We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to top the Cleveland Ritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's hard to top the Cleveland Ritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I recently stayed at the Cleveland Ritz-Carlton for 3 nights on a business trip. I have nothing but good things to say about my stay. First, the staff was friendly and attentive. Heck, they even brought me mini pieces of chocolate each of the evenings I was there (including the evening I checked in)! The rooms and beds were nice, the air conditioning worked very well, allowing me to sleep well, and the wireless internet service was reasonably fast. Various newspapers (New York Times, Cleveland Plain Dealer, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and The Financial Times) were also available for free in the lobby area, and as a voracious newspaper reader, the newspaper availability was appreciated. The staff also did a fine job of cleaning the room and restocking the supplies. Additionally, the hotel's location can't be beat - it is in the heart of downtown Cleveland, in the Tower City complex, meaning that various restaurants and other services were nearby. Because the hotel was in Tower City, that also meant I didn't need to rent a car - I took the Cleveland RTA Red Line (i.e. the Rapid) from the airport to the Tower City station and had to only go up a few escalators to reach the hotel (though I will say the Tower City indoor plaza/mall area is pretty confusing initially). The hotel's location near Cleveland's rail transit lines and fairly new bus rapid transit line allowed me to check out all of those services and a couple of non-downtown locations (especially Shaker Square) after the conference's sessions were over for the day. The Ritz-Carlton is also within walking distance of Progressive Field, home of the Cleveland Indians, and I was able to attend a pair of Indians games during my stay. About the only complaint (a very minor one) I have about the hotel is you need to use your room card in the elevator to get to your floor.

The Cleveland Ritz-Carlton is an excellent hotel for business trips, and if you have the money to spend would likely be excellent for leisure trips too. I'm not sure if the Cleveland Ritz is classified as a 5 star hotel, but service-wise it definitely struck me as a 5 star hotel. If I could stay there again for business I'd definitely be interested in doing so.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    127
    49
    13
    14
See reviews for
75
194
27
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Did two nights at the Ritz Carlton in Cleveland while visiting the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. This was the first time we stayed at a Ritz and we loved it. Great service, they fall all over you. The rooms were nice and they did not nickel and dime you. It was very nice experience staying there and we felt like we were special. The spa treatments were fabulous and reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

After almost a week of travel and several hotels, it was nice to settle at the
ritz for two nights. Our accommodations were upgraded to the club level, where we enjoyed a continental breakfast and lots of food to nibble on during the day. I enjoyed the pool, which was big enough for swimming laps. The staff was friendly and efficient. When I told the concierge that my clock was set to standard not daylight time and that the bulb was out in my room, these two minor things were promptly repaired.
This is more of a business Ritz - it is in downtown Cleveland - but it is in walking distance of the basketball arena and baseball stadium, and I could walk inside from the hotel to the arena, which was very much appreciated on a chilly Cleveland day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Overall the whole experience was fantastic. We went for a girl's week-end away and can't say enough about how helpful and caring the staff was. They even comped us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a welcome gift. The rooms were spacious and beautiful having been redone last year. We used the spa services and both got the hot stone massage which was heavenly. It was pricey but sooo worth it. Had dinner Sat. night in the Muse restaurant and the meal, ambience and service was perfect. The Easter Sunday brunch was "over the top". The only negative I can come up with was the room service breakfast food was somewhat disappointing in taste. The presentation was beautiful but I've had much better Eggs Benedict, French toast and corned beef hash elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pa.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Just returned from a great weekend at the Ritz Carlton. Downtown Cleveland is nothing special, especially with young children in your party, but the Ritz was perfect. We arrived after 4pm, and our room was not ready. They wonderfully upgraded up (at a steep discount - not completely free) to the Club Floor which saved our weekend. What a way to stay at a hotel. They had lovely food and drink presentations and unbeatable staff (Shaq and Emilia!). Abdel who checked us in was wonderful as well. For a Ritz, this is not what I would call a "luxury" hotel - it was very nice, immaculately clean and the staff were absolutely amazing. I would recommend a stay here to anyone. The only thing we did not do was eat in the hotel restaurant, but I have heard from others it is very good. If you need to be in downtown Cleveland, this is a great choice. Oh - and the spa is wonderful. Nice size pool, beautiful lockerooms - great steam baths. nice work out facilities and even massage services.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

I've never stayed at a Ritz-Carlton, but can tell you that my experience at this property was fantastic. My husband took me here for our first anniversary and it was a wonderful experience. From the second you enter the hotel, you are treated like royalty. They're practically running to open doors for you. The rooms are beautiful and recently renovated. The restaurant, MUSE, is unbelievable and great for breakfast, lunch AND dinner. I really can't say enough about the fresh cuisine prepared all day long. We also enjoyed the cocktail hour in the lobby lounge. We dined on a couple of appetizers that were fabulous -- we were so full we almost couldn't eat dinner! It really was a wonderful time. The staff is amazing and the accommodations are great. The best part is that it didn't cost us an arm and a leg! One might expect this from the name, but it just wasn't the case. Affordable luxury does exist after all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

A small ground level foyer is the entry point to your stay at this hotel. The elegant and formal lobby is on the sixth floor. This level also includes a lobby lounge complete with a small bar area and a fireplace. The hotel restaurant Muse and some ballrooms can also be found on this floor.

The recently renovated rooms are nice, more contemporary than other areas of the hotel, but a are still a little plain overall. The room size was decent and had a large window to let in light. There was the standard desk with chair, along with a separate chair that should have had an ottoman with it. The table tops were all a nice sandstone colored marble. The bathroom was full of white marble, but it was a basic bathroom with a tub/shower combination, single sink and no separate water closet.

The hotel has a nice but small gym and a good sized pool and hot tub. Both of these areas have windows which always enhances the space. The locker rooms are very nice looking with ample use of marble and have both steam and sauna rooms. Spa services are also available which we did not use.

We had breakfast in Muse, the service was very pleasant and the food good. The decor was more modern looking than the other common areas and included a fireplace.

The hotel seems nicely located, on the edge of the relatively compact downtown Cleveland. The hotel is also connected to an underground shopping area and suburban transportation center.

Renovated rooms, nice amenities, and good service all created the best choice in town for us.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
#16 of 35 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.