We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Ritz Experience Downtown Cleveland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Classic Ritz Experience Downtown Cleveland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is nice hotel using about 3 floors of a high rise. Classic good quality rooms and amenities. I had a nice river view. Very quiet, bar service shuts down at 10:00. Not sure if you can get breakfast. Good valet crew. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: River view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear orv m,
Thank you for your positive comments. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Our hotel has services that are available around the clock and will look into the concern you expressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    131
    50
    13
    14
See reviews for
79
200
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had stayed here many years ago, and returned to attend an event held in Cleveland, and find the time to "newlyweds".. The Ritz has the reputation of Excellence, and they never lets you down. Superior service and attention to detail, with the warmth of home... we WILL be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Angela P,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay. Our staff was thrilled to learn about your glowing service experience and look forward to welcoming you back to your Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland home away from home.

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Probably great for business uses, but as a destination for a couple vacationing, not the best. The only other Ritz-Carlton I've stayed in was in Jakarta, but the Cleveland Ritz doesn't even match the standard room in the Marriott in Manila, Philippines!
The rooms were clean, the staff was kind, but there wasn't any extra splash that let you know that staying in the Ritz Cleveland was a special event.
If you check in after 2300 hrs (11 pm), even if you're a couple in a tuxedo and wedding dress, expect to unload your own bags, wait for a valet, then wait at the check-in counter behind an irate guest arguing with the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Josiah S,

Thank you so very much for your valuable feedback and kind words about our staff. I would like to apologize that your check-in process did not meet your expectations in providing a warm welcome. I would also like to share that we are in the development stages of an exciting property design improvement plan that will enhance the guest experience. If you would like to discuss further, I may be contacted at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland at 216.902.5270.

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ritz in Cleveland for one night. The rate was great as we booked it through the Horseshoe Casino website. The hotel is connected to the Tower City Shopping Complex, I understand is a renovated train station. The lobby was nice but was small for a high end hotel. The parking garage is not in the best of condition for a $16 daily rate for hotel guests. The room was nicely furnished but not as spacious as other high end hotels I stayed before. You can walk from the hotel to the Horseshoe Casino through an indoor passage which was convenient. I would give my experience an ok and average.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Bread69,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. The hotel location is indeed convenient to the Horseshoe Casino, Tower City Shopping Complex and also the Walkway into the Quicken Loans Arena. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon so we may provide you with a memorable Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland service experience.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I like the Cleveland Ritz Carlton. My wife, son and I stayed there for three nights for an anniversary, baseball, Rock 'N Roll Hall of Fame trip. Like the City of Cleveland itself, it works hard to project a positive image, but a few issues are clearly visible.

The location is great. It is a short walk to the baseball park, and a slightly longer walk to the Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame (we drove to the latter because my wife had recently had an operation). It is close to the small, but attractive Warehouse District on 6th St. and the pedestrian mall on 4th Street with lots of restaurants, bars and live music.

The room and public areas are vintage Ritz: gleaming wood, shiny crystal, oriental rugs and an air of elegance. Service is a real plus. Everyone is friendly from the parking attendants to the waitresses to the club floor attendants. Just what you would expect from a Ritz. In fact, even better because staff were genuinely friendly in addition to the courtesy one expects from Ritz staff.

Speaking of the Club Floor. We got a "Stay 3 nights, pay for 2" deal for around $400.00 per night. This is a little more than we typically pay, but food and drinks on the club level were included, as well as valet parking. We thought it was a good value. The appetizers were very tasty; lunch and breakfast were nice as well. The Staff was great. I loved the multiple newspapers and magazines in the Club Lounge. Unlike other Ritz Carltons, however the furniture in the club was slightly tattered. Two upholstered armchairs were soiled and in desperate need of steam cleaning. This has been noted in other reviews, so why management doesn't tend to this immediately is a mystery.

Our room was elegant, roomy and clean. The bathroom was filled with complimentary items, including a razor and toothbrush. Housekeeping was impeccable.

We stopped in for a drink at the bar. No bartender was present, but our server cheerfully noted that she was doubling as the bartender. This was a little surprising since we were there on a Saturday night.

I worked out at the health club. It had the usual elegant locker room, but a little less equipment than one usually finds at a Ritz.

We did get a welcome e-mail soliciting anything we might need. I wrote back and asked a few questions, but got no response. I found this odd given the "we try harder" attitude of the staff while we were there.

We were given wonderful chocolates in the shape of guitars and a personal note for our anniversary, and our son got cookies with a note that the hotel hoped he enjoyed the baseball game.

So on the whole, this is a great hotel. I would stay again. It needs just a few tweaks to be top drawer, and I am rooting for this place because the people who work there are so likeable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear stropertre,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review, glowing comments and valuable feedback regarding your recent family experience in our hotel. The Ritz-Carlton Club Lounge Concierges were thrilled to learn of their genuinely friendly service and that you enjoyed the fun rock-themed chocolates. I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you about the our design plans to refresh and revitalize our hotel that are currently under development and any other service issues that fell short of your expectation. I may be contacted directly at The Ritz-Carlton at 216.902.5270. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel hopefully soon!

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in late June. Room was fine, as you would expect for these rates. However, there was only one functioning elevator for the duration of the stay, with no explanation nor apology provided. Also, service in the Muse dining room (dinner and breakfast) was very slow. And, even though slow, a standard breakfast came without the potatoes ordered. Disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 398Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland. I apologize for the service you experienced in Muse as it does not live up to our Ritz-Carlton standards. I spoke with our culinary team to retrain and re-energize timeliness of service and correct meal orders. I am sorry that you also experienced the hotel elevator repair with us. Safety is very important to us and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. Please know I am available to discuss further at 216.902.5270. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon so we may provide you with a much improved and memorable service experience.

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a comped offer from Horseshoe Cleveland. Our first impression of this hotel was great, it was beautiful and the staff were very friendly upon check in. In fact, every employee we encountered during our stay was wonderful.

The room was clean, spacious, and stayed cool despite the 80+ degree temperatures outside. The hotel is connected to small shopping center, with a movie theatre, food court, some office buildings, and Horseshoe Casino. If you're coming in for a short stay, you may not have to leave the premises.

We attended an Indians game while in town and Progressive Field was about a ten minute walk away. We were also within about a ten minute walk to 4th Street and the Warehouse District. Perfect location; we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear MichiganderTravelers,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review and glowing comments. I so appreciate you taking the time to write and look forward to sharing with our service professionals of Ladies and Gentlemen. Looking forward to meeting you and welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#2 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.