We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be A Rock Star
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Lakewood, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Ritz Carlton in Cleveland has an unassuming - hidden, even - facade. It is located on a one block one-way street, accessible only via Huron Rd. (or through the inside of Tower City).

The valet treat you like a welcome guest. Though it had been years since I had stayed at this property, the valet mentioned how happy he was to see me again. While this is probably just a feel-good ploy (or a case of mistaken identity), it was a nice way to begin the trip.

I checked in at 3:30 on a Friday afternoon. The lobby was crowded and I was informed that my room wouldn't be ready until 4 or later. They held my luggage and assured me they would call when my room was ready. Well after 4 pm, I had not heard from the front desk, so I went to check on the status of my room. After some computer clicking, they informed me my room was ready. I'm not sure if this was a squeaky wheel scenario, or if they had just forgotten to call me.

The room was clean and beautifully appointed, in classic RC style. There was a gorgeous, expansive view of downtown and the river. The chocolates left on the bed at night were a welcome treat upon returning to my room late-night.

Breakfast at Muse was good - though the $2.00 bacon upcharge (for various kinds of bacon) seemed cheap (as in penny-pinching), in the scheme of things. It's like a fine restaurant that charges .25 cents extra for blue cheese dressing. Unnecessary and lacking in class. They were also out of turkey sausage.

This Ritz - as most upscale hotels do - charges for things like a local phone call (.75). You can make up for this with the lovely free tea selection in the lobby.

All in all, this is a great place to stay when visiting Cleveland, and much more reasonably priced than RC properties in other cities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    93
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
50
144
19
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel was bad with a capital "B"! The rooms were not clean, the staff was rude, and the concierge was stupid, and it was noisy. The concierge told us there was a good restaurant close by.... Turns out, the restaurant was noisy, smelly, hot, crowded, expensive and we had to wait an hour fir our food which turned out to be gross. The hotel food service was slow and the food arrived cold. Food a roach in the bathroom and in the lobby ( we stop eating that day and decided to check out one day early). Front line staff is friendly. Restaurant food was mediocre and over priced. Upon checking out, we complainned to a fellow pretending to be the manager. He had the worst French or Russian accent and couldn't care less of what we said. I will not recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had another amazing experience at The Cleveland property of The Ritz Carlton. It was an extremely bust weekend in Cleveland as the marathon was scheduled for Sunday with over 20,000 runners. The front desk staff knew I was running & luckily our room was ready super early. They welcomed us back from Florida with a wonderful card and healthy "treat" sent up to our room. As always the staff was above and beyond. They were all very knowlegable about the new casino that had just opened a week before. Looking forward to staying there the next time we are in Cleveland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Ritz Carlton brand creates high expectations and unfortunately this hotel was just ordinary. I've stayed at other Ritz-Carltons that were much more special. The hotel and rooms feel worn, and food & beverage offerings were average. I appreciated the very hot water that was brought for my tea for a reasonable price but my tuna nicoise was not that good -- it had a strange seasoning on it. My french toast at the restaurant was really mediocre -- not as good as the french toast I get at a local greek diner! The bed was fine, but again, nothing to rave about. The shower had terrible water pressure. The gym was small (I think there were only four elliptical machines). The only saving grace was the good service. Everyone was very attentive and service was very prompt. It was a perfectly fine stay, but there was no WOW factor. It does not compare with the St. Regis San Francisco, the Wynn Las Vegas, the Four Seasons Las Vegas, or the Hard Rock Towers Las Vegas, for example.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend in Downtown Cleveland and were really taken care of by all of the staff at the Ritz. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, had a great meals at several downtown restaurants and came back to the Ritz Carlton's magnificent accommodations. Our room had a view of both the river and the lake. The location in Tower City was quite convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Cleveland, one of them at the Ritz-Carlton. Very nice hotel. The rooms were beautiful and the staff was very nice and welcoming. Great location right downtown. If you are interested in the new casino this hotel is definitely in walking distance. We would stay here again if we ever go back to Cleveland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Wonderful room, king size bed, all tables and bathoom covered in marble. Bed was most comfortable I have slept in. All the employees were friendly and eager to help. Valet was
excellent and fast service. Room had free bottles of water and coffee. Horseshoe Casino recently opened and has many table games, minimum bet varies with the time of day. Many
hundreds of all types of slot machines. Video poker is my choice, at least I can almost break even using it...

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet at Horseshoe is a good buy. Get a players card and get $2 off the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.