We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here for a last-minute overnight stay in Cleveland after the Gay Games 9 closing ceremony.

The positives: well-designed hotel with modern, clean and well-appointed rooms. Loved the room doors that didn't require a swipe, and the ambiance. Modern lobby with fast elevators.

The negatives that slightly ruined the experience here: the front desk staff. Rude, slow and seemingly fake and not at all genuine. No toiletries when I needed them- this is a 4 star hotel at a premium price that doesn't offer toiletries. I was told by the front desk to put my contact lenses in a cup with water for the night. When I left the front desk after asking for some basic toiletries, I watched the two clerks get together to gossip about me for being a "free spirit." If you don't want last-minute "free spirit" bookings, don't offer day-of Priceline deals!

Service is everything to me and I'll take the Marriott down the street over this hotel any day because of that. I'm Gold Elite there and shouldn't have gone off my usual beaten path!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Cleveland Downtown while you were in town enjoying the Gay Games 9! It was great to see the excitement in the city surrounding the games and that you chose to stay with us.

As a new property we are working out some kinks and rest assured when you return you will have a much better experience - I cannot guarantee we will have contact lens cases/solution, but you will be pleased with our property.

Thank you again for staying with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    75
    28
    20
    10
See reviews for
44
75
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed here one night on business and the hotel has recently (May 2014) been refurbished.

My room (1703) was lovely inside, plenty of room, view of the lake, nice bathroom and a good shower. Bed was excellent and also plenty of power points to charge laptop/phone/ipad etc. Beside the bed there was a clock radio which also had an IPhone docking point to charge your phone.

However, my room was close to the lift and so was noisy with people walking past I got woken up. I also had an joining room and you could here everything on the guy next door was doing though the door.

The coffee machine didn't work, it put hot water all over the place. The ironing board was the cheapest thing I'd ever seen. I put it up to iron my shirt and then couldn't put it down. I was scared to be to forceful with it and I thought it might snap. There was also only one bottle of water in the room.

So a nice hotel and good service when I checked in etc however for $255 a night it's just not good enough. There is valet only parking at $30 for 24hrs and no self park but if you look across the road you can park for $11 and that's valet parking to.

The little touches are missing and I came away wishing I'd stayed elsewhere even though it wasn't my money paying.

Room Tip: Park across the road it's much cheaper and ask for a room away from the lift (elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Colin_Welwyn,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. I was disappointed to read that you had struggles with noise, concerns regarding your ironing board, and that your coffee maker didn't work appropriately. We are still finalizing the "little touches" throughout the hotel; I am confident if you have the opportunity to stay with us again you will experienced them.

I'm sorry to hear that you left feeling you wished you'd stayed elsewhere; please feel free to contact me directly should you like to discuss your stay in greater detail. I can be reached at mark.anderson@westincleveland.com

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I enjoyed my 4 night stay here.
I had no issues with check-in or check-out.I arrived before 2pm and room was ready.Check-in was quick as was check-out.
I was busy with work and did not get to enjoy the location as much as possible.
Elevators seemed to be an issue but repairmen were there every day and seemed to get better.
The attached bar was a nice place to stop off for a nightcap.
Room was very quiet and good sized.
Bathroom was a little different-I had never seen a shower with no curtain or door-just a glass partition but surprisingly no water went out on to the floor.
Central location was close to everything in downtown area but at least 10 minutes from most places if you have mobility issues.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views,either of city or lake depending on which side of building. South s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear EasternYurp,

I am glad that you chose the Westin Cleveland Downtown for your four day stay in the Cleveland Ohio area. I was happy to read that you had such a positive experience with us as that is our goal to make your time away from your home more personal and enjoyable.

I hope the next time you stay with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown you will be able to enjoy more of our hotel and also the city.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Well, we were delighted by the valet staff when we pulled into this oasis in Downtown Cleveland. Efficient, warm and friendly – and above all patient as we ransacked our car looking for the items we would need for our overnight stay. Unfortunately, the warmth did not convey to the front desk. Don’t know if our receptionist was new or painfully shy, but she simply expended just enough energy to be cooly cordial. I think she actually cringed when my luggage nearly tipped over the roped divide. Embarrassing for me to say the least – she didn’t have to make it worse! But, like I said, her lack of warmth was more than made up for by the wonderful front door staff all of whom greeted us with smiles and comments when we went in and out. The hotel itself is a bit of a surprise. Clearly and old building, it has been redone in very euro-chic coloring and design. It’s not our favorite décor, but we were definitely impressed by the ability to update what must have been tired rooms. It’s a fun stay. We thought it a little expensive, but we did not price-shop because we liked the location so cannot speak to how its prices fit in the Cleveland marketplace.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Babettetravels,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Cleveland Downtown. It was a pleasure to read your review that our staff was overall warm and welcoming. I appreciate your kind words regarding the massive renovations that our property endured. I am very proud of our location downtown Cleveland, Ohio as we are in the center of it all; a beautiful lakefront and an ever growing entertainment district.

I look forward to your next visit when you are in the Cleveland area.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

As other reviews have stated this hotel has struggled to have rooms ready on time for high-volume check-ins. We waited nearly two hours on a Saturday well after check-in for our room. I ended up having to pay a bell-hop $20 to go into the back room and get us a key to a room. I was travelling with my wife for a wedding and we missed the first half-hour of the wedding because we had to rush to get ready. The front desk staff and manager went out of their way to be unhelpful. I even asked for a place to change for the wedding and was directed to the lobby bathroom. Not great customer service.

Mark Anderson the general manager did email me promptly after my stay and apologized for the experience. I just wish they had competent management on site during the check-in disaster.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Bab433,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Cleveland Downtown. I was glad to see that you received my personal email to you regarding your visit with us. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences that you and your wife endured while staying at our property. I am very confident that when you return to the Westin Cleveland Downtown you will have a better overall experience.

We look forward to your next visit so we can provide you the quality stay that you deserve.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed our one night stay this past weekend. GM Mark R (along with Megan and the rest of the staff was incredible). The place is absolutely beautiful and the on site amenities are top notch! They thought of everything during the remodel and the little details are very impressive. Our two-room suite was perfect and had a great night sleep. The BEST part of this Westin is the on site Steakhouse Urban Farmer. We started with the cheese cart, then the beef tartare, along with oysters (both perfect). My wife had the filet and I had their top of the line ribeye. Up to this point Red the Steakhouse was my fav, not anymore, best ribeye I've ever had!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear BVHBILLY,

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife stay with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. I'm elated to hear what a great time you both had, it means a lot that you enjoy all the fine touches we have put into our hotel. It was wonderful to hear that you took advantage of Urban Farmer and dined with them, it is truly a premier steakhouse.

We look forward to you both returning to the hotel and enjoying our property.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This newly renovated property was opened just 6 weeks ago. Service is up to Westin standards. Amenities were good. Nice lobby. Good bar. (Didn't try the food.) Nice layout for meetings. But the building needed 2 more elevators. Making it worse, one of the four was usually down. It consistently took 10 minutes to get a car and to get to the 20th floor ... so take a room on a lower floor! Second, if you are traveling with a companion who is not an intimate companion the sliding bathroom door ... with the window was odd (tempered glass ... but not tempered enough! On the plus side, the shower was nice. Finally, some of the room layouts are odd. I had a great line of site view ... of the commode from my bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor but still with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
AutsinTravelMan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. We are very glad to hear that you appreciate the decor of our newly renovated property. Although all elevators were not functioning during your stay, we look forward to your next visit when they are and then your review will reflect a title of "Amazing".

Thank you again for being our guest at the Westin Cleveland Downtown.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Address: 777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cleveland Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new energy to the financial district, The Westin Cleveland Downtown recently completed a $64 million dollar transformation. The hotel sits between the convention center and the galleria, and is located within blocks of The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame & Museum, Indians' stadium, Browns Stadium, Horseshoe Casino and East 4th Entertainment District. The hotel is pending LEED certified, and is comprised of 484 upscale guest rooms that provide stunning views of Lake Erie and the vibrant cityscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cleveland
Cleveland Crowne Plaza
The Westin Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.