We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square to your Saves list
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1260 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
North Olmsted
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We don't get out much, but we figured we should for our 25th wedding anniversary. We decided on a downtown weekend to catch a few plays and eat some serious food. We didn't want to blow the budget on lodging, so we were thrilled to get the Snow Package at the Wyndham. The first night was $109, second night $44. Forty-four being the temperature at noon on our stay's second day. Heck, the first night was a good deal.

The room was small but clean and comfortable. Hallways and common areas were well-maintained, though all the soda machines from floors 9-14 had their cash input slots punched out (according to the front desk, someone had wiped out the soda machines on all of the floors the night before).

Every member of the staff we encountered was helpful and friendly. Kermit, a distinguished bellman from Shaker, was a pleasant surprise. Kind of that rare old-school bellman who knows everything about what's going on in town -- sports teams at all levels, theater and music, likely suspects in the case of the punched-out the soda machines, etc. He was preaching to the choir with us, but I bet he helps make the stays of out-of-towners more enjoyable and productive.

Saturday brunch was an expensive mistake. Instead of spending $12-15 per on a mediocre buffet like we did, walk around the corner to the Huron Square Deli for a better $5 breakfast (which we did on Sunday). There you can also get a Plain Dealer, which the hotel fails to provide even in a vending machine.

The location was fantastic. We walked to the plays and took $5 cab rides to East 4th Street restaurants. Overall, an excellent choice. We've stayed at a number of downtown hotels over the years, and the Wyndham's right up there with the best of them - at the top, if value is important to you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear nobookcook,

Thank you for the wonderful comments you have shared! We are pleased to hear that your wedding anniversary weekend was such a success. Your kind comments regarding the service Kermit provided has been passed along to the rest of our staff. It is our hope that you will continue to make Wyndham Cleveland @ PlayhouseSquare your hotel of choice when visiting Cleveland.

Sincerely,
L Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    554
    330
    178
    79
See reviews for
403
487
77
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We needed to find a hotel in Cleveland since we had an appointment at the Cleveland Clinic. We found this hotel, of course, after reviewing trip advisor. Every member of the staff went out of their way to be kind and informative, right down to the gentlemen who took our luggage. A piece of information that I didn't know until we got there was that the Wyndham has a shuttle that is free to guests. It will take you wherever you need to go within a 5 mile radius, which includes the Clinic. Needless to say we used it to go to the Great Lakes Science Center, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and to help us find a restaurant to try. We were able to turn a visit to the Doctor into a mini vaction for the children. The rooms were what you would expect. Clean, modern and functional. We ate both breakfast and lunch at the hotel on separate days and were fully satisfied. They do a good job and at a reasonable cost. We will definitely return to this hotel when heading back to the Clinic. If you find yourself travelling to Cleveland to go to the Clinic, let the registration people know that. There is an unpublished discounted rate for patients. There is a self serve parking lot nearby ($12), valet service is $20. We chose valet. One less thing to worry about.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Dear Hallpass50,

Thank you for the positive comments you have shared regarding your recent stay at Wyndham Cleveland @ PlayhouseSquare. Providing you with transportation to our local attractions was our pleasure. We are pleased to hear that a visit to the doctor became a mini vacation for you and your family.

Sincerely,

L Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

The trip was not a vacation, but for my husband to have heart surgery at The Cleveland Clinic. The friendly and caring staff were very accomodating, and always showed care and concern. They made a stressful, trying time much easier with their warm welcome and concern for us both.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear lablover_11,

Thank you for the kind comments regarding our friendly and caring staff. We are pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating and helped make your stay a little less stressful.

Sincerely,

L Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

All aspects of the hotel were good. Bar drinks at night were so so. Irish coffee was lukewarm. Vodka and ginger ale had way too much ice and very little drink. Room was nice, but didn't have enough chairs and didn't have a coffeepot. When we asked for those items, though, they were brought very promptly! Jamie at the front desk was very helpful, courteous, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear MimiC52,

We are excited to hear that Jamie provided such exceptional service during your recent visit. As for your beverages, we apologize they did not meet your standards and will address the matter accordingly. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Sincerely,

L Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Really nice hotel in downtown Cleveland in the theater district.
From desk clerk to bellhop to valets, the staff members were super friendly and
helpful. Can't say enough about them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear BrenKy913,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our staff and our property. We look forward to being able to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

L Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend conference. Check in and valet parking were quick and easy. There are a few restaurants in the immediate area, but you will need your car since there is no night life or entertainment (very surprising since this is the "theater district"). Since our conference almost filled the hotel and we were all on the same schedule, there was never hot water available. Roms are nicely appointed, but some could use new matresses and all could use new TVs. The bar staff was great and the food and drink prices were very reasonable. Small business center was suitable. Meeting rooms were in good shape but the ballroom could not accomodate our full group. The sound system needs updating as it was idfficult to hear presenters over the dinner service noise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear lesley012,

Thank you for the feedback you have provided regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that check in, valet, and our bar staff all met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

L Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed at this Wyndham property in February. The number one thing that stood out for my family and I was the dining experience that we had. The wait staff (Annette) in the dining room was fantastic. She treated us like family. If you go for dinner at this hotel be sure to ask for her!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear Comm007guy,

It is a pleasure to hear that your dining experience was excellent. I have forwarded your kind comments to Annette and the rest of our team.

Sincerely,

L Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square

Address: 1260 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cleveland At Playhouse Square Hotel Cleveland
Wyndham Playhouse Square
Cleveland Wyndham
Wyndham Cleveland At Playhouse Square Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.