We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be A Rock Star
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night while we were in town visiting family. I can't say enough great things about the hotel and staff. We were in a club room and the lounge and room were both incredible. We will be back every time we are in town.

Room Tip: Go for the Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    99
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
57
152
20
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

It is probably the nicest hotel in Cleveland but doesn't feel like a Ritz. The rooms are small and are in need of some TLC. Drinks and food are expensive. Overall it feels more like an Autograph than a Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear WorldTraveler 50226,

Your feedback is so appreciated and The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland is in the planning stages of a major property enhancement. I hope your next visit will exceed your expectations. I am available at your convenience if I may be of any assistance for future plans.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Last night was our second stay. This hotel is beautiful and the staff is some of the friendliest and most helpful; the doormen, valets, bell desk, front desk, and maids met in the hall. The room is beautiful, very clean, and the bed is comfortable. No noise to keep me up Unfortunately, though assured they could and had, they could not give us room not filled with a perfumed scent. This perfume is also prevalent throughout the hotel. For people with asthma and emphysema with a sensitivity to scents this is a very real problem. So if you have no such problem I highly recommend the hotel. If you gamble at the Casino, discounts go up to completely comped.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Areways,

Thank you so very much for your comments. You are a valued guest of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland. I so appreciate this feedback so that we can ensure your comfort. I have noted your preference and will ensure that we have a scent free-guest room for your future stays. Upon making your reservation, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so that we can anticipate your needs.

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have been a guest at this hotel a number of time and always had a good experience in the past. However this most recent visit was surprising and very disappointing. Here are some of the disappointing elements.

Arrival: On prior visits, you were warmly greeted in the downstairs lobby and asked your name. Then they would radio this upstairs so that you were greeted personally once you got out of the elevator. Very nice touch. It didn't happen this time, which isn't a big deal, but the greeter outside the elevator upstairs was unfriendly and unwelcoming. He barely made eye contact with incoming guest. They were much nicer at the check-in desk and efficient as always. However they asked me if I had ever been at the hotel before. I assumed that this meant that my assistant had forgotten to put in my Ritz Rewards number on my reservation so I asked if it was there. It was and they had just forgotten to note that I was a frequent visitor. Again, not a huge deal but unlike the normal Ritz experience.

Lobby Lounge: There is a new woman behind the bar and maybe she is new but she missed one of our guests arrival twice. We had to remind her to take their drink order when she delivered the other drinks to the table. Again, twice.

Rooms: They are definitely due for a renovation. The carpet is starting to look a little tired and the bathroom needs updating. It is still a nice room when compared to the Hyatt or Hilton but this is supposed to be a luxury hotel. The bathroom is particularly in need of upgrading.

Breakfast: The waiter was clueless and disappeared for long periods of time. Our group needed to order quickly and it was difficult to get his attention. He was obviously distracted and kept looking at the door. And then when it was time to leave, he was nowhere to be found. One of our party had to go into the kitchen and ask if anyone knew where our waiter had gone.

Overall it was a very disappointing experience for a Ritz hotel. I sincerely hope that it was an aberration.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Goodmaja,

Thank you so very much for your loyalty and taking the time to express these valuable comments. I am thrilled to learn that the majority of your experiences have been wonderful in the past and want to assure that I am deeply apologetic that we did not meet your expectations during your most recent stay. Please know that I will personally use this information as a great resource for retraining and focusing on the genuine care and comfort as well as highlighting the importance of recognition of our guests. I value relationships and would like the opportunity to speak with you and restore your faith in myself and our Ladies and Gentlemen. I am available at the hotel at your convenience

Warm regards,
Kelly A. Steward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a room with two queen beds. (Girls trip)...what an amazing hotel. A true first class experience. Every single employee was so amazingly friendly,helpful and courteous. The entire hotel from the lobby to our room was clean. The beds were so comfortable and the room was spacious and had every amenity needed. I stay in hotels quite often and this one is certainly top notch. Getting from the hotel to the casino through the mall was a little odd, but it was okay. I actually cannot wait to stay here again with my husband! Well done Ritz Carlton Cleveland!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I came here for the night from Columbus. The hotel room was beautifully appointed and very quiet, which is what we wanted! The staff was lovely and we enjoyed being able to walk to dinner and the casino.

Room Tip: we had a corner room which was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here for four nights for a conference/gambling trip comped from Horseshoe. The hotel is great and is in a wonderful location downtown and within walking distance to a lot of attractions, including a short indoor and safe walk to the casino. Room was spotless and well equipped. Staff was out of their way friendly and some of the best I have ever experienced at a hotel. The owner should be proud he has such a great crew here. We did not try the restaurant, as there are so many good ones nearby.Beds were great. I would stay here again for sure and would recommend it to all my fellow gamblers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.