We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality experience in Cleveland; needs renovation and better front desk service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be A Rock Star
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quality experience in Cleveland; needs renovation and better front desk service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Ritz is generally the best place to stay in Cleveland and i have stayed here in the past as well. It was striking that the place was starting to look tired and is need of refurbishment. Lobby service was average - front desk did not seem to be aware that i have stayed there before. Rooms were spacious and well appointed as per Ritz standards - only compliant was that everything felt a little old and tired. Bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean.

Had to get to a different place for dinner and requested cab service - the front desk dropped the ball on that and had to wait 20 minutes for another cab to come and reached my destination late. This is not Ritz service.

Breakfast in the room was expensive but very good - arrived on time, was hot and well setup and tasty - provided a great start to the day.

Cab to the airport was similarly delayed - they need to work out a better system to communicate between the front desk and the desk at the lower level that calls cabs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Wings_Wheels,

Thank you so very much for your loyalty and your valuable feedback. I am very apologetic about the transportation issues that you experienced. I will discuss with our teams how we can improve the communication and ease of request for a seamless experience for you and our guests in the future. Please know I am available should you need anything in the future.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    102
    39
    12
    13
See reviews for
60
156
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have stayed at the Ritz many times and it is first class. Wonderful service. Impeccable rooms. However, if you want to enjoy an evening at the Horseshoe casino, good luck. The clientele, to be frank, is dangerous and the security is there to protect only its biggest gamblers. That means, if a thug comes and wants your seat, you better get up. Go to Windsor where you will be safe or anywhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night while we were in town visiting family. I can't say enough great things about the hotel and staff. We were in a club room and the lounge and room were both incredible. We will be back every time we are in town.

Room Tip: Go for the Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

It is probably the nicest hotel in Cleveland but doesn't feel like a Ritz. The rooms are small and are in need of some TLC. Drinks and food are expensive. Overall it feels more like an Autograph than a Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear WorldTraveler 50226,

Your feedback is so appreciated and The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland is in the planning stages of a major property enhancement. I hope your next visit will exceed your expectations. I am available at your convenience if I may be of any assistance for future plans.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Last night was our second stay. This hotel is beautiful and the staff is some of the friendliest and most helpful; the doormen, valets, bell desk, front desk, and maids met in the hall. The room is beautiful, very clean, and the bed is comfortable. No noise to keep me up Unfortunately, though assured they could and had, they could not give us room not filled with a perfumed scent. This perfume is also prevalent throughout the hotel. For people with asthma and emphysema with a sensitivity to scents this is a very real problem. So if you have no such problem I highly recommend the hotel. If you gamble at the Casino, discounts go up to completely comped.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Areways,

Thank you so very much for your comments. You are a valued guest of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland. I so appreciate this feedback so that we can ensure your comfort. I have noted your preference and will ensure that we have a scent free-guest room for your future stays. Upon making your reservation, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so that we can anticipate your needs.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have been a guest at this hotel a number of time and always had a good experience in the past. However this most recent visit was surprising and very disappointing. Here are some of the disappointing elements.

Arrival: On prior visits, you were warmly greeted in the downstairs lobby and asked your name. Then they would radio this upstairs so that you were greeted personally once you got out of the elevator. Very nice touch. It didn't happen this time, which isn't a big deal, but the greeter outside the elevator upstairs was unfriendly and unwelcoming. He barely made eye contact with incoming guest. They were much nicer at the check-in desk and efficient as always. However they asked me if I had ever been at the hotel before. I assumed that this meant that my assistant had forgotten to put in my Ritz Rewards number on my reservation so I asked if it was there. It was and they had just forgotten to note that I was a frequent visitor. Again, not a huge deal but unlike the normal Ritz experience.

Lobby Lounge: There is a new woman behind the bar and maybe she is new but she missed one of our guests arrival twice. We had to remind her to take their drink order when she delivered the other drinks to the table. Again, twice.

Rooms: They are definitely due for a renovation. The carpet is starting to look a little tired and the bathroom needs updating. It is still a nice room when compared to the Hyatt or Hilton but this is supposed to be a luxury hotel. The bathroom is particularly in need of upgrading.

Breakfast: The waiter was clueless and disappeared for long periods of time. Our group needed to order quickly and it was difficult to get his attention. He was obviously distracted and kept looking at the door. And then when it was time to leave, he was nowhere to be found. One of our party had to go into the kitchen and ask if anyone knew where our waiter had gone.

Overall it was a very disappointing experience for a Ritz hotel. I sincerely hope that it was an aberration.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Goodmaja,

Thank you so very much for your loyalty and taking the time to express these valuable comments. I am thrilled to learn that the majority of your experiences have been wonderful in the past and want to assure that I am deeply apologetic that we did not meet your expectations during your most recent stay. Please know that I will personally use this information as a great resource for retraining and focusing on the genuine care and comfort as well as highlighting the importance of recognition of our guests. I value relationships and would like the opportunity to speak with you and restore your faith in myself and our Ladies and Gentlemen. I am available at the hotel at your convenience

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a room with two queen beds. (Girls trip)...what an amazing hotel. A true first class experience. Every single employee was so amazingly friendly,helpful and courteous. The entire hotel from the lobby to our room was clean. The beds were so comfortable and the room was spacious and had every amenity needed. I stay in hotels quite often and this one is certainly top notch. Getting from the hotel to the casino through the mall was a little odd, but it was okay. I actually cannot wait to stay here again with my husband! Well done Ritz Carlton Cleveland!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.