We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be A Rock Star
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Chappaqua, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This Ritz Carlton is very nice. What sets it apart from other hotel choices here is the fantastic Ritz service. Friendly, helpful, and always attentive makes one feel at home immediately. The club level added to the experience, and was well worth the extra cost. The fine breakfast, afternoon appetizers and beverages, including champagne make it feel like home (if your home had wonderful, friendly people setting out a lovely repast at every hour for you -- also complementary room service coffee is included with club level!!)

Room Tip: Pay for club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Seaskifamily,
Thank you so very much for your glowing remarks and feedback. We pride ourselves on the genuine service and the Club experience is so very special. I am fortunate to have a world class team of Ladies and Gentlemen that love to serve and care for our guests We are delighted to have you in our home and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    103
    40
    12
    13
See reviews for
62
158
20
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Everyone here is World class. The hotel is a grand old icon. The rooms perfect. And is the whole staff. From the valet to check in everyone here treats you like an old friend. Can't say enough about this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Good Morning Ohioweliketotravel,
Thank you so very much for your positive comments. We are so delighted to serve you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My family and I stopped in for a short stay while visiting the Rock N Roll hall of fame as part of a road trip. We were treated very well by the staff and our suites were very nice. Although the hotel could use a little upgrading in terms of furnishings etc (there were stains on all of our sofa's) the rooms were spotlessly clean. When we checked in the hotel made an error in booking and did not tell us they could not connect our two one bedroom suites so that we could be close to our kids. In fact the suites were completely around the corner from each other., Never fret, Ritz service standards were exceeded, when the manager move the room next door. Although the room was only a king room and still could not connect at least it was next door. The manager also reduced the rate, threw in some free movies and club lounge access for all of our guests traveling with us. This served as a real benefit since the kids were able to enjoy all of the treats available throughout the day. People like Ms.Alice and Demetrius made our stay so enjoyable with their friendly demeanor and helpful tips that we would make this our first choice whenever visiting Cleveland. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the stadiums downtown and a short trolley away from the Hall and Science center. Also, there are quite a few nice restaurants within walking distance as well.

Room Tip: The corner 1 Bedroom suites have the best views and great space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear BucketList07853,

Wow and thank you for such a wonderful review! Thank you for the recognition of our Ms. Alice, Ms. Amy and Mr. Demetrius and our Ladies and Gentlemen. I am so fortunate to have a fabulous team and so delighted that they took such genuine care. I hope you enjoyed your time in our fantastic city, Cleveland. I would be honored to have you return in the future where you will find many plans of enhancements with decor and service I am glad that we were able to solve and resolve the opportunity with the connectors as well.
Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton, Cleveland for two nights. The hotel is old, but immaculately clean.
The rooms were pretty large and bright, lots of sunlight. They give you plenty of personal items, like lotions, shampoo, even a toothbrush and paste, shavers. They give you an abundant amount of washcloths and towels. I love not having to ask for extras. The staff is very friendly, yet very professional. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or a corner room, very spacious
See more room tips
Green Features: Yes, they have a green code. You can choose to use you're linens over again, or use fresh linens. It's you're choice
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear TecumsehKathy,
Thank you so very much for your kind response and feedback. I am honored to work with such an amazing team of Ladies and Gentlemen! I love that we have anticipated your needs as we truly want to ensure your comfort. Please know we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton is our preferred hotel every time we visit Cleveland, it never disappoints! The rooms are nice and beds comfortable. It is within walking distance to many downtown dining establishments and activities, also close proximity to the Horseshoe Casino.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear DiamondPlus,

What a wonderful review and thank you so very much. I will be delighted to share with our Ladies and Gentlemen. We all appreciate your loyalty and look forward to having you return.
I look forward to meeting you.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

You get what you pay for but there was something missing.
Hotel is old and has been renovated. Staff was cordial. Valet was extremely friendly
Note: valet parking us expensive-$28/day
We were only staying one night and would have explored options to park if we were staying longer.
Beds were outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Jerry U,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I am always thankful and welcome the gift of feedback. So happy you were comfortable and please do not hesitate to contact me when you find yourself returning to Cleveland. I am delighted to assist you.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent two nights at Cleveland's Ritz Carlton on Public Square. We were in town for a wedding at the Silver Grille, the old restaurant in the former Higbee's Department Store, now an event space. Parenthetically, the Silver Grille is one of the most beautiful 1930's period deco rooms in the world, not so much restored as preserved.. And the Ritz Carlton is a lovely hotel: very comfortable, completely updated, but relatively small, with old-fashioned touches (oriental rugs, classic furniture, etc.). The beds were extremely comfortable. Rooms and public spaces offered all the amenities you'd expect. The friendly staff couldn't have been nicer or tried any harder to make us as happy as possible. The "kids" in our party stayed nearby at the Renaissance -- their rooms and public spaces were nowhere as nice. (The Renaissance is overdue for a renovation, but that's another story). We were very glad we'd decided on the Ritz Carlton. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was a bit pricey (of course, it's a hotel after all) but very good. Delicious and high quality. There are many excellent restaurants very close by, including the Tazza Grill (Lebanese) where the "rehearsal dinner" was held; also, I understand, there's a terrific fish restaurant just a few doors down from the Tazza Grill. All and all, if you're looking for a hotel in downtown Cleveland, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear GoGirlToo,
What a wonderful and impressive review from all aspects. Thank you for taking your valuable time to communicate and provide this gift. I will be sure and share with our Ladies and Gentlemen. So delighted that you enjoyed all the charm and elegance of Cleveland. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.