We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed 3 days for a work trip and absolutely loved it! The hotel is connected to the mall (awesome) that is connected to the casino (also awesome) so it's just perfect. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in bed both mornings and it was delivered fast and hot. Beds were the best! Close to lake, stadiums and plenty of places to eat. All around great trip!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    112
    42
    12
    13
See reviews for
68
172
24
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A weekend at the Ritz-Carlton is as close to perfect as one can get. Breakfast at Muse restaurant was delicious, the atmosphere calm and relaxing, the attention and care of the servers was exceptional. Every staff member we encountered was so friendly. The rooms were nice, the bathrooms ... luxury! And the beds were the best! Valet service was very good, a big thank you to Nick ... he was right there every time to help with taxis, getting a wheelchair in and out, and welcoming us back like family coming home. Thank you to the Ritz and LifeIsGoodNoMatterWhat.org for making this weekend a family-time we will never forget!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Have stayed here at least a dozen times. Valet is always very good and efficient. Hotel has a classic old school charm that is nice. Not one of the better RCs ive stayed in though. The rooms could use a little TLC but beds and comforter are always top notch. Great location in the heart of downtown and indirectly attached to the HorseShoe Casino. Walking distance to some of the finer restaurants and the warehouse district. Service is decent, although the small front desk could use some help during busy weekend check ins.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This Ritz Carlton is a perfect example of why the limited service hotels, with their distinct formula re succeeding to please masses while the luxury hotels like the RCs lose market share.
I am handed a pre-checked key card but no one informs me anout the 2 different elevators that I have to take to get to my room. I fnd the room to be in front of the ice mchine/vending area. As you can imagine ice plunging in a bucket is never silent. The room is well appointed but as soon as you visually strip some of the upgrades [marble, bur wood] it is no deifferent than the limited hotels inclusive of the mass produce art work in the room. I had to kneel on the floor to plug the electrical chord of my computer. This is not luxury. Pillows are maddeningly soft requiring, 3 of them to rest your head. I went to the lobby to grab a cup of coffee and the urn was empty.
I told a robust lady at the front desk that the coffee urn was empty to her response "coffe is empty?" and no additional service was offered. I assume she called "another deparftment" to fill the urn while she contionued chatting away with her co-worker. I ordered a chicken soup, it ended up being nothing special, made of tiny unevenly cut vegetables and floating "cornish hen bits and pieces" served with spungy bread and it was not hot. When travellers are out of their elements and they want to remind themselves of ....home the "chicken soup" of all things.. has to be miracolously well prepaerd. I ordered Eggs Benedict the next morning. The dish was well prepared, Hollandaise a bit bland and the OJ well chilled. Service was quick and efficient.
The lobby bar was void of ay background music and you had to ask for the complimentary snacks.
I found most employees to be extremely service oriented

Room Tip: if you must stay ast the RC choose a room away from the ice machine hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Pasha55711,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland. I apologize for the service you experienced as it does not live up to our Ritz-Carlton standards. I spoke with our operational team as soon as the feedback was received and will use this information to retrain and re-energize in the areas that did not meet your expectations.

Please know I am available at your convenience as I wish to restore your faith in my Ladies and Gentlemen and myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The staff at the Ritz are the best. They greeted us as we arrived and were very knowledgeable. The rooms and bathrooms were well maintained. I was very happy with the level of service we received at this hotel. Our walk to and from the casino at the late hours were not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were in Cleveland visiting a very sick family member that was in the Hospital. After a long drive and spending 2 hours visiting, we headed over to check in.
We were greeted pleasantly by Nicholas right away (valet). Royston took our luggage and ushered us to check in. Royston was very welcoming. Nakish checked us in rather quickly and turned us back over to Royston. Royston gave us the hotel layout as we headed to our room.
Once inside, Royston left us feeling welcomed.
We decided to head down to the lounge area for a lite snack before heading to bed.
Lounge had a few customers in watching basketball. We were taken care of by La Ray. Placed our order and sat back to relax and digest the long day we just completed.
La Ray was pleasant and took good care of us.
Service received thus far was exceptional.

The following morning we ordered breakfast for two from room service. Erin brought our order. Food and service again- exceptional.
We spent the day away from the Hotel, but planned on returning for the 6 on 6 in the lounge that we read so much about.
La Ray was working the lounge again and had a pretty decent crowd. We ordered items off of the regular menu (flat iron steak sandwich, burger, and club) and had a drink while we waited. Food, beverage and service all exceptional.
The next morning we decided to have breakfast at Muse. Deanna took good care with us and set us up for a super day.
Sadly it was time to check out so we called for a bell hop. Enter- Khalid. Friendly and efficient, he made sure we had all of our personal items from the room and we were off. Valet had brought our car around before we made it outside- superior service.
We will definitely visit again.

Yes, the hotel furniture is showing its age but it does not take away from the level of service we received and the food lived up to Ritz standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Ritz is generally the best place to stay in Cleveland and i have stayed here in the past as well. It was striking that the place was starting to look tired and is need of refurbishment. Lobby service was average - front desk did not seem to be aware that i have stayed there before. Rooms were spacious and well appointed as per Ritz standards - only compliant was that everything felt a little old and tired. Bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean.

Had to get to a different place for dinner and requested cab service - the front desk dropped the ball on that and had to wait 20 minutes for another cab to come and reached my destination late. This is not Ritz service.

Breakfast in the room was expensive but very good - arrived on time, was hot and well setup and tasty - provided a great start to the day.

Cab to the airport was similarly delayed - they need to work out a better system to communicate between the front desk and the desk at the lower level that calls cabs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Wings_Wheels,

Thank you so very much for your loyalty and your valuable feedback. I am very apologetic about the transportation issues that you experienced. I will discuss with our teams how we can improve the communication and ease of request for a seamless experience for you and our guests in the future. Please know I am available should you need anything in the future.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
Ritz Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.