We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time there, nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time there, nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was in town for one day and stayed here. Nice hotel. Much larger then I thought. Very nice and welcoming.

Restaurant was very good. Menu is full of local fav's

Location is good. Higher the better for the view.

Rooms are very large. One weird this is that the room I was in was behind a door that three other rooms. The outermost door didn't have any markings. I just guessed and tried my card and it opened the door. Then I found my room. Not all rooms were like this.

Wifi didn't work. When I called the desk she said it was a satellite and the rain sometimes caused problems. Later to find out that she had no idea what she was talking about.

However, I can't judge a hotel by whether I can get on the Internet.

Beds were comfortable and room was clean.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
15
24
2
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, OH, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were on the 18th floor, very nice room, modern décor. Neatly hidden fridge, microwave and coffee machine. Super clean, always a plus. We had breakfast at the on-sight restaurant and the food was locally grown, fresh, very tasty, excellent waitress. The hotel only has valet parking which is $30.00 a night - a little steep and the only option, they also do not include Wi-Fi and it was $12,95 for one day (felt like I was in Mexico). Over all I would stay there again, all of the staff are very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Today could have been a very long day If it was not for the generous support of the staff at the Westin when I accidentally left my bag behind. Thanks to the staffs quick thinking, Bobbie the bellman rushed my bag to the airport to meet me just in time for me to catch my flight.

The hotel was beautiful and the staff were extremely professional. I would highly recommend this property for business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Front staff were welcoming and accommodating to our requests, although we had to remind them of our membership status in order to get free internet after confirming the hotel was fully booked and unable to provide free upgrade. The room was very spacious with a great view of the water and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Westin Cleveland maintained the standard that is expected from any Westin. Bed was comfortable as usual, room was clean and no major flaws to be found at this location. The only issue we had was upon check out. At one point we thought the valet has lost our car because it took them 30 minutes to bring the car down after many guests after us already left with their vehicles. When we complained about the situation, the hotel staff were unapologetic. Aside from the valet, it was a great stay at Westin Cleveland.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We frequently stay at SPG properties. This one has the lobby of a W, a club like those in the Sheratons, and the comfortable Westin bed. It does't really matter; it's just a little weird.

We chose the hotel for the location. It is very close to the football stadium, science museum, Rock and Roll Hall of fame, and other downtown locations.

We were very pleased by the offerings in the Westin Executive Club: good continental breakfast and afternoon tea, wine, beer, and snacks. Great view of the lake. And the front desk staff is very helpful, especially the terrific concierge Bill.

On the other hand, there is some confusing stuff in the hotel. The first elevator on the left only goes to the function room floors, but there's no sign. The sign inside the elevators does say that the Executive Club is on the 23rd floor, but the main entrance is on the 22nd floor. The Guest Services directory that is in each room says that "complimentary shuttle service is available to and from the Cleveland Hopkins International Airport 24 hours a day, " but that's not true. These all are small things that Westin could easily fix.

If possible, I would have rated this hotel 3.5 stars, but on the strength of location, the Executive Club, and the good service from the front desk an bell staff, I rated it 4 stars. We'll see how it develops.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quick check in and check out. Friendly outgoing staff. Beautiful decorating. Clean and pleasant throughout. Large room on club floor with nice view of city. Enjoyed the snacks in the club but disappointed no free wifi (except lobby). Highly recommend!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel, superb service, nicely decorated rooms, and the absolutely best beds in the industry. I love the bathroom showers with blue tiles and a glass wall. Great downtown location with the requisite Sbux in the lobby, and a restaurant that looks worth checking out..next time I stay there...and I will!

Room Tip: The higher the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April S, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Portena-by-Marriage,

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. I was very pleased to read your review about our property and how happy you were with all the amenities. It is our drive and dedication to the hospitality field to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time.

We look forward to your next visit at the Westin Cleveland Downtown.

Best regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Address: 777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#18 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cleveland Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new energy to the financial district, The Westin Cleveland Downtown recently completed a $64 million dollar transformation. The hotel sits between the convention center and the galleria, and is located within blocks of The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame & Museum, Indians' stadium, Browns Stadium, Horseshoe Casino and East 4th Entertainment District. The hotel is pending LEED certified, and is comprised of 484 upscale guest rooms that provide stunning views of Lake Erie and the vibrant cityscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cleveland
Cleveland Crowne Plaza
The Westin Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.