We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be A Rock Star
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I had a great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Its a Ritz Carlton, so there is a certain amount of expectation. And, I thought the hotel reached it.
I arrived around midday and the room type I'd booked had not been vacated yet - so they upgraded me!
My room was very nice on the top floor and the service staff were excellent. Hotel is in an excellent location and is close to most sights.
I had read some less than favourable reviews of this Ritz Carlton and was a little cautious. For no reason as it turned out! In my view, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    103
    39
    12
    13
See reviews for
61
157
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

it's hard for me to write this review - we're still here, at the "Ritz" in Cleveland, and some of the staff have been great. On a par, maybe, w/ a good Hyatt or Renaissance.

But the hotel? Nowhere near a Four Seasons, Renaissance, The Breakers, or even a WDW "Luxury" resort. Much less a "Ritz" or even a Marriott in a serious city. And we've stayed in hotels of all those types all over the world.

The food has mostly been really good. I don't want the excellent staff - Emily, Audrey, Michelle, Mary - that we have encountered to suffer.

But, seriously? A Ritz-Carlton? We chose this hotel because it appeared to be one of the best - if not the best - in the state, when we were looking for a place for our anniversary getaway. Ohio doesn't have much to offer in the way of 4 star hotels. We wouldn't choose this one again.

The rooms - on the club level, the 14th floor - are tired and typical. Beds are comfy, but the decor & bathrooms are whatever. The room is no bigger or nicer or more luxurious than a Residence Inn. Internet is not included! Even on the concierge floor. Bathrooms are marble but small, crappy wallpaper, ceiling rose shower but no hand held or anything special. It feels like this hotel used to be something else, but the Ritz bought it & tried to rebrand? Or it's just a tired Ritz? Really tired.

If I had it to do all over again, we'd have gone to one of the Hyatts in Columbus. Way more value for the money, thought it saddens me to say so.

Room Tip: Rooms not worth it. Stay here 4, perhaps, the service & food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

As you would expect (I guess) the Ritz Carlton is an upscale, clean hotel with courteous and efficient staff. I stayed for only 2 nights, and there were events around town and a wedding in the building. Considering the full house and wedding guests, there were no glitches in the service. The entrance closer to Public Square, requiring a walk through the Tower City Mall, was a little dicey. The side entrance on West 3rd Street, avoiding the mall, was much better. It is right on the edge of the warehouse district, which has some restaurants. It has a nice workout room, pool, etc.

This hotel stay worked out well for the purpose and duration of my trip. My only complaint is that the a/c in the room was pretty loud at times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

Great rooms and location. Service was marginal. Had to wait for room to be ready. Waits at the bar and restaurant even though there were few other customers.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Really enjoyed my brief stay here. Lost my cell phone and the staff went out of there to find it. They even helped me figure out that I left it in a taxi, at which point I figured since it wasn't somewhere at the hotel that I would be on my own. But no, the bellman asked me to describe what the taxi looked like, figured out the cab company, and called them for me until they figured out exactly which driver picked me up from the airport. It was like finding a needle in a haystack and I would have *never* been able to do that in an unfamiliar city if it weren't for the Ritz staff. The room itself was really nice, upscale and modern but not overly trendy and not overly antiqued-looking like so many of them can look like. The bed was one of the best I've ever stayed in and I was sad to leave it. Overall great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

A lovely hotel. We stayed for one night. We had a suite on the 7th floor. It is not a Ritz like in LA, SF or Miami. It is old world. Smaller, rich in art, in a wonderful old building located downtown. We had to decide between the intercontinental (where everyone going to the Cleveland Clinic stays), or the Ritz. This was a good decision. Only one small complaint. The air conditioner was a bit loud. If in Cleveland again, we will stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was my third visit in three months and did not disappoint. From the moment you reach the property, you are greeted and treated like a valued guest. The bell staff was extremely helpful. They were great ambassadors for the city of Cleveland....so nice to see them excited about the city and their jobs. We stayed on the club level, and it was a fantastic experience. Emilie and her staff were attentive and helped to make our stay most comfortable! It was a pleasure to speak with Emilie, Shaquita, Jasmine and Alice while we relaxed and enjoyed the food presentations in the club lounge. We enjoyed it so much that we hated to leave the property..

The rooms and the bathrooms are large and decorated simply yet beautifully. It was very quiet. Our room looked out on Lake Erie and the Cuyahoga River...very nice.

The only thing that I would suggest for improvement would be to keep the club lounge open until 11:00 pm rather than 9:30.

I wholeheartedly recommend this property and look forward to our next visit with all of our kids to see the Indians win a few ball games!

For dining off property, there is a cool restaurant area on east 4th that is a quick walk from the hotel. We enjoyed dining at Michael Symon's Lola one night. We would have tried a few of the other restaurants if we had the time.

We also saw Jersey Boys at the State theater in beautiful Playhouse Square. The restored theaters are beautiful...great venues for a show or concert.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Address: 1515 West Third Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.