We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcazar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleveland Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alcazar
Save
You added The Alcazar to your Saves list
2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106   |  
Hotel amenities
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Don't even think about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Yeah yeah yeah, charming, historic, quaint, blah, blah, blah. Fact is at 99 dollars a night you are overpaying by at least half. First off the parking garage is a pain in the balls to deal with unless you still drive a Vega and you are going to have to use it because there is nowhere to park nearby. Next the room is tiny and pretty dreary with a 90s TV set with a non functioning remote. After that there is a major problem with climate control. Because it is also an old folks home the heat seems to be on all the time. The temperature outside is in the 50s but we had to leave the AC running and the window open while we stepped out because it was so stuffy. Even after returning we still kept it on and window open for the night. And lastly the beds. Ugh! A two twin bed room and mine was impossible to sleep on. It was like Snoopy on top of his doghouse with a slope downward on either side and as hard as those gym mats in jr high school. While the surrounding neighborhood is charming and there are plenty of options to eat, drink, be entertained and shop the place should get out of the lodging business tomorrow. Supposedly Cole Porter wrote Night and Day while staying here. I think Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

If a modern, updated, hustling, bustling, glitzy atmosphere is what you are seeking then just pass on by the Alcatraz. Instead you will find yourself stepping into a relaxing, quiet, low-key atmosphere that is not reminiscent of its earlier years when Bob Hope held a suite there, or when the 5th floor ballroom was utilized constantly.

Instead you may, or may not, see seniors working an on-going puzzle in the lobby, or you may meet up with some of the permanent residents on the elevator, or during the light continental breakfast that is served each morning. If the weather allows, the courtyard is very pleasant.

My friend and I stayed here because I wanted a unique experience and not some chain hotel - even if they do offer more or better amenities. If you are seeking an experience that is steeped in history and community dedication then you may be someone who appreciates the Alcazar.

Our room was simple and clean. The fact that the room has not been completely overhauled was an asset in my opinion. I liked the old built-in drawers in the little dressing area in our room (even if the drawers were painted closed). I could picture people from years gone by seated there in front of the mirror preparing for some grand social function. The expansive ladies room off of the lobby led my imagination even further, picturing ladies ducking in and out, powdering noses and cheeks, cooling off by the tall windows, smoking cigarettes and gossiping.

During our late March visit we did not see as many residents as you would probably see during a summer visit. At times it seemed that we were the only people staying in the expansive old hotel. In fact, we walked around the old building as if we were visiting a museum (in many ways it is). The ballroom on the 5th floor was locked but we were able to peer into the window at the old wooden floor that could be seen under the soft light from the windows, once again stimulating my imagination. It would be nice to plan a trip here sometime when there are events taking place.

If the history, architecture, friendly service, quaint atmosphere, and cleanliness of this hotel are not a draw for you then perhaps the location would be a draw for you. The neighborhood is ideal for almost any stay in Cleveland. Nearby you will find restaurants, Mike's Supermarket (right across the street), bagel places, vegetarian fare, gift shops, a book store, and more within very convenient distance. My friend and I walked to "Little Italy" (a substantial walk - doable on a nice day) and enjoyed a nice meal in a great atmosphere. We also visited the Rock n Roll HOF, Edgewood Park, and Lakeview Cemetary. What a great trip! The Alcazar was definitely a high point as far as I'm concerned. I would stay there again.

Since I thoroughly researched the Alcazar before I booked my stay I had a good idea that it is not considered 'conventional'. If you are seeking 'conventional' then I would stick with the typical chain hotels. If you are looking for luxury then perhaps once of the more glitzy hotels are for you. Everyone may not have an appreciation for this low-key, historical place as I do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is really cool place to stay.

Been here a few times, I'm originally from the area, and love staying here whenever I'm back in town.

This place is very clean and it takes care of its guests.

Room Tip: Book in advance as you always should. But this place only books so many people a night to begin with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Was really looking forward to this hotel, as we've recently returned from Spain and loved this architecture. Unfortunately, this hotel is way past it's prime. Husband had a physical at the Cleveland Clinic, which is very close, but we really were checking it out for our son, who will have a 6 week rotation at the Clinic next fall. There is no way we would subject our son to those conditions. Our efficiency was small, very simple, and NOTHING had been updated in decades. It was so bad, that we refused to stay. The front desk was understanding and quickly refunded our money. (Kind of like it happens all the time!) The rate was $100/night, which was outrageous for the unit. We ended up at the Hilton for $130/night.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleveland Heights hotels

Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is an interesting place, as it apparently has Bed & Breakfast Rooms, hotel rooms, and also serves as an assisted living facility. We booked a room late for New Year's Eve, so actually ended up getting a room among the wonderfully friendly elderly people! All the guests were very very friendly, and the hotel staff was fairly friendly as well.

The location is great. We walked to the Mad Greek for dinner (2 minute walk). Then walked to Coventry Village to go out to some of the bars there. (15 minute walk).

Our only complaint was that the cleanliness of the room was average at best. The sheets, if they were clean, were pretty badly stained. The bathroom was just sort of old and dirty. Not nasty dirty, more like just everything was old, faded, yellowed with age. Also, they didn't put shampoo or soap in the bathroom.

All in all, it served our purposes great. We'd probably look for other places first, but if everything else is booked, this place will do for a night or 2.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a great place, funky, old, owned by the Church of Christian Science (that is why they only rent 5 rooms a night in addition to the 39 permanent residents they have)...Technically, it is a Bed and Breakfast, since they do not have their Hotel license anymore...

Moorish/Moroccan tile, beautiful courtyard, funky huge room...If you need the Holiday or the Hyatt, by all means, do NOT stay here. It is really peculiar, in what I consider the best of ways....walking distance to several great restaurants and bars, 5 minutes from Coventry and Shaker Square and Little Italy....If you are even a little bit off the wall, stay here and the memory will go with you for a long time...If you are one of those who are dying to find something to be victimized or martyred about (you know who you are---there are a TON of you on Trip Advisor), don't even think about staying here.

Hot water, wonderful ambience, the best....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed for one night, as we were in town to see a show at The Grog Shop...easy safe walk to the show and back through beautiful residential area. The staff was very friendly and the room was small and utilitarian, but perfect for a one night visit. Enjoyed the courtyard at breakfast time and loved the fact that we could open our window at night for fresh air. Would like to have a broader selection for continental breakfast and a hair dryer in room would be a plus. But, all in all a nice stay

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcazar

Address: 2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleveland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcazar is a landmark, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, close to Cleveland's world-class cultural, educational, and medical facilities. . Rental Apartments for Independent Adults 55+. Extended Stay Furnished Housing with kitchens. Bed and Breakfast. Event Venue ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alcazar Cleveland Heights, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.