2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kinda fun place, but not a great experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Lots of interesting features to the hotel and basic but comfortable. Perhaps a bit overpriced for the room one gets. The parking garage was tight and haphazard, of course accompanied with disclaimers denying liability for damages. The front desk person was aggitated with guests, which was out of place by today's customer service standards. Not a bad place for a night, but a mixed experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have to agree with tsar811's review. Our room was on the 4th floor, which the desk attendant informed us there was no internet access to yet. The rooms are bare, nothing on the walls, no decorations. There is no air conditioning and had trouble sleeping because of the warmth in the room. While it is listed as a bed and breakfast, there is no hot breakfast. You can make instant oatmeal or try some suspect pastries.

There definitely is a nostalgic charm in this place, the courtyard, the lobby, etc., you can see how it was a fairly popular hotel 50+ years ago. We chose it because of the area we were visiting. However, would not recommend over a normal hotel's amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleveland Heights hotels

Springfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fun, historic hotel. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The staff and residents are very friendly and accommodating. An easy walk to great restaurants, a grocery store, coffee shops, and the beautiful neighborhoods of Cleveland Heights and Shaker Heights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Time has passed this property by, but it was quiet, convenient and friendly. The king-size bed was a pleasant surprise, while a tad too firm for our taste, but an extra pillow helped ease the situation. The guests we met at breakfast were friendly and welcoming. This certainly added to the warmth we encountered in Cleveland itself. We enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk around the scenic historic neighborhood, with shops just a block away. We will probably stay there again for our next visit to Cleveland!

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms available for B & B so call well in advance of visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Yeah yeah yeah, charming, historic, quaint, blah, blah, blah. Fact is at 99 dollars a night you are overpaying by at least half. First off the parking garage is a pain in the balls to deal with unless you still drive a Vega and you are going to have to use it because there is nowhere to park nearby. Next the room is tiny and pretty dreary with a 90s TV set with a non functioning remote. After that there is a major problem with climate control. Because it is also an old folks home the heat seems to be on all the time. The temperature outside is in the 50s but we had to leave the AC running and the window open while we stepped out because it was so stuffy. Even after returning we still kept it on and window open for the night. And lastly the beds. Ugh! A two twin bed room and mine was impossible to sleep on. It was like Snoopy on top of his doghouse with a slope downward on either side and as hard as those gym mats in jr high school. While the surrounding neighborhood is charming and there are plenty of options to eat, drink, be entertained and shop the place should get out of the lodging business tomorrow. Supposedly Cole Porter wrote Night and Day while staying here. I think Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

If a modern, updated, hustling, bustling, glitzy atmosphere is what you are seeking then just pass on by the Alcatraz. Instead you will find yourself stepping into a relaxing, quiet, low-key atmosphere that is not reminiscent of its earlier years when Bob Hope held a suite there, or when the 5th floor ballroom was utilized constantly.

Instead you may, or may not, see seniors working an on-going puzzle in the lobby, or you may meet up with some of the permanent residents on the elevator, or during the light continental breakfast that is served each morning. If the weather allows, the courtyard is very pleasant.

My friend and I stayed here because I wanted a unique experience and not some chain hotel - even if they do offer more or better amenities. If you are seeking an experience that is steeped in history and community dedication then you may be someone who appreciates the Alcazar.

Our room was simple and clean. The fact that the room has not been completely overhauled was an asset in my opinion. I liked the old built-in drawers in the little dressing area in our room (even if the drawers were painted closed). I could picture people from years gone by seated there in front of the mirror preparing for some grand social function. The expansive ladies room off of the lobby led my imagination even further, picturing ladies ducking in and out, powdering noses and cheeks, cooling off by the tall windows, smoking cigarettes and gossiping.

During our late March visit we did not see as many residents as you would probably see during a summer visit. At times it seemed that we were the only people staying in the expansive old hotel. In fact, we walked around the old building as if we were visiting a museum (in many ways it is). The ballroom on the 5th floor was locked but we were able to peer into the window at the old wooden floor that could be seen under the soft light from the windows, once again stimulating my imagination. It would be nice to plan a trip here sometime when there are events taking place.

If the history, architecture, friendly service, quaint atmosphere, and cleanliness of this hotel are not a draw for you then perhaps the location would be a draw for you. The neighborhood is ideal for almost any stay in Cleveland. Nearby you will find restaurants, Mike's Supermarket (right across the street), bagel places, vegetarian fare, gift shops, a book store, and more within very convenient distance. My friend and I walked to "Little Italy" (a substantial walk - doable on a nice day) and enjoyed a nice meal in a great atmosphere. We also visited the Rock n Roll HOF, Edgewood Park, and Lakeview Cemetary. What a great trip! The Alcazar was definitely a high point as far as I'm concerned. I would stay there again.

Since I thoroughly researched the Alcazar before I booked my stay I had a good idea that it is not considered 'conventional'. If you are seeking 'conventional' then I would stick with the typical chain hotels. If you are looking for luxury then perhaps once of the more glitzy hotels are for you. Everyone may not have an appreciation for this low-key, historical place as I do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is really cool place to stay.

Been here a few times, I'm originally from the area, and love staying here whenever I'm back in town.

This place is very clean and it takes care of its guests.

Room Tip: Book in advance as you always should. But this place only books so many people a night to begin with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcazar

Address: 2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cleveland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcazar is a landmark, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, close to Cleveland's world-class cultural, educational, and medical facilities. . Rental Apartments for Independent Adults 55+. Extended Stay Furnished Housing with kitchens. Bed and Breakfast. Event Venue ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alcazar Cleveland Heights, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Alcazar to your Saves list