We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel with a Wonderful Staff, but a Couple of Issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel with a Wonderful Staff, but a Couple of Issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I like the Cleveland Ritz Carlton. My wife, son and I stayed there for three nights for an anniversary, baseball, Rock 'N Roll Hall of Fame trip. Like the City of Cleveland itself, it works hard to project a positive image, but a few issues are clearly visible.

The location is great. It is a short walk to the baseball park, and a slightly longer walk to the Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame (we drove to the latter because my wife had recently had an operation). It is close to the small, but attractive Warehouse District on 6th St. and the pedestrian mall on 4th Street with lots of restaurants, bars and live music.

The room and public areas are vintage Ritz: gleaming wood, shiny crystal, oriental rugs and an air of elegance. Service is a real plus. Everyone is friendly from the parking attendants to the waitresses to the club floor attendants. Just what you would expect from a Ritz. In fact, even better because staff were genuinely friendly in addition to the courtesy one expects from Ritz staff.

Speaking of the Club Floor. We got a "Stay 3 nights, pay for 2" deal for around $400.00 per night. This is a little more than we typically pay, but food and drinks on the club level were included, as well as valet parking. We thought it was a good value. The appetizers were very tasty; lunch and breakfast were nice as well. The Staff was great. I loved the multiple newspapers and magazines in the Club Lounge. Unlike other Ritz Carltons, however the furniture in the club was slightly tattered. Two upholstered armchairs were soiled and in desperate need of steam cleaning. This has been noted in other reviews, so why management doesn't tend to this immediately is a mystery.

Our room was elegant, roomy and clean. The bathroom was filled with complimentary items, including a razor and toothbrush. Housekeeping was impeccable.

We stopped in for a drink at the bar. No bartender was present, but our server cheerfully noted that she was doubling as the bartender. This was a little surprising since we were there on a Saturday night.

I worked out at the health club. It had the usual elegant locker room, but a little less equipment than one usually finds at a Ritz.

We did get a welcome e-mail soliciting anything we might need. I wrote back and asked a few questions, but got no response. I found this odd given the "we try harder" attitude of the staff while we were there.

We were given wonderful chocolates in the shape of guitars and a personal note for our anniversary, and our son got cookies with a note that the hotel hoped he enjoyed the baseball game.

So on the whole, this is a great hotel. I would stay again. It needs just a few tweaks to be top drawer, and I am rooting for this place because the people who work there are so likeable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear stropertre,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review, glowing comments and valuable feedback regarding your recent family experience in our hotel. The Ritz-Carlton Club Lounge Concierges were thrilled to learn of their genuinely friendly service and that you enjoyed the fun rock-themed chocolates. I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you about the our design plans to refresh and revitalize our hotel that are currently under development and any other service issues that fell short of your expectation. I may be contacted directly at The Ritz-Carlton at 216.902.5270. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel hopefully soon!

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    122
    44
    14
    14
See reviews for
72
185
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in late June. Room was fine, as you would expect for these rates. However, there was only one functioning elevator for the duration of the stay, with no explanation nor apology provided. Also, service in the Muse dining room (dinner and breakfast) was very slow. And, even though slow, a standard breakfast came without the potatoes ordered. Disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 398Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland. I apologize for the service you experienced in Muse as it does not live up to our Ritz-Carlton standards. I spoke with our culinary team to retrain and re-energize timeliness of service and correct meal orders. I am sorry that you also experienced the hotel elevator repair with us. Safety is very important to us and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. Please know I am available to discuss further at 216.902.5270. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon so we may provide you with a much improved and memorable service experience.

Warm regards,

Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a comped offer from Horseshoe Cleveland. Our first impression of this hotel was great, it was beautiful and the staff were very friendly upon check in. In fact, every employee we encountered during our stay was wonderful.

The room was clean, spacious, and stayed cool despite the 80+ degree temperatures outside. The hotel is connected to small shopping center, with a movie theatre, food court, some office buildings, and Horseshoe Casino. If you're coming in for a short stay, you may not have to leave the premises.

We attended an Indians game while in town and Progressive Field was about a ten minute walk away. We were also within about a ten minute walk to 4th Street and the Warehouse District. Perfect location; we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear MichiganderTravelers,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review and glowing comments. I so appreciate you taking the time to write and look forward to sharing with our service professionals of Ladies and Gentlemen. Looking forward to meeting you and welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel almost looks a bit misplaced. The entrance is confusing but the quality and service confirms the promise of the Ritz name. If you have to be in Cleveland, this is probably THE place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

In Cleveland on business, but it's my home town....hadn't visited downtown in many years...was astounded at how well the city looked and felt....great vibe....lots happening ......young people all over town....the hotel was superb...perfect location....wonderful staff....14th floor (club level) was great......bar and restaurant were terrific......within walking distance of many attractions

Room Tip: had a city view (not bad)....lake might be better.....club floor (14th) is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear restoman2020,

Thank you so very much for your fabulous comments. I will be sure and share the positive experience you had with our Ladies and Gentlemen. We so appreciate this recognition and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My sister and I stayed here so we could see a show at the Quicken Loans Arena next door. We were able to walk through the mall and down to a tunnel that takes you to the arena. It was very convenient! Also, we had a beautiful view of the water from our window. I would urge the hotel to be more cautious about people sneaking up to the penthouse floor, however. There was an old-school "boy band" playing a show nearby, and there were women coming up to the top floor to see if they could find the guys. (I do not think they even stayed in town, as we were right near the penthouse and saw nobody around.)

Overall, the restaurant in the hotel is amazing. That was my favorite part. Quite upscale!

Oh, and the plush bed was also something very memorable. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud!

Room Tip: There's a little room right next to the penthouse with a great view of the water. Ask for it!
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel seems to adhere to environmentally-friendly practices, yes. However, they are completely nice about it if you want clean towels daily, etc.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were recently here on a business trip. It is a beautiful old hotel. Rooms nicely appointed and super comfortable beds. Service was top notch. The only issue we had was our room was not ready when we arrived, but they handled the problem very well. We also ate there with our conference. Food was excellent. Dinner buffet was phenomenal. Everything fresh and delicious!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
Ritz Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.