We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freebie in cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be A Rock Star
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
west mifflin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“freebie in cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We got two nights two different times due to our casino play...the hotel is connected to a very very nice enclosed mall...which is also connected to the Horseshoe Casino...the accomadations are top shelf...plus just a couple minute walk (indoors) to the casino...hotel staff is most friendly...room service is available...extremely nice touch...we were in town during baseball season & the visiting team...the blue jays even stayed here...everything was the best

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    98
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
57
149
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Four of us booked holiday tea at the Ritz. When I booked the tea, they take your credit card number because the cancellation policies are very strict. You have to cancel 72 hours in advance, or they charge your credit card $25.00 each for the reservation. I was a bit nervous about it because we were driving from Burton and one person was coming from Toledo, and the weather was a bit iffy, but we made it.

The tea is excellent, you get your choice of one tea, and included is switching to another type of tea one time. If you want to switch again, there is an additional charge. We had the traditional sandwiches including salmon, cucumber, ham, and egg. The pastries were very good, a white chocolate mousse, gingerbread cake, and others. Scones were excellent with clotted cream.

The only problem I had was when I booked the tea, I told them we needed separate checks. They said "not a problem". We had a bit of a battle with the waitress about it. She told us "we don't do that, and it's been a rule for about four years". She was a bit rude...what happened to saying "my pleasure" like the always do at the Ritz!! At first, I was fine with splitting the check four ways, even though some of us had drinks and some didn't. But then she was so rude about it I was determined to have my way! Okay, this is the Ritz, known to be accomodating to customers. Also, there was a 20% service charge for the tea, and I didn't think she was worth 20%. Unfortunately, there are limited places to have tea in Cleveland.

It also doesn't compare anywhere close to having tea in London at one of the five star hotels. Although those teas are a bit more, around $65.00, for a high tea experience. They do have the teddy bear tea going on at the same time, I would have thought they may have been in a different room since there are plenty of children at the Teddy Bear Tea, but no such luck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The room was very large and the bathroom was very spacious. The robes add a very nice touch and the bed was amazingly comfortable. We stayed with the casino points and it was well worth the experience. I'll definately will be staying here more often in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a free room at the Ritz due to our play at the Horseshoe casino. This hotel is truly one of the area's finest. They have comfortable beds with high quality bedding. Turn down service with chocolates on the pillows. Big towels and cozy robes. Even elevator service. Love staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The room is large, and quiet, and the bed is very comfortable. There is also a very nice subtle fragrance of cleanliness. But this is what one expects from a Ritz!

But, I have stayed at several Ritz properties and what struck me the most about this one is that when I had trouble logging into the WIFI, Reception walked me through the process on the telephone. Then, while I was working online, I received a hand-written note of apology (under my door) and assured there would be no charge for the WIFI, and my parking was free. I did not even complain, and this is the trouble the Ritz took to make me feel special. Well, it worked. I would not stay anywhere else in Cleveland now... and will book a Ritz for my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxvlle, Tn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. This is an awesome hotel. Rooms are large, quiet, and beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is also large and has every amenity you could think of. Within walking distance to the Indians baseball stadium and Cavaliers basketball arena. Horseshoe Casino is a short walk through the mall area inside the city center. Hotel staff from the valet, desk clerks, and housekeeping are very professional and make you feel like a "high roller" even if you aren't. Will stay again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland is a a great hidden gem in Cleveland. Most people probably don't try to stay at The Ritz, thinking it is over priced. For Cleveland, this is a great hotel, fantastic location and the service meets Ritz quality. Location being near the casino, easy inside walk on even the coldest nights, several places to eat inside between hotel and casino. Lounge within the hotel could use a slight upgrade on their selection without killing the wallet, but still nice overall liquors. Didn't try the food inside the hotel.
Room with a great view, prompt service when I needed something and easy check in - check out. Some may not like the fact you have to go up to check in once you get out of your car, but I prefer that to having to stand where the cold wind can get to you when people open the doors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.