We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Ritz Carlton standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not up to Ritz Carlton standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is just a regular hotel but with good customer service as can be expected.. Pretty standard rooms. Nice linens and towels. This particular RC must have thin walls. You can hear every conversation in the hallway. Honor bar is ultra expensive compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    122
    44
    14
    14
See reviews for
72
186
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Aug for a business conference my company hosted at the Ritz. The staff and service is fantastic! Accommodations were beautiful and the bed was one of the best I have ever slept on. Great location in Cleveland for walking around to the different hot spots in town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I attended an Indians ball game and spent the night at the Ritz Carlton, After a short visit at the Horseshoe. Rooms are large and clean, bed and pillows very comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful! Thank you for a good night. We will come back. The Indians gave us a win to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Came to Cleveland for an Indians game with friends. Stayed at the Ritz Carlton. The service was amazing. It was Monday of Labor Day Weekend and the hotel had been sold out over the weekend so they were a little behind getting the rooms clean. Everyone was apologetic and got our rooms ready asap. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. A very nice experience. The value was great as it was through the casino promotion!

Room Tip: Check the rates through Harrahs or Ceasars
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

To celebrate my wife's birthday, we reserved a room at the Ritz Carlton, downtown Cleveland for an indulgent weekend. With the Horseshoe Casino a short indoor walk away, it seemed like a good time was in store. Even though I assumed I knew what luxury and great service was all about, I was further amazed at the attentive and friendly staff that awaited us. When I checked in, I assumed, as a Marriott Gold, that we would be upgraded to a club level room. The clerk, very politely, explained that while that is true at Marriott properties, it does not apply to Ritz properties. I accepted her explanation and jokingly told her I was going to check it out online.

Once ensconced in our large, beautiful corner room, we unpacked and prepared to enjoy our escape. A knock at the door and when opened, a bellman stood there with a bottle of wine, opener, two glasses and an envelope. He stated that it was compliments of the manager. I thanked (and tipped) him and went back inside to read the note. I was surprised to find that the manager, hearing of my question about upgrades, wanted to apologize for the inconvenience. He was offering a bottle of wine and a dining credit as a token of his apologies. WOW - I never expected (or deserved....) such a generous gesture.

We had a great weekend - lost money at the casino, had a great birthday meal at Morton's and splurged on a Sunday morning breakfast from room service - compliments of the hotel.

I have stayed at every major chain in the USA from the lower end to the big bustling hotels and had typically good experiences from all - but I have never had service, elegance and class such as that experienced at the Ritz Carlton Cleveland. From the housekeepers, to the parking attendants, the doorman to the desk clerks - everyone was cordial and attentive with outstanding service. The room was large, comfortable with a nice desk area and ample closets. The TV was large, a comfortable chair with ottoman in a great spot and good coffee making supplies. A total win for my wife and I. We will certainly be back.....

Room Tip: Don't worry about views, try to get a corner room they are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is in Downtown, Cleveland, Ohio, and is within walking distance of most locations of interest, including the Rock and Roll Museum. The local, FREE, and clean, municipal bus service is just outside the front door. The rooms are comfortably large, with beds that help put you to sleep as soon as your head hits the pillow. The staff is very attentive, and friendly to a fault, with a nightly "turn-down" service. Fully equipped work-out room, steam room, and hot tub, but the pool was closed, and will be for sometime. Valet was very friendly, and car retrieval was quick. If needed, the local rail service terminal is under the hotel, and the Horseshoe Casino is located across the street. You will not be bored, in or out of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our 6th stay at the Ritz since January, it's our hotel of choice when visiting the Horseshoe Casino. The staff at this hotel is one of the best I've ever come across. Everyone goes out of their way to make your stay here a great experience. Rooms are nice & comfortable. House keeping is outstanding. Location is fantastic. It's just a short 3 minute walk inside from the Ritz to the Casino. There are plenty of great eating and shopping choices nearby. Easy access to the Baseball Stadium, Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame as well. Valet parking is free when staying at the Ritz. That's a major plus being nearby properties charge $25-$30 to valet park. If you're looking for a quiet & classy over night stay, you can't go wrong with the Ritz.

Room Tip: Club level is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
Ritz Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.