We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

With no luck in an attempt to reserve a room at a last minute through the 800 #, I called the hotel and spoke with Diamond (not sure of her title/position). She was able to assist me in reserving a room. Her patience and great customer service helped put me at ease especially after being told the hotel was booked. I appreciate her time and commitment to great customer service.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
11
20
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for three days during a conference in September. It was close to both the convention center where I spent my days, and enough Cleveland night life (i.e. East 4th Street) to keep a girl happy.

The remodeled decor is lovely. The lobby is dark, yet cozy. The front desk area is sleek, and the friendly, well-trained staff took care of me from the start. I was given a room with a lake view, and even though there were payment issues with my reservation, they took care of everything so I didn't have to worry and could get to my sessions.

The room itself is better than most hotel rooms. Contemporary in design, there is a contemporary, yet cozy feel. The beds (which I learned from lobby manager Nick) are called Heavenly Beds, and they deliver. I got some great sleep, which is usually hard to say in a hotel.

The only thing I missed was a bathtub, but the shower water pressure and temp were great. I'd definitely recommend the Westin to anyone staying in the Downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, the ambience of the lobby is very good. Things were hectic at the door for most of the weekend due to the convention we were attending. The room was spacious, but the lack of drawers for folded clothing caused some inconvenience. No microwave - hmmm. The fan in the bathroom did almost nothing to vent any of the steam from showers and we were obliged to wipe the mirror with a washcloth to be able to see. Even with all the coming and going, I only heard doors closing infrequently. The view from our 18th floor wasn't much to speak of, but that's not the hotel's fault.
Otherwise, things were very good. When the TV remote didn't work, the people were prompt in responding and had it working almost immediately, just fiddling with the batteries to get the connection back. The beds were comfortable and the room and bath immaculately clean.
I'd recommend it for a short stay, but the two missing things above may make it awkward for a longer than a few day stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this new hotel for three nights. The location is great; view was great. Brand new with a wonderful bathroom. The hotel staff, bellman, valet, etc was always asking if we needed help or wanted something. Patrick and Bobby gave us some excellent places to check out in town and restaurants to visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Downside - the Club Room was being reworked and we were set up in a conference room. It should be open shortly; the view looked great. The website did not provide a detail description of the rooms at the various price levels.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level lake view room. Website did not provide detail descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I lived here for last 2-3 days. Although the location and the view is great, the experience was terrible:
1. Too much noise to sleep. A lot of people walk around and talk loud at midnight due to the room close to the elevator.
2. Terrible service: I need called them 4 times for the service, which took 4 hours to response.
3. Slow wifi: it is paid wifi, and had connectivity issue.

Very bad experience!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Customer experience is clearly important to the Westin; where modern style meets functional expectations. Fine appointments, cheerful employees, and gorgeous city views make this downtown hotel a hit among the business-minded traveler.

Rooms
Hits: Stylish, modern, open concept en suite baths, city views
Misses: outlets easily accessed in proximity to the beds, adequate lighting in the vanity area, grab bar, venting

Beds
Luxurious bedding, "heavenly" bed does not disappoint

In Room Dining
Good choices, excellent food, prompt service, 15% gratuity included-so don't miss that!

Staff
Friendly, helpful and conscientious

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with city views (you'll get double windows)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Westin feels brand spanning new. The lobby is very modern and cool, the artwork makes you feel like you are staying in a more expensive place and all the appointment are what you expect of a Westin. There is a real Starbucks in the lobby and the restaurant, inspired by a farmers market (LOL a chic idea of a farmers market) has amazing food. It is a great brunch spot as well. Service can be a little slow and the rooms while clean and new lack a wow they are just good. It would be my pic for Cleveland.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Address: 777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cleveland Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new energy to the financial district, The Westin Cleveland Downtown recently completed a $64 million dollar transformation. The hotel sits between the convention center and the galleria, and is located within blocks of The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame & Museum, Indians' stadium, Browns Stadium, Horseshoe Casino and East 4th Entertainment District. The hotel is pending LEED certified, and is comprised of 484 upscale guest rooms that provide stunning views of Lake Erie and the vibrant cityscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cleveland
Cleveland Crowne Plaza
The Westin Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.