We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Downtown Cleveland, This Is The Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In Downtown Cleveland, This Is The Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent two nights at Cleveland's Ritz Carlton on Public Square. We were in town for a wedding at the Silver Grille, the old restaurant in the former Higbee's Department Store, now an event space. Parenthetically, the Silver Grille is one of the most beautiful 1930's period deco rooms in the world, not so much restored as preserved.. And the Ritz Carlton is a lovely hotel: very comfortable, completely updated, but relatively small, with old-fashioned touches (oriental rugs, classic furniture, etc.). The beds were extremely comfortable. Rooms and public spaces offered all the amenities you'd expect. The friendly staff couldn't have been nicer or tried any harder to make us as happy as possible. The "kids" in our party stayed nearby at the Renaissance -- their rooms and public spaces were nowhere as nice. (The Renaissance is overdue for a renovation, but that's another story). We were very glad we'd decided on the Ritz Carlton. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was a bit pricey (of course, it's a hotel after all) but very good. Delicious and high quality. There are many excellent restaurants very close by, including the Tazza Grill (Lebanese) where the "rehearsal dinner" was held; also, I understand, there's a terrific fish restaurant just a few doors down from the Tazza Grill. All and all, if you're looking for a hotel in downtown Cleveland, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear GoGirlToo,
What a wonderful and impressive review from all aspects. Thank you for taking your valuable time to communicate and provide this gift. I will be sure and share with our Ladies and Gentlemen. So delighted that you enjoyed all the charm and elegance of Cleveland. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    131
    50
    13
    14
See reviews for
79
200
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was very excited about getting to stay at the Ritz-Carlton Cleveland and they did not disappoint. From check in to check out our hotel stay was flawless. I was traveling with my parents and reserved a room with 2 double beds. I had anticipated a typically small hotel room, but to our surprise the room was quite large with a desk & 2 chairs, comfy chair with ottoman and a walk in closet. Our room typically is a mess after 2 days but with our entire luggage fitting in the closet it kept the room clean & clutter free during our stay. The Ritz-Carlton is very convenient to everything downtown - the mall & Casino are attached to the hotel through the adjacent building. On one of our rainy days we were able to get around to the Hard Rock Cafe & Movie Theater without ever having to go outside. Very beautiful and convenient hotel, will stay here again on my next trip to Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Straycat03,
I am so delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience thoroughly. It is always a great feeling when you explore the unknown and the expectations are exceeded. I am so happy that you found yourself with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Classy Hotel in the heart of Downtown Cleveland. Walking distance to many bars and restaurants. They treated us wonderfully. We were on the 12th floor, with a view of both the water and the city. This room was comped by Horseshoe Casino, so we were not sure what to expect. Way beyond expectations. It is attached to a mall, and you can get to the Casino without going outside, if you choose. We will be back !

Room Tip: Choose a higher room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Straycat03,
I am so delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience thoroughly. It is always a great feeling when you explore the unknown and the expectations are exceeded. I am so happy that you found yourself with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a perfect example of the classic elegance that never goes out of style. Everything about the hotel is classic. It is located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, with a multitude of fabulous restaurants two to three blocks away. The mall that is adjacent to the hotel is a plus. Sports facilities and shopping and close.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Jeannie G,
I wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your review and such glowing remarks. We are so thrilled that our hotel and Cleveland has so much to offer our guests as they explore and indulge in all that is offered.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is nice hotel using about 3 floors of a high rise. Classic good quality rooms and amenities. I had a nice river view. Very quiet, bar service shuts down at 10:00. Not sure if you can get breakfast. Good valet crew. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: River view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear orv m,
Thank you for your positive comments. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Our hotel has services that are available around the clock and will look into the concern you expressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had stayed here many years ago, and returned to attend an event held in Cleveland, and find the time to "newlyweds".. The Ritz has the reputation of Excellence, and they never lets you down. Superior service and attention to detail, with the warmth of home... we WILL be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Angela P,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay. Our staff was thrilled to learn about your glowing service experience and look forward to welcoming you back to your Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland home away from home.

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Probably great for business uses, but as a destination for a couple vacationing, not the best. The only other Ritz-Carlton I've stayed in was in Jakarta, but the Cleveland Ritz doesn't even match the standard room in the Marriott in Manila, Philippines!
The rooms were clean, the staff was kind, but there wasn't any extra splash that let you know that staying in the Ritz Cleveland was a special event.
If you check in after 2300 hrs (11 pm), even if you're a couple in a tuxedo and wedding dress, expect to unload your own bags, wait for a valet, then wait at the check-in counter behind an irate guest arguing with the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Josiah S,

Thank you so very much for your valuable feedback and kind words about our staff. I would like to apologize that your check-in process did not meet your expectations in providing a warm welcome. I would also like to share that we are in the development stages of an exciting property design improvement plan that will enhance the guest experience. If you would like to discuss further, I may be contacted at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland at 216.902.5270.

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.