We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Westin Cleveland Downtown was amazing....clean rooms...modern decor. Staff were especially helpful and provided great recommendations. The bathroom doors were a little weird with the sliding door but an interesting touch. The valet staff didn't get my car when I first called down, which resulted in me waiting an additional 15 minutes. I did wake up to some people shouting in the hallway, but a quick call to the front desk resolved this. Otherwise the stay was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1811 and it provided a great view of the -then frozen- Lake Erie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    60
    20
    19
    9
See reviews for
24
43
5
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wow. Every staff member was so kind. From bellboy to random workers saying hello. Just refreshing to see that in today's world of business. Nice job Westin. Room was cool. Great location. Great restaurant.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decided to enjoy a Valentine's night in downtown Cleveland. I chose the Westin and What a great hotel it is. The roomes were modern and well appointed. What impressed me the most was the team of associates at this hotel who were always willing to assit at every turn. The Restaurant Urban Farmer rivals any free stands restaurant in CLE . Delicious food and outstanding service a must try if you are in CLE.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked two rooms, requesting adjoining rooms and were given a suite (bedroom with large adjoining living room with large couch) and another adjoining bedroom. Being able to spread out over three rooms (with 3 TVs, not that we used all at once but it allowed those sleeping to be in a different space than those watching TV). We were very pleased with this arrangement.
As Platinum members we had access to the two story club lounge. The lounge had a large high table near the food and other soft seating areas on the first floor as well as an upstairs area with more soft seating - unlike many other club lounges it was open on the weekend and was never crowded. Although we had a spacious set of rooms, it was also nice to have this additional space to hang out in. Breakfast was available in the morning - including hot food. A variety of snacks were available throughout the day, as well as sodas and juices (including Naked smoothies). And in the evening cheese and crackers, some veggies, and some hot appetizer items, as well as beer and wine. The only downside was once a serving tray was empty, it was not refilled. But given the 12+ hours that food was available, it's hard to complain about this.
Location of the hotel is very good - close to restaurants, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame etc. Yes, the valet parking is $30/night - but it is secure and the car was always whisked away and promptly delivered upon request.
Lobby also had some inviting spaces to hang out.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTGOMERY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel on a recent visit to Cleveland to tour the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. This hotel is very centrally located within walking distance of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame the casino in many fine restaurants downtown. The room was great enjoyed it very much I would highly recommend this hotel. My only complaint would be the $30 per night for valet parking. oh well that seems to be the going rate right now.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This recently completely renovated hotel is of course modern, clean and well furnished. But what they have done the best at is frankly, training their employees on customer service. From the moment my Uber dropped me off from the airport and the valet met me very welcoming and friendly to check out - everything was superb.

If you are SPG or busienss and thinking of the club floor - DO IT! The staff is wonderful there. The food is great (breakfast frist day was scrambled eggs, bacon and an assortment of lots of other pastries, cereals, bagels, etc. and the next day was sausage links, eggs, etc.) The cocktail hour was lovely with nice offerings - though they were out of vodka which was a bit disappointing.

Randy was amazingly friendly and personable as was the lady who worked the morning prior but I did not get her name - sorry!

But Randy was there that evening as well as the following morning. Just really very friendly, service minded and made us feel right at home.

I did not see too much info on the club floor/lounge online so I'm happy to report it was lovely with a great view over the lake and the arena.

We did not eat a Urban Farmer though everyone we met from Uber drivers to others raved about it.

BTW I schedule my Uber as we landed since I only had carry on and it worked like magic. It was $25 which was less than the $41 the hotel said a taxi would cost. We ubered everywhere as it was sooo cold.

We ate at the Chocolate Bar which was wonderful. Loved Eric with a "c" and the Professor at the bar. The food was delicious (Filet Mignon, Pasta with chicken and fettucine alfredo) but the martinis were exceptional! The chocolate caramel was my dessert though the other two opted for a real dessert which they raved about.

Very easy to walk there but we ubered as it was so COOOOLLLLLDDD.

Saw Fleetwood Mac at the Q Arena - again an easy walk but we ubbered. also loved the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. we were there the entire day.

We did have room service burgers at midnight which were AWESOME! and not that expensive.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get the club floor if you can. Saves $$ on breakfast - plus it's nice to have cocktails and app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where does one begin... I've read reviews and blew them off, bad move. For a hotel chain that claims to have spent 70 million on renovations turing into Cleveland's most sophisticated hotel, I can say money poorly spent. First let preface this review with the background of it being the first weekend away from a family house, filled with kids and the whole nine yards. This was to be a glorious break and rejuvenation but turned out to be a pain from the start...First off the hotel had reseverations under the completely wrong name after our phone reservation somehow failed. The valet all though nice, was disjointed and overpriced... Maybe due the weather which wasn't bad at check in, so no excuse. The elevators were slow and the room was fraught with issues including but not limited to cleanliness, design, and appliances. The fridge doesn't get cold, the safe had to be fixed, the TV channels were poor and marketing communications dated and the bathroom.... Where do I begin yet again, as previously mentioned this hotel was supposedly to have been updated but the bathroom was however by far the worst I've ever experienced due to what felt like water pressure of a kinked garden hose from the shower head. The toilet was so close to the wall that the toilet paper dispenser was within inches, thus ensuring that you would have to sit at a 45 degree angle to avoid an object in your leg. Needless to say, though the staff may have been nice; I'm glad to be home and the Westin has reaffirmed my disappointment and distaste for going downtown. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Just consider staying somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jkrulz00,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. Your comments were both eye opening and disappointing. I would like to disccuss your stay further; if you would please contact either myself or my assistant (Melissa; 440.730.4251) I would like to turn this situation around.

I look forward to hearing from you soon and having you be our guest again at the Westin Cleveland Downtown.

Best regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Address: 777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cleveland Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new energy to the financial district, The Westin Cleveland Downtown recently completed a $64 million dollar transformation. The hotel sits between the convention center and the galleria, and is located within blocks of The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame & Museum, Indians' stadium, Browns Stadium, Horseshoe Casino and East 4th Entertainment District. The hotel is pending LEED certified, and is comprised of 484 upscale guest rooms that provide stunning views of Lake Erie and the vibrant cityscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cleveland
Cleveland Crowne Plaza
The Westin Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.