We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcazar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleveland Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alcazar
Save
You added The Alcazar to your Saves list
2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106   |  
Hotel amenities
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cool Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is really cool place to stay.

Been here a few times, I'm originally from the area, and love staying here whenever I'm back in town.

This place is very clean and it takes care of its guests.

Room Tip: Book in advance as you always should. But this place only books so many people a night to begin with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Was really looking forward to this hotel, as we've recently returned from Spain and loved this architecture. Unfortunately, this hotel is way past it's prime. Husband had a physical at the Cleveland Clinic, which is very close, but we really were checking it out for our son, who will have a 6 week rotation at the Clinic next fall. There is no way we would subject our son to those conditions. Our efficiency was small, very simple, and NOTHING had been updated in decades. It was so bad, that we refused to stay. The front desk was understanding and quickly refunded our money. (Kind of like it happens all the time!) The rate was $100/night, which was outrageous for the unit. We ended up at the Hilton for $130/night.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleveland Heights hotels

Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is an interesting place, as it apparently has Bed & Breakfast Rooms, hotel rooms, and also serves as an assisted living facility. We booked a room late for New Year's Eve, so actually ended up getting a room among the wonderfully friendly elderly people! All the guests were very very friendly, and the hotel staff was fairly friendly as well.

The location is great. We walked to the Mad Greek for dinner (2 minute walk). Then walked to Coventry Village to go out to some of the bars there. (15 minute walk).

Our only complaint was that the cleanliness of the room was average at best. The sheets, if they were clean, were pretty badly stained. The bathroom was just sort of old and dirty. Not nasty dirty, more like just everything was old, faded, yellowed with age. Also, they didn't put shampoo or soap in the bathroom.

All in all, it served our purposes great. We'd probably look for other places first, but if everything else is booked, this place will do for a night or 2.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a great place, funky, old, owned by the Church of Christian Science (that is why they only rent 5 rooms a night in addition to the 39 permanent residents they have)...Technically, it is a Bed and Breakfast, since they do not have their Hotel license anymore...

Moorish/Moroccan tile, beautiful courtyard, funky huge room...If you need the Holiday or the Hyatt, by all means, do NOT stay here. It is really peculiar, in what I consider the best of ways....walking distance to several great restaurants and bars, 5 minutes from Coventry and Shaker Square and Little Italy....If you are even a little bit off the wall, stay here and the memory will go with you for a long time...If you are one of those who are dying to find something to be victimized or martyred about (you know who you are---there are a TON of you on Trip Advisor), don't even think about staying here.

Hot water, wonderful ambience, the best....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed for one night, as we were in town to see a show at The Grog Shop...easy safe walk to the show and back through beautiful residential area. The staff was very friendly and the room was small and utilitarian, but perfect for a one night visit. Enjoyed the courtyard at breakfast time and loved the fact that we could open our window at night for fresh air. Would like to have a broader selection for continental breakfast and a hair dryer in room would be a plus. But, all in all a nice stay

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

I found the stay at the Alcazar charming.The garden area is beautiful and the staff and residents are charming.We had a delightful talk with a sweet lady,88 years old,at breakfast.The area is safe and we walked almost a mile to see a concert and back.

thanks,marc

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed here for a month in July while my wife was doing her rotation at Cleveland Clinic. We could not have picked a better place to stay. The hotel is 3 to 4 minute drive to the clinic, about 1 mile away. There are coffee shops, casual and nice places to eat within walking distance. The place is middle of a nice old neighbourhood, surrounded by tree lined streets. The hotel it self has lot of character, although rooms are bit old but very well maintained. Most of the guests are premenant senior residents but you see the occassional young student doing rotation or summer research at nearby universities. The staff was very helpful. One problem is internet. I had to buy a range extender to get signal to work throughout the 1 BR suite. The staff said the problem was being worked on but we stayed there for a month and the situation did not change. Highway access is little tough (about 10 minute to get to highway) but for CC location is great, downtown is about 15 minute drive. Just a great experience for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcazar

Address: 2450 Derbyshire Rd., Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleveland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcazar is a landmark, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, close to Cleveland's world-class cultural, educational, and medical facilities. . Rental Apartments for Independent Adults 55+. Extended Stay Furnished Housing with kitchens. Bed and Breakfast. Event Venue ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alcazar Cleveland Heights, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.